The Wishing Season - eBook
Buy Item $7.99
In Stock
Stock No: WW66034EB
Thomas Nelson / 2014 / ePub
Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist
Add To Cart


Wishlist

The Wishing Season - eBook

Thomas Nelson / 2014 / ePub

In Stock
Stock No: WW66034EB


Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

* This product is available for purchase only in certain countries.
  • Other Formats (3)
Other Formats (3)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $24.49
    Retail: $34.95
    Add To Cart
    $24.49
  2. In Stock
    $7.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $7.99
  3. In Stock
    $9.99
    Retail: $15.99
    Add To Cart
    $9.99

Product Description

With grand plans to open her own bed & breakfast in Chapel Springs, PJ McKinley can't afford the most crucial part: the brick and mortar. But when the owner of a local historic home announces a contest and promises her property to the worthiest candidate, PJ makes a fervent wish and tosses her name into the hat.

Cole Evans is cool, confident, and successful, but he'll never forget his roots. He's thankful for how far he's come and knows his life could have turned out drastically different. If he can win the stately old mansion, he'll turn it into a home for children aging out of the foster system.

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: Thomas Nelson
Publication Date: 2014
ISBN: 9781401687052
ISBN-13: 9781401687052
Series: Chapel Springs

Publisher's Description

In this competition, it’s not just the house on the line, it’s their hearts.

She has the touch when it comes to food, but PJ McKinley’s dream of opening her own restaurant is one building short of reality. So when a Chapel Springs resident offers her beloved ancestral home as prize to the applicant with the best plan for the house, PJ believes she was meant to win.

Contractor Cole Evans is confident, professional, and swoon-worthy—but this former foster kid knows his life could have turned out very differently. When Cole discovers the contest, he believes his home for foster kids in transition has found its saving grace. All he has to do is convince the owner that a not-for-profit enterprise will be good for the community.

When the eccentric philanthropist weighs the proposals, she proposes an outlandish tie-breaker: PJ and Cole will share the house for a year to see which idea works best. Now, with Cole and the foster kids upstairs and PJ and the restaurant below, day-to-day life has turned into an out-and-out rivalry—with some seriously flirtatious hallway encounters on the side. But could their magnetic attraction cost them everything they’ve ever wanted?

Includes Reading Group Guide

Author Bio

Denise Hunter is the internationally published bestselling author of more than twenty-five books, including A December Bride and The Convenient Groom, which have been adapted into original Hallmark Channel movies. She has won The Holt Medallion Award, The Reader's Choice Award, The Carol Award, The Foreword Book of the Year Award, and is a RITA finalist. When Denise isn't orchestrating love lives on the written page, she enjoys traveling with her family, drinking green tea, and playing drums. Denise makes her home in Indiana where she and her husband are rapidly approaching an empty nest. You can learn more about Denise through her website DeniseHunterBooks.com or by visiting her Facebook page at facebook.com/authordenisehunter.

 

 

 

Editorial Reviews

'As the baby of the family, PJ McKinley has a lot to prove. Working her way through culinary school, she made it her goal to open a restaurant. Meanwhile, Cole Evans, who grew up in the foster system, hopes to make a difference in the world by establishing a transition home for foster kids. From the moment PJ and Cole meet, sparks fly. However, they are both competing in a contest for the same beautiful mansion that would house their dreams. To determine the winner, the home’s owner decides that the two should live under the same roof for one year and put their proposals into action.' VERDICT 'In this fun tale that is the third installment of the series (after Dancing with Fireflies), RITA finalist Hunter skillfully combines elements of romance, family stories, and kitchen disasters. Fans of Colleen Coble and Robin Lee Hatcher will enjoy this winter-themed novel.'
“An interesting story that keeps the reader involved with the struggle the main characters have making their dreams come true. They each have past experiences to overcome and need to realize that sometimes dreams are subject to change.”
'. . . a warm, inspirational tale of ambition, confidence, family, and love.'

