The Lost Girl of Astor Street
Stock No: WW758389
The Lost Girl of Astor Street  -     By: Stephanie Morrill

The Lost Girl of Astor Street

Blink / 2017 / Hardcover

Buy 32 or more for $12.82 each.
Expected to ship on or about 10/08/21.
Email me when this product is available.
Stock No: WW758389

Buy Item Our Price$13.49 Retail: $17.99 Save 25% ($4.50)
Expected to ship on or about 10/08/21.
Email me when this product is available.
Quantity:
Stock No: WW758389
Blink / 2017 / Hardcover
Quantity:

Add To Cart
Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
eBook Our Price$9.49 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

  • Other Formats (3)
  • Others Also Purchased (1)
Other Formats (3)
  1. Select this Item Product Title/Author Availability Price Quantity
  2. $13.49
    Expected to ship on or about 10/08/21.
    Our Price$13.49
    Retail: $17.99
    Add To Cart
    $13.49
  3. $9.49
    In Stock
    Our Price$9.49
    Add To Cart
    0
    $9.49
  4. $9.89
    In Stock
    Our Price$9.89
    Retail: $10.99
    Add To Cart
    $9.89
Others Also Purchased (1)

Product Description

After her best friend vanishes, 17-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth. But when her investigation leads to the corruption strangling 1920s Chicago---and back to her own affluent neighborhood---she must decide how deep she's willing to dig. Will she risk her life of privilege for the sake of the truth? 352 pages, hardcover from Blink.

Product Information

Title: The Lost Girl of Astor Street
By: Stephanie Morrill
Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 352
Vendor: Blink
Publication Date: 2017
Dimensions: 8.4 X 5.5 (inches)
Weight: 15 ounces
ISBN: 0310758386
ISBN-13: 9780310758389
Ages: 13-17
Stock No: WW758389

Related Products

  1. Left Behind: The Kids Collection 11: Hunted
    Add To Wishlist
    Tim LaHaye, Jerry B. Jenkins
    Tyndale House / 2016 / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$8.99 Retail Price$10.99 Save 18% ($2.00)
    5 out of 5 stars for Left Behind: The Kids Collection 11: Hunted. View reviews of this product. 1 Reviews
  2. Codename: Alexander
    Add To Wishlist
    Kaylee Dolat
    WestBow Press / 2016 / Hardcover
    Our Price$36.08
  3. Left Behind: The Kids Collection 12: Arrived
    Add To Wishlist
    Tim LaHaye, Jerry B. Jenkins
    Tyndale House / 2016 / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$8.99 Retail Price$10.99 Save 18% ($2.00)
    5 out of 5 stars for Left Behind: The Kids Collection 12: Arrived. View reviews of this product. 2 Reviews
  4. Left Behind: The Kids Collection 9: Deceived
    Add To Wishlist
    Tim LaHaye, Jerry B. Jenkins
    Tyndale House / 2016 / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$8.49 Retail Price$9.99 Save 15% ($1.50)
    5 out of 5 stars for Left Behind: The Kids Collection 9: Deceived. View reviews of this product. 2 Reviews

Publisher's Description

When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia’s disappearance. Given that Piper’s tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society’s expectations of her, it’s no surprise that she doesn’t give a second thought to searching for answers to Lydia’s abduction from their privileged neighborhood.

As Piper discovers that those answers might stem from the corruption strangling 1924 Chicago—and quite possibly lead back to the doors of her affluent neighborhood—she must decide how deep she’s willing to dig, how much she should reveal, and if she’s willing to risk her life of privilege for the sake of the truth.

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, Stephanie Morrill’s atmospheric jazz-age mystery will take readers from the glitzy homes of the elite to the dark underbelly of 1920s Chicago.

Author Bio

Stephanie Morrill lives in Overland Park, Kansas, with her husband and three kids. She is the author of The Lost Girl of Astor Street, The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series, Go Teen Writers: How to Turn Your First Draft into a Published Book, and the Ellie Sweet series. She enjoys encouraging and teaching teen writers on her blog, GoTeenWriters.com. To connect with Stephanie and read samples of her books, check out StephanieMorrill.com.

 

Editorial Reviews

“The Lost Girl of Astor Street boasts a strong, smart, and courageous heroine, a note-perfect Jazz-Age Chicago setting, and a terrifically engaging plot that kept me reading into the middle of the night.” Jennifer Robson, international bestselling author of Moonlight Over Paris -- Jennifer Robson, international bestselling author of Moonlight Over Paris

“Downton Abbey in downtown Chicago---a must read!” Allison Rushby, author of The Heiresses -- Allison Rushby, author of The Heiresses

“Step back to a more glamorous time with the captivating story of Piper Sail, a sassy young woman with a penchant for finding trouble. As a mystery unfolds, you’ll be turning the pages and cheering on a heroine you won’t forget.” Jenny B. Jones, award-winning author of Can’t Let You Go and the Katie Parker Production series -- Jenny B. Jones, award-winning author of Cant Let You Go and the Katie Parker Production series

“Thoroughly engaging. Fast paced, filled with vivid details, and featuring a delightful heroine, it was a joy to read. It’s a keeper, for sure.” New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Shelley Shepard Gray -- New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Shelley Shepard Gray

