This Ain't No Promised Land: A Novel
Stock No: WW5448515
This Ain't No Promised Land: A Novel   -     By: Tina Shelton

This Ain't No Promised Land: A Novel

Kregel Publications / 2024 / Paperback

Buy 48 or more for $12.34 each.
In Stock
Stock No: WW5448515

Buy 48 or more for $12.34 each.

Buy Item Our Price$12.99 Retail: $16.99 Save 24% ($4.00)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW5448515
Kregel Publications / 2024 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart

or checkout with

Add To Wishlist
eBook Our Price$7.99 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart

or checkout with

Wishlist

Other Formats (2)
Select this Item Product Title/Author Availability Price Quantity
$7.99
In Stock
Our Price$7.99
Retail: $9.99
Add To Cart
Quantity for eBook0
$7.99
$12.99
In Stock
Our Price$12.99
Retail: $16.99
Add To Cart
$12.99
Others Also Purchased (1)

Product Description

When her husband dies, Charlotte can't face the things she's done that could tear her family apart. So she drops a goodbye letter in the cookie jar and flees south to escape everything--her life, her three daughters, the mistakes she's made, and the secrets eating her alive. Now Gracey and her sisters are alone on Chicago's South Side with nothing but their home and belongings. They're doing everything they can to stay together, but young teens aren't meant to parent themselves. Their close-knit Black community gathers around them to keep them fed and clothed with the utilities on, but that's not enough to fix the damage of abandonment. Hundreds of miles away, Charlotte is struggling to keep her own head above water. She's made a close friend who talks to her about God in a way Charlotte's never heard before. But when her demons catch up to her, the shaky peace she tried to build shatters. Even if she's able to find the courage to embrace motherhood again, will it be enough to save the family she left behind? "Compelling, raw, vulnerable, and set firmly in reality, Gracey and Charlotte's story will grip readers from first page to last. Fans of Robin W. Pearson, Katie Powner, and Angela Jackson-Brown will be moved by this redemptive, hopeful story about what it means to be a family." --Susie Finkbeiner, author of The All-American and The Nature of Small Birds. "Deeply evocative of The Women of Brewster Place, Shelton's storytelling masterfully draws us into the landscapes of place and heart, demonstrating that the thread of love is what finally saves us, even if we don't know why." --Dr. Stephen G. Ray Jr., former president of the Society for the Study of Black Religion.

Product Information

Title: This Ain't No Promised Land: A Novel
By: Tina Shelton
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 312
Vendor: Kregel Publications
Publication Date: 2024
Dimensions: 8.50 X 5.50 (inches)
Weight: 13 ounces
ISBN: 0825448514
ISBN-13: 9780825448515
Stock No: WW5448515

Publisher's Description

"With stellar storytelling skills, Tina Shelton reminds us that while love isn't always enough to erase the hurts, it's the only way to survive them. A powerful read!" --Julie Cantrell, New York Times & USA Today best-selling author of Perennials When her husband dies, Charlotte can't face the things she's done that could tear her family apart. So she drops a goodbye letter in the cookie jar and flees south to escape everything--her life, her three daughters, the mistakes she's made, and the secrets eating her alive.
Now Gracey and her sisters are alone on Chicago's South Side with nothing but their home and belongings. They're doing everything they can to stay together, but young teens aren't meant to parent themselves. Their close-knit Black community gathers around them to keep them fed and clothed with the utilities on, but that's not enough to fix the damage of abandonment.
Hundreds of miles away, Charlotte is struggling to keep her own head above water. She's made a close friend who talks to her about God in a way Charlotte's never heard before. But when her demons catch up to her, the shaky peace she tried to build shatters. Even if she's able to find the courage to embrace motherhood again, will it be enough to save the family she left behind?
"Compelling, raw, vulnerable, and set firmly in reality, Gracey and Charlotte's story will grip readers from first page to last. Fans of Robin W. Pearson, Katie Powner, and Angela Jackson-Brown will be moved by this redemptive, hopeful story about what it means to be a family." --Susie Finkbeiner, author of The All-American and The Nature of Small Birds
"Deeply evocative of The Women of Brewster Place, Shelton's storytelling masterfully draws us into the landscapes of place and heart, demonstrating that the thread of love is what finally saves us, even if we don't know why." --Dr. Stephen G. Ray Jr., former president of the Society for the Study of Black Religion

Author Bio

Tina Shelton is registrar at Chicago Theological Seminary and a pastor in the Northern Illinois Conference of the United Methodist Church. She is also the mother of two young adults, and loves walking, working out, and traveling with her family. This is her first novel.

Editorial Reviews

Every once in a while, I come across a novel with such an unexpected, unique voice that I can't help but keep reading. Tina Shelton's This Ain’t No Promised Land is that type of novel. Compelling, raw, vulnerable, and set firmly in reality, Gracey and Charlotte's story will grip readers from first page to last. Fans of Robin W. Pearson, Katie Powner, and Angela Jackson Brown will be moved by this redemptive, hopeful story about what it means to be a family. -- Susie Finkbeiner, author of The All-American and The Nature of Small Birds

In This Ain’t No Promised Land, Tina Shelton delivers a fresh voice, examining how wounds can get in the way of relationships. With stellar storytelling skills, she reminds us that love isn't always enough to erase the hurts, but it's the only way to survive them. A powerful read! -- Julie Cantrell, New York Times & USA Today best-selling author

Tina Shelton's This Ain’t No Promised Land is a powerful story about family--especially mothers and their daughters. How we are hurt, how we unwittingly pass on that hurt, and how we can heal too. It's gritty and unafraid to ask hard questions, all while being nestled in a vibrant 1980s South Side Chicago setting. -- Janyre Tromp, best-selling author of Shadows in the Mind's Eye

This Ain’t No Promised Land captures several sweet, yet gritty coming-of-age stories. Some take me back to my childhood and others give me a glimpse into other teens' lives as they wrestle with life and family issues. Tina Shelton has creatively woven together these stories to create an excellent novel that invoked several emotions. A job well done! -- Katara Patton, author of Navigating the Blues

This book tells a story of the rich textures of family, unraveling, and finding redemption. Told through the experiences of three generations of Black women, This Ain’t No Promised Land evokes the unique challenges and wells of resilience that sustain them and their families. Deeply evocative of The Women of Brewster Place, Shelton's storytelling masterfully draws us into the landscapes of place and heart, demonstrating that the thread of love is what finally saves us, even if we don't know why. A wonderful read. -- Dr Stephen G Ray Jr., former president of the Society for the Study of Black Religion

Ask a Question

Author/Artist Review