1. The Elusive Miss Ellison #1
    The Elusive Miss Ellison #1
    Carolyn Miller
    Kregel Publications / 2017 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 27% ($4.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 49 Reviews
4.4 Stars Out Of 5
4.4 out of 5
(30)
(13)
(4)
(2)
(0)
Quality:
4 out Of 5
(4 out of 5)
Value:
3.8 out Of 5
(3.8 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
3.9 out Of 5
(3.9 out of 5)
92%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 21-25 of 49
Page 5 of 10 First| Previous 34567 Next |Last
  1. 2 Stars Out Of 5
    Not a favorite, but still curious
    March 21, 2017
    Jamie
    Quality: 0
    Value: 0
    Meets Expectations: 0
    Its always fun to get the chance to read an authors debut novel. A new voice to the mix keeps things fresh. Thats one reason I decided to join in and review Carolyn Millers The Elusive Miss Ellison.

    While I liked the idea of this novel, with its hints of Pride and Prejudice and a Jane Austen type heroine, there were some parts that were a bit overdone for me with the characters. I think they were too much of what they were supposed to represent (if that makes sense at all). Im all about a strong and independent lead, those are my favorite but many times, instead of spirited, I thought Lavinia came across as a bit too pushy with her opinions to Nicholas. On the other hand, sometimes I wasnt sure why Nicholas didnt reach out to Lavinia. I thought as the novel went on, the interactions and development improved though.

    While this may not have been a favorite of mine, I admit, I still wanted to know how it ended and thats always a good thing. Plus, Im curious what will happen in the next two novels. Also, if you prefer stories with strong faith conversations and scenes, then this is one youll want to pick up.

    What debut are you looking forward to this year?

    (Thank you to Kregel for a copy of the book. All views expressed are my own.)

    Originally posted at http://booksandbeverages.org/2017/03/21/elusive-miss-ellison-carolyn-miller-book-review-giveaway/
  2. W Columbia, SC
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Stellar Regency Debut! (4.5 stars)
    March 20, 2017
    dianaFlow
    W Columbia, SC
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Fans of Jane Austen and Julie Klassen are sure to adore this romantic regency era novel by debut author, Carolyn Miller! Full of witty dialogue and angst-filled scenes reminiscent of the novel Pride and Prejudice, this book is certain to tug at your heart strings! I felt that the darkly handsome hero, Lord Hawkesbury, was the most discourteous man alive until the very opinionated Miss Ellison, helps him to see himself exactly for what he is -- a man filled with stubborn pride. Then he slowly grew on me...alot. I'm looking forward to reading more from this new author whose writing talent is superb!
  3. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    Pride and Prejudice Feel
    March 20, 2017
    Melissa
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    First, isn't the cover just beautiful? That alone made me want to read this book.

    So, I will be honest, it took me a couple of chapters before I liked this book. The first chapters didn't grab my mind and I was sure I wasn't going to enjoy this story. But I kept reading and I am glad I did.

    I really did enjoy this story very much. The cast of characters are all unique and the town in which it is set becomes very clear and endearing.

    It almost has a Pride and Prejudice kind of feel to it. Both Lavinia and Nicholas are so stubborn. Just when one begins to soften then something happens to make them not be able to stand each other.

    The give and take to this book was timed perfectly to push the reader forward and into the lives of these characters. I will be anxious to read the read of this series.

    A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher. All opinions are my own.
  4. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    Very sweet
    March 20, 2017
    lilacqueen75
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 4
    This charming tale of vivacious Lavinia and the proud Earl of Hawkesbury captured my heart and soul from the start. Lavinia is so atypical, which endears her to readers, and to Nicholas, as she stands up for herself and stands apart from the crowd. Her heart is fully entrenched in service, with little thought of herself, and because she's not caught up in the normal obsessions of society, she's deemed unworthy by some and an angel by others.

    Loneliness often disguises itself in interesting ways, but as these two solitary souls find themselves thrown together in unconventional situations, the prejudices slip away into a delightful account that truly warmed my heart. I love to see deserving people find happiness, just as I love it when judgmental and jealous people find out that karma isn't all that fun.

    There are many elements, some small and some monumental, that make this story enjoyable from start to finish.Most of thecharacters are easy to like and to relate to, although there are some to hate. The writing stylecauses the reader to feel immersed into the Austen Regency period, which is a fun escape. I loved the events that propel their spiritual and emotional learning forward. My only wish? I would have loved to have a little more romance--those sweet, tender feelings of emerging love.

    All in all, this is a great start to a new series--one that I'm looking forward to reading more of.

    Content: very mild romance; mild-moderate religious elements; very mild violence.

    *I received a complimentary copy, which did not affect my thoughts in any way.*
  5. Syracuse NY
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Time In An English Village
    March 20, 2017
    MaureenT
    Syracuse NY
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    I enjoyed this look at old England, and living in a quaint village, spending time with the Reverends daughter Miss Lavinia Ellison as she goes about helping those in need. She seems to have a big heart and is always there in times of need, but she has deep sorrow that comes out when the Lord of this village comes back, and we find out that she lost her mother because of something one of his family did.

    Of course this is a romance story, and Nicholas and Livvie have an up hill battle to every be anything more than a passing look. There is her faith, she is a believer, and he is not, and then there is his station as a Lord and she a commoner. I cant imagine living under such conditions, but not all of what we are viewing is true.

    This is the author debut novel and she sure doesnt disappoint, I found myself page turning, and when it was over, I wanted more. She has created quite the spunky girl in Livvie, and I loved how she held her own at different points in this book. A sweet quick read that will linger with you.

    I received this book through Kregel Publishing and their Blogging Program, and was not required to give a positive review.
Displaying items 21-25 of 49
Page 5 of 10 First| Previous 34567 Next |Last