The Tank Man's Son : A Memoir
Buy Item $7.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 50% ($8.00)
In Stock
Stock No: WW390277
Tyndale House / 2015 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
eBook $9.89 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

The Tank Man's Son : A Memoir

Tyndale House / 2015 / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW390277


  • Other Formats (4)
  • Others Also Purchased (1)
Other Formats (4)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $9.89
    Retail: $15.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $9.89
  2. In Stock
    $7.99
    Retail: $15.99
    Add To Cart
    $7.99
  3. In Stock
    $5.99
    Retail: $15.99
    Add To Cart
    $5.99
  4. In Stock
    $14.98
    Add To Cart
    0
    $14.98
Others Also Purchased (1)

Product Description

From real-life war games and tank races to brutal beatings and psychological torture, Bouman recounts the events of his childhood at the hands of his neo-Nazi father. While painting a chilling portrait of a family life that is both whimsical and horrific, this unforgettable memoir offers an epic tale of redemption and reconciliation. 350 pages, softcover from Tyndale.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 350
Vendor: Tyndale House
Publication Date: 2015
Dimensions: 8.25 X 5.50 X 0.50 (inches)
ISBN: 1414390270
ISBN-13: 9781414390277

Related Products

  1. Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace
    Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace
    Josh D. McDowell, Cristobal Krusen
    Tyndale House / 2012 / Trade Paperback
    $12.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 19% ($3.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 14 Reviews
  2. Unbroken: A Memoir
    Unbroken: A Memoir
    Tracy Elliot
    Thomas Nelson / 2010 / Trade Paperback
    $5.49 Retail: $14.99 Save 63% ($9.50)
  3. Falling into Place
    Falling into Place
    Hattie Kauffman
    Baker Books / 2014 / Trade Paperback
    $3.99 Retail: $17.00 Save 77% ($13.01)
  4. Same Kind of Different As Me
    Same Kind of Different As Me
    Ron Hall, Denver Moore
    Thomas Nelson / 2007 / Trade Paperback
    $13.49 Retail: $17.99 Save 25% ($4.50)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 181 Reviews Video

Publisher's Description

In the tradition of The Glass Castle and Angela’s Ashes comes the most unforgettable memoir you’ll read this year!
What did it mean to be the Tank Man’s son? To grow up overwhelmed by my father’s presence and personality? It was as if I didn’t exist, as if I was just something else for my father to crush.”

So begins the haunting memoir of Mark Bouman as he recounts the events of his childhood at the hands of his larger-than-life, Neo-Nazi father in brilliant, startling detail. From adventure-filled days complete with real-life war games, artillery fire, and tank races to terror-filled nights marked by vicious tirades, brutal beatings, and psychological torture, Mark paints a chilling portrait of family life that is at once whimsical and horrific—all building to a shocking climax that challenges even the broadest boundaries of love and forgiveness.

An epic tale of redemption and reconciliation, The Tank Man’s Son is a literary tour de force that is sure to become an instant classic.

Editorial Reviews

Starred review.
A touching memoir of a truly miserable childhood. That Bouman could write of his life of abuse in Michigan and make it sound like fun is the mark of a man who has completely come to terms with the higher plan for his life. It may have taken him more than two decades to discover it, but when he did, he embraced it and became a man with a mission. His writing is matter-of-fact and in no way an attempt to purge the pain of living with a father who treated him like an imbecile incapable of anything and regularly beat him and his brother. Somehow, the author manages to describe a life that, between beatings, would seem attractive to most boys. When Bouman was young, his father put an airplane engine in a VW to make a carplane, and he opened up a shooting range on their 11-acre land and purchased a massive boat. He also bought a tank, which just about everyone thought was the coolest thing ever. He actually let the boys drive the tank, and it proved useful for putting out fires and demolishing unwanted buildings. Bouman seems to be trying to paint a more pleasant picture of his childhood, but the facts of the beatings and the demolition of any character he might have developed seep through. Later on, substance abuse threatened to end his military career, until someone invited him to church. Who knows why such things appear just as a soul is sinking into the abyss? Religion changed him, and he eventually found his wife and opened an orphanage in Cambodia in the early 1990s, where he finally discovered the profit of his upbringing. This immensely inspiring story shows how Bouman tore success from defeat. Never preachy or self-pitying, just an honest story well written and well told.
A memoir as weighty, heartbreaking, and shocking as Pat Conroy’s The Great Santiti. . . Bizarre and unpredictable, Bouman’s memoir transcends the normal tropes of the redemption tale and becomes a testament to the power of human fortitude and forgiveness.

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.