We Were Beautiful
Stock No: WW766433
We Were Beautiful  -     By: Heather Hepler

We Were Beautiful

ZonderKidz / 2019 / Paperback

Buy 20 or more for $9.02 each.
In Stock
Stock No: WW766433

Buy Item Our Price$9.49 Retail: $12.99 Save 27% ($3.50)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW766433
ZonderKidz / 2019 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart

or checkout with

Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart

or checkout with

Wishlist

Product Description

Fifteen-year-old Mia Hopkins emerges from the car crash that killed her sister terribly scarred and unable to fully recall the details. Consumed with grief, she's sent to live with her grandmother whom she's never met for the summer. There she meets Fig and Cooper and learns two important lessons: she's not alone and redemption is possible. 297 pages, softcover from Zondervan.

Product Information

Title: We Were Beautiful
By: Heather Hepler
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 297
Vendor: ZonderKidz
Publication Date: 2019
Dimensions: 7.17 X 4.71 (inches)
Weight: 10 ounces
ISBN: 0310766435
ISBN-13: 9780310766438
Stock No: WW766433

Publisher's Description

The trace amount of alcohol in her bloodstream. The tremendous amount of guilt on her shoulders. A severely scarred face that is a daily reminder of the car crash that killed her sister. But when Mia finally pieces together her memories of the night Rachel died, the shocking truth might be as jarring as the crunch of metal.

 

It’s been a year since fifteen-year-old Mia Hopkins was in a car crash that killed her older sister, Rachel, and left her own face terribly scarred. The doctors tell her she was lucky to survive. Her therapist says it will take time to heal. The police reports claim there were trace amounts of alcohol in her bloodstream. But no matter how much she tries to reconstruct the events of that fateful night, Mia’s memory is spotty at best. She’s left with accusations, rumors, and guilt so powerful it is quickly consuming her.

 

As the rest of Mia’s family struggles with their own grief, Mia is sent to New York City to spend the summer with a grandmother she’s never met. All Mia wants to do is hide from the world, but instead she’s stuck with a summer job in the bustling kitchens of the café down the street. There she meets Fig—blue-haired, friendly, and vivacious—who takes Mia under her wing. As Mia gets to know Fig and her friends—including Cooper, the artistic boy who’s always on Mia’s mind—she realizes that she’s not the only one with a painful past.

 

Over the summer, Mia starts to learn that redemption isn’t as impossible as she once thought, but her scars inside run deep and aren’t nearly so simple to heal … especially when Mia finally pieces together her memories of the awful night Rachel died.

 

We Were Beautiful is:

  • A unique coming of age story about tragedy, forgiveness, and love
  • Written by acclaimed, award-winning author Heather Hepler
  • Perfect for fans of Robyn Schneider and Justina Chen.
  • A poignant, clean YA romance unafraid to explore serious contemporary life issues

Author Bio

Heather Hepler is the author of Frosted Kisses (Scholastic, 2015) Love? Maybe (Dial, 2012), The Cupcake Queen (Dutton, 2009), Jars of Glass (Dutton, 2008), Dream Factory (Dutton, 2007), and Scrambled Eggs at Midnight (Dutton, 2006). Heather has been making up stories in her head for as long as she can remember. It was an amazing day when she realized that she could use her talent for good instead of evil. Now instead of making up outrageous stories to explain why her hands were dyed purple; what happened to the last cookie; or why she decided that spending twenty dollars on a talking fish was a good idea, she pours her creative energy into her novels. Heather fills her award-winning novels with whatever captures her attention. Outer space, cupcakes, Renaissance Fairs, bacon truffles, Disney Princesses, sea glass, and love potions have all made the list. Currently she is fascinated with aliens and fruitcake. Her writing has received many awards and accolades and she has been told more than once by her son that when she writes, she makes weird faces. More about Heather can be found by visiting her website: www.heatherhepler.com. You can contact Heather at cupcakequeen@heatherhepler.com.

Editorial Reviews

Gr 9 Up--This is a quirky novel about a teenage girl who in the aftermath of a tragedy faces grief, isolation, and harmful beauty standards. After an accident that results in the death of her sister and leaves her with physical and psychological scars, Mia Hopkins is left drowning in complicated emotions with no aid in sight. Her mother has abandoned her, her father can barely look at her, and she is shipped off to stay with her formidable grandmother in New York City, where Mia finds herself adopted into a group of young misfits. Through the acceptance of her peers, she begins to break free of her self-imposed purgatory, work through her own grief, and accept the faults of the adults around her, realizing that nobody's perfect, especially when it comes to handling death. This plot-driven story gracefully and wittily approaches the subject of grief through a first-person narrative. After she is disfigured in the accident, Mia is unable to see her own beauty, but she eventually explores and challenges personal and societal ideals of beauty, allowing readers to experience her thoughts and insecurities. In order to grow and heal, Mia learns from secondary characters and comes to understand her own emotions. VERDICT This a wonderfully clever book for teens who are looking for a dynamic, thought-provoking story with enough whimsy to keep them enthralled. --Haley Amendt, Hinton Municipal Library, Alberta -- School Library Journal

It's been a year since fifteen-year-old Mia Hopkins was in the car crash that killed her older sister and left her terribly scarred. The doctors tell her she was lucky to survive. Her therapist says it will take time to heal. The police reports claim there were trace amounts of alcohol in her bloodstream. But no matter how much she tries to reconstruct the events of that fateful night, Mia's memory is spotty at best. She's left with accusations, rumors, and guilt so powerful it could consume her. As the rest of Mia's family struggles with their own grief, Mia is sent to New York City to spend the summer with a grandmother she's never met. All Mia wants to do is hide from the world, but instead she's stuck with a summer job in the bustling kitchens of the cafe down the street. There she meets Fig, who takes Mia under her wing. As Mia gets to know Fig and her friends (including Cooper, the artistic boy who is always on Mia's mind) she realizes that she's not the only one with a painful past. Over the summer, Mia begins to learn that redemption isn't as impossible as she once thought, but her scars inside run deep and aren't nearly so simple to heal--especially when Mia finally pieces together her memories of the night Rachel died. A deftly crafted novel that by an author with a genuine talent for hold her reader's rapt attention from beginning to end, 'We Were Beautiful' by Heather Hepler is unreservedly recommended for school and community library YA Fiction collections. -- Midwest Book Review

Ask a Question

Author/Artist Review