Winter Horses
Buy Item $12.99 Retail: $16.99 Save 24% ($4.00)
In Stock
Stock No: WW755436
Knopf Books for Young Readers / 2014 / Hardcover
Quantity:

Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

Winter Horses

Knopf Books for Young Readers / 2014 / Hardcover

In Stock
Stock No: WW755436


Product Description

It's wintertime 1941 in the Ukraine and Max the devoted horse caretaker must learn to live with the Nazis who have taken over the land. But Max has a secret---he is trying to protect a girl, Kalinka, who is hiding in the park. The Nazis took everything from Kalinka, and now she hides in fear for her life. . . her only refuge are Przewalkski's horses. But when the Nazis begin a new campaign to wipe out the horses, Kalinka goes on a treacherous journey to save the only 2 surviving horses, and herself.

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 224
Vendor: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: 2014
ISBN: 0385755430
ISBN-13: 9780385755436
Ages: 12-17

Related Products

  1. Blue Ribbon Trail Ride
    Blue Ribbon Trail Ride
    Miralee Ferrell
    David C Cook / 2015 / Trade Paperback
    $6.29 Retail: $7.99 Save 21% ($1.70)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 17 Reviews
  2. The White Stallion
    The White Stallion
    Elizabeth Shub
    Yearling / Trade Paperback
    $3.99 Retail: $5.99 Save 33% ($2.00)
  3. Mr Popper's Penguins
    Mr Popper's Penguins
    Richard Atwater, Florence Atwater
    Little, Brown and Company / Trade Paperback
    $4.99 Retail: $7.99 Save 38% ($3.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    Stock No: WW058438
  4. Winnie The Horse Gentler Volumes 1-8
    Winnie The Horse Gentler Volumes 1-8
    Dandi Daley Mackall
    Tyndale House / Trade Paperback
    $36.99 Retail: $47.92 Save 23% ($10.93)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 6 Reviews

Publisher's Description

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous today. This inspiring tale captures the power of the human spirit and is perfect for fans of The Book Thief, Milkweed, and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas.

It will soon be another cold winter in the Ukraine.  But it's 1941, and things are different this year.  Max, the devoted caretaker of an animal preserve, must learn to live with the Nazis who have overtaken this precious land. He must also learn to keep secrets—for there is a girl, Kalinka, who is hiding in the park.

Kalinka has lost her home, her family, her belongings—everything but her life.  Still, she has gained one small, precious gift: a relationship with the rare wild and wily Przewalski's horses that wander the preserve. Aside from Max, these endangered animals are her only friends—until a Nazi campaign of extermination nearly wipes them out for good.

Now Kalinka must set out on a treacherous journey across the frozen forest to save the only two surviving horses—and herself.

Author Bio

Philip Kerr is the New York Times bestselling author of the WWII Bernie Gunther crime novels and the children's fantasy series Children of the Lamp.  He lives in England.

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.