“In this engaging mystery, the dilemma of a teenager trying to find her place in the middle of drastic societal change is nicely blended with intrigue in the vivid setting of 1924 Chicago. Will likely be hard to keep on the shelf.” VOYA Magazine -- VOYA Magazine

“Morrill invites us on a wild ride through teen eyes down the crime-ridden, mob-infested streets of Chicago in the 1920s. Laden with mystery and laced with romance, this intriguing, who-done-it read is a testament to friendship, courage and first love that you won’t soon forget!” Betsy St. Amant, author of All’s Fair in Love and Cupcakes and Love Arrives in Pieces -- Betsy St. Amant, author of Alls Fair in Love & Cupcakes and Love Arrives in Pieces

“An engrossing mystery that takes readers into the jazz clubs, illicit speakeasies, and gangster neighborhoods of 1920s Chicago in a search for a missing girl. The intrigue, romance, and glamorous Roaring Twenties setting will draw readers in.” Jill Williamson, award-winning author of By Darkness Hid and Captives -- Jill Williamson, award-winning author of By Darkness Hid and Captives

“A vivid picture of 1920s Chicago with strong, relatable characters and their intriguing relationships. You won’t be able to stop wondering what will happen next as the clever heroine works to solve the mystery of The Lost Girl of Astor Street.” Melanie Dickerson, author of The Golden Braid and The Beautiful Pretender -- Melanie Dickerson, author of The Golden Braid and The Beautiful Pretender

“Combining the fascinating setting of the Roaring Twenties with a smart, savvy heroine, Morrill has hit the perfect note with this captivating story.” RT Reviews, 4 Stars -- Romantic Times

“Here’s hoping this won’t be the last case for this strong and admirable female sleuth to solve. A…well-crafted historical whodunit.” Kirkus Reviews -- Kirkus

In The Lost Girl of Astor Street, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail’s best friend, Lydia, goes missing. Piper is determined to find out what happened to her friend. Piper has a number of suspects; was it the chauffeur on whom Lydia had a crush? Or how about the creepy father of the little boy she was the nanny for? Could it have been Lydia’s own father who didn’t want the secret of her epilepsy to get out and ruin his practice? And let’s not forget that 1924 Chicago is run by the opposing mafias, Irish and Italian, whom Piper’s father represents as a criminal defense attorney. Was Lydia even the original target? Piper is going to solve this case and bring justice for her friend, no matter what the cost. (5 star review by Christina Boswell) On the back cover of this book, one author says, “If Veronica Mars met the Roaring Twenties, you’d end up with The Lost Girl of Astor Street.” I cannot think of a more accurate description. Piper is very similar to Veronica Mars, who happens to be one of my favorites, so I very much enjoyed this book. Piper is easy to connect with as a young woman who can’t just sit around and do nothing while her best friend is missing, and she struggles to conform to society’s ideals. Ms. Morrill did a wonderful job of making great characters, of thoroughly researching the setting, and of still writing a worthwhile mystery. I personally loved that there was nothing inappropriate, no foul language, and no sex scenes. Just a good old-fashioned mystery that is a fun read. If you like Veronica Mars, you will enjoy this book, just like I did. -- Seattle Book Review

“A story that has it all---mystery, the mafia, and a heroine you can’t help but root for. If Veronica Mars met the Roaring Twenties, you’d end up with The Lost Girl of Astor Street!” Roseanna M. White, author of The Lost Heiress -- Roseanna M. White, author of The Lost Heiress

“Piper Sail is a character I’d follow to the ends of the earth---she had me from the very first page. With its smart, savvy heroine and moody Jazz-Age setting, Stephanie Morrill has penned a winner from start to finish.” Bestselling author Hillary Manton Lodge -- Bestselling author Hillary Manton Lodge

“A historical mystery full of heart and brimming with the vibrant atmosphere of 1920s Chicago. The moment I finished I was ready to flip it over and begin again.” Shannon Dittemore, author of the Angel Eyes trilogy -- Shannon Dittemore, author of the Angel Eyes trilogy

“Spunky Piper Sail is more interested in investigating her best friend’s death than in society’s expectations for a young woman in 1924. She’s curious, intelligent and gutsy … Reminiscent of Philip Pullman’s Sally Lockhart series in all the best ways!” Maureen Doyle McQuerry, award-winning author of The Peculiars and the Time Out of Time duet: The Telling Stone and Beyond the Door -- Maureen Doyle McQuerry, award-winning author of The Peculiars and the Time Out of Time duet: The Telling Stone and Beyond the Door

“Witty and compelling, The Girl of Astor Street is as thick with romance as it is with evolving mysteries. Piper Sail is a 1920s heroine to root for … A truly fresh and engaging story that not only kept me guessing until the very end, but that left me with a satisfied sigh for more please!” Joanne Bischof, award-winning author of The Lady and the Lionheart -- Joanne Bischof, award-winning author of The Lady and the Lionheart

“A fast-paced mystery that sparkles with the sights and sounds of 1920s Chicago. The strong characters and setting drew me in, and the twists and turns kept me hooked until the end.” Renee Collins, author of Until We Meet Again -- Renee Collins, author of Until We Meet Again

“A well-plotted mystery with plenty of twists, turns, and red herrings.” Publishers Weekly -- Publishers Weekly

“Enjoyable…mystery with a twist for inquisitive readers.” School Library Journal -- School Library Journal

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review