The Meetings of Religions and the Trinity
The Meetings of Religions and the Trinity   -     By: Gavin D'Costa, Paul F. Knitter
Buy Item $5.49 Retail: $28.00 Save 80% ($22.51)
In Stock
Stock No: WW753032
Orbis Books / 2000 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart


Wishlist

The Meetings of Religions and the Trinity

Orbis Books / 2000 / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW753032


Product Description

One of the most discussed topics of our time is Christianity's relation to other religions. In this important new book, one of Britain's leading contemporary theologians develops a sharp and penetrating critique of the pluralist position. In the tradition of Alasdair MacIntyre and John Milbank, the author shows that too often it masks a secularizing agenda, traceable to the worst aspects of Enlightment modernity.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 192
Vendor: Orbis Books
Publication Date: 2000
Dimensions: 9 1/4 X 6 (inches)
ISBN: 1570753032
ISBN-13: 9781570753039

Publisher's Description

Shows that many so-called "pluralist" theologies are actually masks for a secularizing agenda and that the doctrine of the Trinity holds more potential for interreligious understanding and dialogue. D'Costa recommends the Trinitarian approach which attains the goals that pluralism seeks: openness, respect, and learning from other religions. It accomplishes this without the reductionism associated with pluralism and by examining the serious differences between traditions. He applies the Trinity to interreligious prayer with surprising results.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.