The Silence Between Us
Stock No: WW766167
The Silence Between Us  -     By: Alison Gervais

The Silence Between Us

Zondervan / 2019 / Hardcover

Buy 24 or more for $12.82 each.
In Stock
Stock No: WW766167

Buy 24 or more for $12.82 each.

Buy Item Our Price$13.49 Retail: $18.99 Save 29% ($5.50)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW766167
Zondervan / 2019 / Hardcover
Quantity:

Add To Cart

or checkout with

Add To Wishlist
eBook Our Price$10.49 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart

or checkout with

Wishlist

Other Formats (2)
Select this Item Product Title/Author Availability Price Quantity
$13.49
In Stock
Our Price$13.49
Retail: $18.99
Add To Cart
$13.49
$10.49
In Stock
Our Price$10.49
Add To Cart
Quantity for eBook0
$10.49

Product Description

Maya's unhappy to move halfway across the country right before senior year. But then she meets Beau Watson, who begins learning ASL just to converse with her. They start to develop genuine feelings, but when Maya passes up a chance to hear again, he's confused---leaving her feeling rejected. Can they ever truly understand each other? 320 pages, hardcover from Zondervan.

Product Information

Title: The Silence Between Us
By: Alison Gervais
Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 320
Vendor: Zondervan
Publication Date: 2019
Dimensions: 8.40 X 5.50 (inches)
Weight: 14 ounces
ISBN: 0310766168
ISBN-13: 9780310766162
Ages: 13-17
Stock No: WW766167

Publisher's Description

"The Silence Between Us is eminently un-put-down-able." (NPR)

Schneider Family Book Award, Best Teen Honor Book 2020

"This is a great YA contemporary (clean) romance that follows Maya as she navigates a new school and plans for her future. The addition of representation by a Deaf character was really beautifully done. Highly recommend for people looking for a sweet, engaging, and educational romantic read." (YA and Kids Book Central)

#OwnVoices YA novel features Deaf / Hard of Hearing Community

"It’s time we see more Deaf characters in books. It’s time we see more books celebrating sign language and Deaf culture," said author Alison Gervais.

Deaf teen Maya moves across the country and must attend a hearing school for the first time. As if that wasn’t hard enough, she also has to adjust to the hearing culture, which she finds frustrating—and also surprising when some classmates, including Beau Watson, take time to learn ASL. As Maya looks past graduation and focuses on her future dreams, nothing, not even an unexpected romance, will not derail her pursuits. But when people in her life—Deaf and hearing alike—ask her to question parts of her Deaf identity, Maya stands proudly, never giving in to the idea that her Deafness is a disadvantage.

The Silence Between Us:

  • Features a Deaf protagonist and an #OwnVoices perspective on Deaf and Hard of Hearing culture
  • Is a clean YA romance by Wattpad sensation Alison Gervais
  • Is perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and CeCe Bell

Author Bio

Alison Gervais began writing at the age of five and gained recognition by posting her work on Wattpad in 2011. She graduated from Colorado State University - Pueblo with a degree in English and published her first novel, In 27 Days, in 2017. Alison currently resides on the East coast with her husband, their daughter, two cats, and one very mischievous German Shepherd.

Editorial Reviews

Gervais deftly renders both the nuanced, everyday realities of life with disability and Maya's fierce pride in her Deafness, delivering a vibrant story that will resonate with Deaf and hearing audiences alike. -- Booklist

This is a great YA contemporary (clean) romance that follows Maya as she navigates a new school and plans for her future. The addition of representation by a Deaf character was really beautifully done. Highly recommend for people looking for a sweet, engaging, and educational romantic read. -- YA and Kids Book Central

Alison Gervais (In 27 Days), herself Hard of Hearing (HoH), portrays Maya as frustrated by setbacks yet exuberant in her pride as a member of the Deaf community. The everyday discrimination Maya faces doesn't weigh her down--'Discrimination? Welcome to my world.' Gervais depicts signed dialogue in the 'choppy English' characteristic of ASL, immersing the reader in Maya's life. The Silence Between Us is a boon to young adult literature, helping to remedy the shortage of Deaf protagonists with the spitfire Maya and her momentous self-confidence. The Silence Between Us is a boon to young adult literature, helping to remedy the shortage of Deaf protagonists with the spitfire Maya and her momentous self-confidence. -- Shelf Awareness

Gervais (In 27 Days) uses her own experiences of hearing loss to lend authenticity to this novel about a teenage deaf girl starting over at a new school. [...] Gervais adroitly pulls readers into her world--conveying ASL through all caps and spelled-out words--as well as her work navigating the deaf and hearing worlds and her awareness of who she is. -- Publishers Weekly

A unique and deftly written novel showcasing a strong deaf character and how she deals with all that her situation entails, 'The Silence Between Us' is a compelling and thoroughly entertaining read from cover to cover. -- Midwest Book Review

A spectacular follow-up to In 27 Days, Gervais has written a beautiful contemporary YA novel featuring a strong female lead who isn't willing to change herself to fit in. A heartwarming own voices story about moving to a new school, making friends, and falling in love. -- Kelly Anne Blount, USA TODAY Bestselling Author, Watty Award Winner

Alison Gervais' The Silence Between Us, not only captures the anxiety most young people feel when they've been uprooted from their community of friends, but in Maya's case, it's exacerbated by the fact she is deaf and newly planted in a hearing school. As nervous as Maya is, her wonderful sense of humor enlivens the story for the reader. Gervais has a perfect grasp of the challenges facing Maya and fleshes them out empathetically. Her portrayal of Maya and the pitfalls she faces, in my opinion, is spot on. More subtle is Maya's natural defensiveness even against those students who attempt to befriend her, throwing up barriers when she suspects pity as their motivation. -- Ginny Rorby, author of Hurt Go Happy

A spirited story about a girl trying to find herself and her place in the world. Gervais' writing is sure to inspire readers to always stand up for who they are. -- Christina June, author of It Started with Goodbye, Everywhere You Want to Be, and No Place Like Here

At its heart, The Silence Between Us is as much about learning to open our minds as it is about learning to open our eyes and ears. -- McCall Hoyle, author of The Thing with Feathers and Meet the Sky

The Silence Between Us is eminently un-put-down-able. -- NPR

Ask a Question

Author/Artist Review