Current Promotions  
  1. The Elusive Miss Ellison #1
    The Elusive Miss Ellison #1
    Carolyn Miller
    Kregel Publications / 2017 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 27% ($4.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 43 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    Stock No: WW5444500
4.5 Stars Out Of 5
4.5 out of 5
(28)
(10)
(3)
(2)
(0)
Quality:
4.1 out Of 5
(4.1 out of 5)
Value:
4 out Of 5
(4 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4 out Of 5
(4 out of 5)
91%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 16-20 of 43
Page 4 of 9 First| Previous 23456 Next |Last
  1. W Columbia, SC
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Stellar Regency Debut! (4.5 stars)
    March 20, 2017
    dianaFlow
    W Columbia, SC
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Fans of Jane Austen and Julie Klassen are sure to adore this romantic regency era novel by debut author, Carolyn Miller! Full of witty dialogue and angst-filled scenes reminiscent of the novel Pride and Prejudice, this book is certain to tug at your heart strings! I felt that the darkly handsome hero, Lord Hawkesbury, was the most discourteous man alive until the very opinionated Miss Ellison, helps him to see himself exactly for what he is -- a man filled with stubborn pride. Then he slowly grew on me...alot. I'm looking forward to reading more from this new author whose writing talent is superb!
  2. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    Pride and Prejudice Feel
    March 20, 2017
    Melissa
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    First, isn't the cover just beautiful? That alone made me want to read this book.

    So, I will be honest, it took me a couple of chapters before I liked this book. The first chapters didn't grab my mind and I was sure I wasn't going to enjoy this story. But I kept reading and I am glad I did.

    I really did enjoy this story very much. The cast of characters are all unique and the town in which it is set becomes very clear and endearing.

    It almost has a Pride and Prejudice kind of feel to it. Both Lavinia and Nicholas are so stubborn. Just when one begins to soften then something happens to make them not be able to stand each other.

    The give and take to this book was timed perfectly to push the reader forward and into the lives of these characters. I will be anxious to read the read of this series.

    A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher. All opinions are my own.
  3. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    Very sweet
    March 20, 2017
    lilacqueen75
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 4
    This charming tale of vivacious Lavinia and the proud Earl of Hawkesbury captured my heart and soul from the start. Lavinia is so atypical, which endears her to readers, and to Nicholas, as she stands up for herself and stands apart from the crowd. Her heart is fully entrenched in service, with little thought of herself, and because she's not caught up in the normal obsessions of society, she's deemed unworthy by some and an angel by others.

    Loneliness often disguises itself in interesting ways, but as these two solitary souls find themselves thrown together in unconventional situations, the prejudices slip away into a delightful account that truly warmed my heart. I love to see deserving people find happiness, just as I love it when judgmental and jealous people find out that karma isn't all that fun.

    There are many elements, some small and some monumental, that make this story enjoyable from start to finish.Most of thecharacters are easy to like and to relate to, although there are some to hate. The writing stylecauses the reader to feel immersed into the Austen Regency period, which is a fun escape. I loved the events that propel their spiritual and emotional learning forward. My only wish? I would have loved to have a little more romance--those sweet, tender feelings of emerging love.

    All in all, this is a great start to a new series--one that I'm looking forward to reading more of.

    Content: very mild romance; mild-moderate religious elements; very mild violence.

    *I received a complimentary copy, which did not affect my thoughts in any way.*
  4. Syracuse NY
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Time In An English Village
    March 20, 2017
    MaureenT
    Syracuse NY
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    I enjoyed this look at old England, and living in a quaint village, spending time with the Reverends daughter Miss Lavinia Ellison as she goes about helping those in need. She seems to have a big heart and is always there in times of need, but she has deep sorrow that comes out when the Lord of this village comes back, and we find out that she lost her mother because of something one of his family did.

    Of course this is a romance story, and Nicholas and Livvie have an up hill battle to every be anything more than a passing look. There is her faith, she is a believer, and he is not, and then there is his station as a Lord and she a commoner. I cant imagine living under such conditions, but not all of what we are viewing is true.

    This is the author debut novel and she sure doesnt disappoint, I found myself page turning, and when it was over, I wanted more. She has created quite the spunky girl in Livvie, and I loved how she held her own at different points in this book. A sweet quick read that will linger with you.

    I received this book through Kregel Publishing and their Blogging Program, and was not required to give a positive review.
  5. Texas
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    3 Stars Out Of 5
    Inspired by Austen
    March 19, 2017
    Andrea Cox
    Texas
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    Quality: 3
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 3
    This review was written for The Elusive Miss Ellison - eBook.
    by Andrea Renee Cox

    When I first saw this book, I was immediately intrigued by the beautiful cover and the back cover copy. The story within was clearly inspired by Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice, yet it holds its own flavor and style. I particularly enjoyed how circumstances pushed the characters to examine their behavior and make changes to improve themselves. The theme of controlling women losing the people they tried to control came through quite well, and I found this to be a direct reflection of real life.

    There were a few things I didn't like, including one expletive and several typos, but I am grateful for the opportunity to read this book by an author I had not before discovered.

    I receive complimentary books from publishers, publicists, authors, and sites like Netgalley, Litfuse Publicity Group, and Blogging for Books. They do not require me to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
Displaying items 16-20 of 43
Page 4 of 9 First| Previous 23456 Next |Last