The Mysterious Benedict Society
Stock No: WW003957
The Mysterious Benedict Society   -     By: Trenton Lee Stewart

The Mysterious Benedict Society

Little, Brown and Company / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW003957

Buy Item Our Price$6.94 Retail: $9.99 Save 31% ($3.05)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW003957
Little, Brown and Company / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart
Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

Product Description

"Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?"

When this peculiar ad appears in the newspaper, dozens of children enroll to take a series of mysterious, mind-bending tests. (And you, dear reader, can test your wits right alongside them.) But in the end just four very special children will succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and resourceful children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules.

As our heroes face physical and mental trials beyond their wildest imaginations, they have no choice but to turn to each other for support. But with their newfound friendship at stake, will they be able to pass the most important test of all?

Welcome to the Mysterious Benedict Society.

Product Information

Title: The Mysterious Benedict Society
By: Trenton Lee Stewart
Format: Paperback
Vendor: Little, Brown and Company
Weight: 1 pound
ISBN: 0316003956
ISBN-13: 9780316003957
Ages: 9-12
Stock No: WW003957

Publisher's Description

For fans of Lemony Snicket and Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library, this first book in the bestselling, award-winning Mysterious Benedict Society Series is not to be missed!

"Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?" Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children--two boys and two girls--succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

Author Bio

Trenton Lee Stewart is the author of the award-winning and New York Times bestselling Mysterious Benedict Society series. He lives in Arkansas with his wife and two sons.

Carson Ellis received her BFA from the University of Montana and has established a loyal following for her artistic collaborations with the band the Decemberists. She lives in Portland, Oregon.

Editorial Reviews

"Great cast of characters, lots of cool puzzles and mysteries. This book reminded me of some of the better children's books I grew up with, like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and The Phantom Tollbooth."—Rick Riordan
"Begins with a bang... resembles the otherwordly experience of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory."—Publishers Weekly, starred review
"Fans of Roald Dahl or Blue Balliett will find a familiar blend of kid power, clues, and adventure."—School Library Journal, starred review
"Tackles personal concerns: abandonment, family, loyalty, and facing one's fears."—Booklist, starred review
"Dashes of mild humor and introspection rest on a solid base of suspense, mystery, and well-rounded characters, making this a satisfying dish for readers of varying tastes."—The Bulletin, starred review
"Do not miss this one. Buy two copies because they will be needed."—VOYA
"Real flashlight under the bedclothes material... this story flies past, thrilling us as it goes."—Horn Book

Ask a Question

Author/Artist Review