Product Reviews

4.1 Stars Out Of 5
4.1 out of 5
(10)
(5)
(3)
(2)
(0)
Quality:
4.4 out Of 5
(4.4 out of 5)
Value:
4.4 out Of 5
(4.4 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.2 out Of 5
(4.2 out of 5)
90%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 20
Page 1 of 4 1234 Next
  1. Doris Wright
    Morganfield, KY
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    3 Stars Out Of 5
    It was good.
    January 23, 2016
    Doris Wright
    Morganfield, KY
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 3
    Value: 3
    Meets Expectations: 3
    Overall, the book was good. The problem I had was two unmarried people living under the same roof. The author pushed the limits a lot. Cole would put his arms around PJ and his hands would feel her thin sweater, he would press his body against hers, PJ wanted his hands on her. PJ would act so childish sometimes. But, in the end they both got what they wanted.
  2. VicsMediaRoom
    Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    High Expectations For A Home
    January 17, 2016
    VicsMediaRoom
    Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Denise Hunter in her new book The Wishing Season" Book Three in the Chapel Springs Romance series published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of PJ McKinley.

    From the back cover: In this competition, its not just the house on the line, its their hearts.

    She has the touch when it comes to food, but PJ McKinleys dream of opening her own restaurant is one building short of reality. So when a Chapel Springs resident offers her beloved ancestral home as prize to the applicant with the best plan for the house, PJ believes she was meant to win.

    Contractor Cole Evans is confident, professional, and swoon-worthybut this former foster kid knows his life could have turned out very differently. When Cole discovers the contest, he believes his home for foster kids in transition has found its saving grace. All he has to do is convince the owner that a not-for-profit enterprise will be good for the community.

    When the eccentric philanthropist weighs the proposals, she proposes an outlandish tie-breaker: PJ and Cole will share the house for a year to see which idea works best. Now, with Cole and the foster kids upstairs and PJ and the restaurant below, day-to-day life has turned into an out-and-out rivalrywith some seriously flirtatious hallway encounters on the side. But could their magnetic attraction cost them everything theyve ever wanted?

    I like the McKinley family and this time the focus is on PJ. With all the attention that The Food Network is attracting I am not surprised that it has spilled over into the books. PJ wants to open her own restaurant but Cole wants to open a foster kids home. What more can you say about two such widely separate ventures? What would you do if you were PJ and given the bottom floor for the restaurant and Cole and given the upper floor for the kids? Well for them it feels like a competition as each one is trying to oust the other. The wonderful thing about this romance is it is not supposed to work. What is so much fun is watching the romance grow because of the competition clashes in the hallway. This is generally the only time they see one another and while the sparks fly the attraction begins. "The Wishing Season" is a sweet romance that has the best characters of PJ and Cole in it. I liked it and look forward to the next visit with the McKinley family.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  3. Angela Suzanne
    Age: 18-24
    Gender: female
    3 Stars Out Of 5
    Enjoyed Character Interactions
    March 16, 2015
    Angela Suzanne
    Age: 18-24
    Gender: female
    It was nice to see PJ's story after being introduced to her in the first two books of this series. The family dynamics between the four siblings and their parents, as well as Beckett and Daniel, is always a highlight for me in this series. The interactions between the characters is one of the strongest appeals in this book. I did find it a little strange that despite this being a Christian book, nothing was really said about an unmarried man and woman living in the same house. Maybe I'm making a bigger deal out of it than I should be it seemed strange to me. Overall, I liked the book and I think readers who like fairly clean romances that don't mind heavier issues will like this book.
  4. bookwomanjoan
    Oak Harbor, WA
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: Female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    A delightful Christian romance
    February 19, 2015
    bookwomanjoan
    Oak Harbor, WA
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: Female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    I did enjoy this novel. I was amazed that Hunter could come up with a plot that I had not seen before in a romance. Two people trying to win the same large house while living in it developing their dreams is a sure fire formula for a troubled romance. Both characters have issues that need to be dealt with. PJ and Cole need forgiveness and restoration. The gospel is clearly presented as their relationship progresses. Also, both have issues from the past, Cole with guilt from an automobile accident and PJ from making poor decisions in the past. It was great to see how those character traits are healed.

    This is a good romance and I recommend it.
  5. kp0719
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    The Wishing Seaon
    January 7, 2015
    kp0719
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    You meet PJ McKinley and Cole Evans on the opening pages of The Wishing Season, the latest book by Denise Hunter. PJ and Cole soon enter a year-long contest with each other to win ownership of a house in Chapel Springs.

    PJ and Cole each have a dream. PJ wants to open and run a successful restaurant. Cole dreams of opening a home to assist young people leaving foster care and looking to start a life on their own.

    Both PJ and Cole have trials that they each must work through on the pages of this novel. There are many moments of conflict with each other; however, moments of something deeper and more lasting seemed to be growing.

    This book definitely had me smiling once I reached the final pages!
Displaying items 1-5 of 20
Page 1 of 4 1234 Next

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×
Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.