The Tank Man's Son: A Memoir - eBook
The Tank Man's Son: A Memoir - eBook  -     By: Mark Bouman, D.R. Jacobsen
Buy Item $9.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 38% ($6.00)
In Stock
Stock No: WW76558EB
Tyndale House / 2015 / ePub
Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

The Tank Man's Son: A Memoir - eBook

Tyndale House / 2015 / ePub

In Stock
Stock No: WW76558EB


Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

* This product is available for purchase worldwide.
  • Other Formats (3)
Other Formats (3)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $9.99
    Retail: $15.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $9.99
  2. In Stock
    $8.99
    Retail: $15.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.99
  3. In Stock
    $14.98
    Add To Cart
    0
    $14.98

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: Tyndale House
Publication Date: 2015
ISBN: 9781414396040
ISBN-13: 9781414396040

Publisher's Description

In the tradition of The Glass Castle and Angela’s Ashes comes the most unforgettable memoir you’ll read this year!
What did it mean to be the Tank Man’s son? To grow up overwhelmed by my father’s presence and personality? It was as if I didn’t exist, as if I was just something else for my father to crush.”

So begins the haunting memoir of Mark Bouman as he recounts the events of his childhood at the hands of his larger-than-life, Neo-Nazi father in brilliant, startling detail. From adventure-filled days complete with real-life war games, artillery fire, and tank races to terror-filled nights marked by vicious tirades, brutal beatings, and psychological torture, Mark paints a chilling portrait of family life that is at once whimsical and horrific—all building to a shocking climax that challenges even the broadest boundaries of love and forgiveness.

An epic tale of redemption and reconciliation, The Tank Man’s Son is a literary tour de force that is sure to become an instant classic.

Product Reviews

4.3 Stars Out Of 5
4.3 out of 5
(1)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Value:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-3 of 3
Page 1 of 1
  1. Rhonda Nash-hall
    Madison Heights VA
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Compelling and gripping
    June 5, 2016
    Rhonda Nash-hall
    Madison Heights VA
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This review was written for The Tank Man's Son : A Memoir.
    Gripping! Fascinating! Horrific! Frightening! Unbelievable! Heart-wrenching! This memoir by Mark Bouman is all of these adjectives and more. I know plenty about abuse....too much, in fact....but his father puts what I know in a new perspective. He was so cruel to Mark and his brother, Jerry, and their mother, and sister, Sheri. He did not beat Sheri as he did their mother and the boys, but he had far too many awful things he forced the three children to do in his wrath. I'm actually surprised that he did not drink alcohol or use drugs. I almost could have excused some of his rage if he had an addiction but he was just filled with rage, cruelty, and anger. I was also surprised that the government did not target him as a potential threat, due to his Neo-Nazi activity and interest, but oddly that never seemed to be a problem. Amazingly, Mark is able to forgive his father and make peace. This memoir will grab you and hold tight to your heartstrings as you ache with these precious young children.

    I rated this book 5 stars and highly recommend it to readers of Christian non-fiction.

    I received a copy of this book from netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
  2. Amy C
    VA
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    The Tank Man's Son
    September 15, 2015
    Amy C
    VA
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This review was written for The Tank Man's Son : A Memoir.
    The Tank Man's Son: A Memoir is one of the hardest books I have read. It tells about the author's abusive and violent father. Being abused by my own father growing up, it is hard to read. Getting over that part of the book, it is interesting at how it all ends and I would recommend it.

    4 stars
  3. bookwomanjoan
    Oak Harbor, WA
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: Female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Living under an angry father
    July 1, 2015
    bookwomanjoan
    Oak Harbor, WA
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: Female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    This review was written for The Tank Man's Son : A Memoir.
    If you were raised in a family with an angry father, this book will be very difficult to read. If you and your siblings have shuddered in bed, wondering if tonight was the night he was going to kill your mother, this book may be unbearable.

    Bouman shares the story of being the son of a violent father. He writes about the erratic behavior, the increasing violence, the obsession with things military, the gun range, the war games, the nazi salutes, getting the M19, the beatings, pitting the brothers against each other, the summer on a reclaimed boat, and much more. It was hard to absorb the father screaming about what an idiot his son was. It was almost impossible to read of the fear Bouman experienced when he accidentally fired his shotgun at a boat his dad was restoring. It was excruciating to read about the beatings his mother received. It was haunting to read about Bouman being terrified that he may become like his father. It was so hard to read about all the pain almost overwhelming.

    There are some funny times, like Bouman's dad running the tank right up onto his friend's brand new car and blasting stumps with dynamite only to have a big piece of stump pierce the roof of their home just missing the sofa and the lady falling through the hole in their home's floor. But even those funny parts were sad in a very real way.

    While it may be a hard book to read, as it was for me, it does have a rewarding aspect to it. There is an assurance that God can and will, in the end, take all those experiences and work them for good. There truly is God's grace to make one new.

    I would encourage caution, however, in suggesting this book to others. It is well written and graphically illustrates the experience of a painful childhood. I would recommend this only to those who feel they could read it without revisiting the pain of their own childhood.

    I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of an independent and honest review.
Displaying items 1-3 of 3
Page 1 of 1

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×
Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.