Mega Fall Sale  
  1. Under a Blackberry Moon  - eBookeBOOK
    Under a Blackberry Moon - eBook
    Serena B. Miller
    Revell / 2013 / ePub
    $8.71 Retail: $14.99 Save 42% ($6.28)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 23 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    Stock No: WW40273EB
4.9 Stars Out Of 5
4.9 out of 5
(21)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.9 out Of 5
(4.9 out of 5)
Value:
4.9 out Of 5
(4.9 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.9 out Of 5
(4.9 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 16-20 of 23
Page 4 of 5 Previous 12345 Next
  1. Bloomer, WI
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    A Story of Change and Hope
    October 12, 2013
    Blooming with Books
    Bloomer, WI
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This review was written for Under a Blackberry Moon.
    Under a Blackberry Moon

    By Serena B. Miller

    Under a Blackberry Moon is an intriguing title and the book is as intriguing and captivating as the name that graces its cover. This is Moon Song's journey - a journey to discover her heart and a journey to rediscover herself.

    Bay City, Michigan is no place for a woman. And a woman who is also an Indian is in even greater danger when the lumber camps emptied for the summer. The only place left for Moon Song is home - a journey of great distance and hundreds of miles that would take her across the state and through the forested wilderness.

    But Moon Song's friends refuse to let her make this dangerous journey on her own. So Skypilot accompanies her and her nine month old son aboard a steamship. But something goes terribly wrong and soon they are fighting for their survival in the very wilderness that her friends wanted her to avoid. But a greater danger than the wilderness is lurking - the danger of a heart falling in love.

    Moon Song can't fall in love with a white man. In Moon Song's experience white men always leave behind the Indian woman whose heart they've captured. And Skypilot is sure to break her heart just as her father broke her mother's heart and her own.

    With her heart, her family, and her way of life at risk Moon Song is faced with a choice - a choice that could forever change her and all she holds dear. Sometimes the truths that we think we know are only half truths. Truths that are only one side of the whole and Under a Blackberry Moon is Moon Song and Skypilot's journey to discover the whole truth and their hearts.

    Under a Blackberry Moon is a lovely book that looks at the issues that faced a people whose world was changing around them whether they wanted it to or not. Seen through the eyes of those who were being forced into being who they were not, this is book you won't forget!

    I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

    Available October 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  2. upstate NY
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    A must-read for historical romance fans!
    October 12, 2013
    Kristie
    upstate NY
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This review was written for Under a Blackberry Moon.
    I was so excited to receive Serena B. Miller's latest historical romance novel, "Under a Blackberry Moon," to read and review. Serena has become one of my favorite historical fiction authors and her latest novel did not disappoint at all!

    Moon Song is not truly accepted in town and although her friends hate to see her go, they also fear for her safety. When Skypilot offers to escort her and her young son back to her tribe, Robert and Katie are thrilled, thinking this is for the best, although Moon Song would just rather walk there herself. As they set off on their journey things do not go as planned and they are forced to depend on each other and in the midst of all these they realize that there is more to their relationship than just mere friendship. However, Moon Song and Skypilot are both from different worlds and cultures and each have their own baggage as well.

    I really enjoyed "Under a Blackberry Moon!" I have loved these books that started out with Katie joining Robert's camp as a cook and later as his wife and continuing on with other individuals from the camp as the main characters. This is an unusual setting for books (at least to me based on the ones I have read!) and I find the setting and time period fascinating and I become so immersed in the characters' lives. I am looking forward to future novels from this author!

    "Available October 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."
  3. Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    a wonderful, sweet story with power and depth
    October 12, 2013
    VicsMediaRoom
    Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This review was written for Under a Blackberry Moon.
    Serena B. Miller in her new book "Under A Blackberry Moon" published by Revell Books takes us into the life of Moon Song.

    From the back cover: Which wilderness is more treacherous-the one she must cross to find her home . . . or the one she must traverse to find love?

    Just a few days after she gave birth alone in the northwoods, a recently widowed young Chippewa woman stumbled into a nearby lumber camp in search of refuge from the winter snows. Come summer, it is clear that Moon Song cannot stay among the rough-and-tumble world of white lumbermen, and so the camp owner sends Skypilot, his most trusted friend, to accompany her on the long and treacherous journey back to her people.

    But when tragedy strikes off the shore of Lake Superior, Moon Song and Skypilot must depend on each other for survival. With every step they take into the forbidding woods, they are drawn closer together, until it seems the unanswerable questions must be asked. Can she leave her culture to enter his? Can he leave his world to enter hers? Or will they simply walk away from a love that seems too complicated to last?

    Get swept into a wild realm where beauty masks danger and only the truly courageous survive in a story that will grip your heart and your imagination.

    I like history and "Under A Blackberry Moon" is filled with history. I feel that there are not enough stories that detail the hard life and indignities that the Native American People had to endure. Some of the scenes in this book will tear out your heart and make you want to cry if not really cry (I guess that depends on whether or not you are male or female). This is all about a journey home, to find where you truly belong and with whom. I think Ms. Miller has done an outstanding job of bringing Moon Song to life. Wow, what a superb character with such depth. And Skypilot is another person that I would have loved to really know. "Under A Blackberry Moon" is filled with action and adventure. It is filled with family and overcoming adversities. I think that "Under A Blackberry Moon" is a winner! Ms. Miller has given us a wonderful, sweet story with power and depth that will keep you flipping pages. I liked it a lot and look forward to more from this talented author.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Available October 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  4. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    Under a Blackberry Moon
    October 11, 2013
    lauren
    This review was written for Under a Blackberry Moon.
    Under a Blackberry Moon, by Serena B. Miller, continued the story of Moon Song who was originally introduced in the book The Measure of Katie Calloway. Moon Song had given birth to a young child when alone in the woods, and she stumbled into a lumber camp where Katie Calloway was the cook. Soon, she finds herself on her way back to her home with the Chippewas with Skypilot, a man she helped nurse back to health after an accident at the lumber camp. They face many different obstacles as they are traveling, and it was great to see their interaction with each other and their faith grow throughout the book.

    I really enjoyed this book, and I was happy to read more about Skypilot since I really enjoyed his part in The Measure of Katie Calloway. The book was an easy read, and can be read as a stand-alone book, but I would recommend reading the first book in the series so you can understand the history the main characters had with one another.

    Available October 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
  5. a sunny island
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    October 11, 2013
    sunny island breezes
    a sunny island
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This review was written for Under a Blackberry Moon.
    I'm glad to have had the chance to get to know some of the characters from The Measure of Katie Calloway a little better. The members of the lumber camp are staying in Bay City until the next opening of the camp.

    Bay City hasn't been all that good for Moon Song. It's been decided that Skypilot will accompany her and her baby back to her tribe to make sure she arrives safely.

    It turns out that is wasn't as easy a trip as they thought it would be. It turns out that it was downright dangerous. Adding to the physical danger was the danger to their hearts.

    As they continued to travel, they began falling in love. That's a major problem. She can't live in the white man's world, but can he live in her world? It appears that love will lose out, but can Skypilot really give her up?

    I enjoyed this book, but one thing bothered me a bit. In 1898, Slovenia was actually part of Austria. So, even though Father Slovic was a Slav, he would have been born and raised in Austria.

    ***A special thank you to Lanette Haskins for providing a review copy.***
Displaying items 16-20 of 23
Page 4 of 5 Previous 12345 Next