The Light on Halsey Street
Stock No: WW709936
The Light on Halsey Street  -     By: Vanessa Miller

The Light on Halsey Street

Thomas Nelson / 2023 / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW709936

Buy Item Our Price$12.99 Retail: $17.99 Save 28% ($5.00)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW709936
Thomas Nelson / 2023 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart

or checkout with

Add To Wishlist
eBook Our Price$11.99 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart

or checkout with

Wishlist

Other Formats (2)
Select this Item Product Title/Author Availability Price Quantity
$11.99
In Stock
Our Price$11.99
Add To Cart
Quantity for eBook0
$11.99
$12.99
In Stock
Our Price$12.99
Retail: $17.99
Add To Cart
$12.99
Others Also Purchased (1)

Product Description

The Light on Halsey Street by Vanessa Miller, It's the summer of 1985 in Brooklyn, and best-friends, Lisa and Dana are at a crossroads in their lives. Lisa is a church-going teen and is getting ready to go to college. Dana is struggling with her home life, with loved ones involved in lives of drugs and crime. As betrayal becomes to light, will the girls be able to hold on to their friendship? Paperback, 336 pages. Recommended for ages 14 years and older.

Product Information

Title: The Light on Halsey Street
By: Vanessa Miller
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 336
Vendor: Thomas Nelson
Publication Date: 2023
Dimensions: 8.375 X 5.5 (inches)
Weight: 11 ounces
ISBN: 0840709935
ISBN-13: 9780840709936
Stock No: WW709936

Publisher's Description

Two girls’ lives are irrevocably intertwined the summer of 1985 in the streets of Brooklyn, New York, and neither will ever be the same in this coming-of-age story that spans decades.

In the summer of 1985, Lisa Whitaker is a church kid headed to college on a scholarship while her best friend, Dana, is floundering in the wake of her mother’s latest eviction. Though Lisa tries to help, their paths diverge. Fifteen years later, Lisa has a beautiful family and is stepping into her dream job as the director for a social services organization. Everything is going right—until her future is snatched away by identity theft. Her life begins to unravel, and Lisa wants nothing more than to see the woman responsible pay for her crimes.

When she was a teenager, Dana Jones always felt alone in this world. Her mother was addicted to drugs, her boyfriend was entering a life of crime, and it seemed Dana, too, was heading down the wrong path. The only bright light was her friendship with Lisa. Now, in the new millennium, Dana finally gives herself permission to dream—to believe she is stepping into better days. But when the betrayal of their friendship comes to light, it will take a lifetime to forgive the destruction that youthful summer in Bed-Stuy set in motion.

In this latest story from beloved author Vanessa Miller, two girls from the Bed-Stuy neighborhood of Brooklyn, New York, find that their paths have been woven together by the love of community and a friendship that is tested by time, betrayal, and unforgiveness.

  • Inspirational Christian fiction
  • Stand-alone novel
  • Perfect for fans of Tara M. Stringfellow, Terry McMillan, and Kimberla Lawson Roby
  • Book length: approximately 85,000 words
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs

Author Bio

Vanessa Miller is a bestselling author, with several books appearing on ESSENCE Magazine's Bestseller List. She has also been a Black Expressions Book Club alternate pick and #1 on BCNN/BCBC Bestseller List. Most of Vanessa's published novels depict characters who are lost and in need of redemption. The books have received countless favorable reviews: "Heartwarming, drama-packed and tender in just the right places" (Romantic Times book review) and "Recommended for readers of redemption stories" (Library Journal). Visit her online at vanessamiller.com; Twitter: @Vanessamiller01; Instagram: @authorvanessamiller; Facebook: @Vanessamiller01.

Editorial Reviews

Dana Jones is just trying to survive in 1985 Brooklyn, which is a tough task while having a cocaine-addicted mother and a boyfriend who's a petty thief. Her best friend Lisa Whitaker lives just around the block but has a fairy-tale life and dreams of making a difference in her predominately African American Bedford-Stuyvesant neighborhood. One fateful night sets both young women on a path that seems unchangeable--one to prison, the other to college. Jumping ahead in time, Miller (Something Good) explores how one bad decision can change a life forever, but she also brings the main characters plenty of chances for redemption. Bedford-Stuyvesant, at once tight-knit and fractured, is practically a main character in this women's fiction offering, and many will recognize similar ebbs and flows in their own cities. VERDICT: Friendship and the power of community are the shining stars of this novel, which doesn't shy away from tough issues but also offers a hefty dose of hope and humor. Read-alikes include Lean on Me by Pat Simmons and No One Ever Asked by Katie Ganshert. -- Library Journal

Ask a Question

Author/Artist Review