Current Promotions  
  1. The Elusive Miss Ellison #1
    The Elusive Miss Ellison #1
    Carolyn Miller
    Kregel Publications / 2017 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 33% ($5.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 46 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    Stock No: WW5444500
4.4 Stars Out Of 5
4.4 out of 5
(28)
(12)
(4)
(2)
(0)
Quality:
4 out Of 5
(4 out of 5)
Value:
3.8 out Of 5
(3.8 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
3.9 out Of 5
(3.9 out of 5)
91%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 16-20 of 46
Page 4 of 10 First| Previous 23456 Next |Last
  1. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    Already looking forward to reading book 2!
    March 22, 2017
    Booklover10
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    The title of this book piqued my interest. When I first began reading it, I kept looking to see why the book was titled the way it was. I figured it was a little like some other books I had read, where the main character might have been partly elusive but was quickly won over by the man and then everything else was predictable in the book. I was quite excited to see that was not the plan of Miller's new book.

    In fact, there were some sections of it that reminded me a little of Pride and Prejudice, which is probably one of my favorite books. It was neat to see a few comparisons, even if she didn't intend for this book to be like that one.

    Lavinia is definitely elusive, but she has a good reason for being that way. Her mom died when she was young and it wasn't of natural causes. She has to work through completely forgiving, even though the pain is very real. It makes it even harder for her to do so when she is reminded of that day in many different ways.

    The new Earl of Hawkesbury might be cute, but he's hardened his heart for completely different reasons than Lavinia. He can't really marry for love. It has to be of convenience because she has to be able to meet his mother's high standards. However, he's always been one up for a challenge and when Lavinia puts up a challenge before him, he can't help but take it. He's not truly aware of all the reasons Miss Ellison has some hard feelings toward him and his family so they must acknowledge the pain before any friendship can form.

    I am looking forward to reading more in this new series by Carolyn Miller. Her second book, A Legacy of Grace, shouldn't be too far behind this book!

    _________________

    I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group and Kregel Publications in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
  2. Victorville, CA
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    One of the best debut authors of Traditonal Regency romances!!!
    March 21, 2017
    Heart2Heart
    Victorville, CA
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    I can't say for sure what inspired my love for traditional regency romances. Maybe it was Downton Abbey or any of Jane Austen's novels, but I love the life of the ladies of that era. Responsibilities were much different as was a woman's role. Not so much subservient but one had to hold her tongue and avoid saying what she thought, especially if one held some financial gain that would make her an agreeable match to the right man. It was much different for someone in service, because that was their lot in life and would look for matches in the same line of work as they were. Never did most of those relationships intermix with upper crust and those of servants. That is until Miss Lavinia Ellison, the daughter of the local Reverend and charitable do-gooder among those in the village of St. Hampton Heath in England.

    The only way most of the town's residents life would improve was if the new Earl of Hawkesbury took a personal interest of those who serve his estate. Yet one could hardly be expected to answer that call personally even if Lavinia could inspire such a visit or plead her local charity case. However without his necessary funds to make the most basic repairs, it seems as if the revenue the Earl was anticipating would not be as healthy as he would hope.

    It is Lavinia who challenges him to see the needs of those who depend on him, that they are not taking advantage of his good intentions and that in the long run, it will only benefit him. But since they come from two very different sets of circumstances, it is hard for them to see past what they only know of their own circumstances. Lavinia is determined to help those she deems less fortunate even if Nicholas, the Earl of Hawkesbury can't or won't. He is trying to see her side of things but unfortunately for Lavinia, he ability to temper her words with grace, doesn't make it easy for Nicholas to hear her truest intentions. Is there hope for either one of them? Time will tell.

    I received The Elusive Miss Ellison by Carolyn Miller compliments of Kregel Publications. This is Carolyn Miller's debut novel into the Traditional Regency Romance, and I can tell fans of the genre will absolutely LOVE Lavina Ellison's gumption, grit and sass! The attention to detail instantly transports readers back to Gloucestershire, England of the early 1800's. I can't wait to see what will happen when Nicholas' mother gets a dose of Lavinia to see if she will applaud the girls determination or will issue the ultimatum most mother's made of their sons at that time in history. For me, this one was a welcomed 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.
  3. 2 Stars Out Of 5
    Not a favorite, but still curious
    March 21, 2017
    Jamie
    Quality: 0
    Value: 0
    Meets Expectations: 0
    Its always fun to get the chance to read an authors debut novel. A new voice to the mix keeps things fresh. Thats one reason I decided to join in and review Carolyn Millers The Elusive Miss Ellison.

    While I liked the idea of this novel, with its hints of Pride and Prejudice and a Jane Austen type heroine, there were some parts that were a bit overdone for me with the characters. I think they were too much of what they were supposed to represent (if that makes sense at all). Im all about a strong and independent lead, those are my favorite but many times, instead of spirited, I thought Lavinia came across as a bit too pushy with her opinions to Nicholas. On the other hand, sometimes I wasnt sure why Nicholas didnt reach out to Lavinia. I thought as the novel went on, the interactions and development improved though.

    While this may not have been a favorite of mine, I admit, I still wanted to know how it ended and thats always a good thing. Plus, Im curious what will happen in the next two novels. Also, if you prefer stories with strong faith conversations and scenes, then this is one youll want to pick up.

    What debut are you looking forward to this year?

    (Thank you to Kregel for a copy of the book. All views expressed are my own.)

    Originally posted at http://booksandbeverages.org/2017/03/21/elusive-miss-ellison-carolyn-miller-book-review-giveaway/
  4. W Columbia, SC
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Stellar Regency Debut! (4.5 stars)
    March 20, 2017
    dianaFlow
    W Columbia, SC
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Fans of Jane Austen and Julie Klassen are sure to adore this romantic regency era novel by debut author, Carolyn Miller! Full of witty dialogue and angst-filled scenes reminiscent of the novel Pride and Prejudice, this book is certain to tug at your heart strings! I felt that the darkly handsome hero, Lord Hawkesbury, was the most discourteous man alive until the very opinionated Miss Ellison, helps him to see himself exactly for what he is -- a man filled with stubborn pride. Then he slowly grew on me...alot. I'm looking forward to reading more from this new author whose writing talent is superb!
  5. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    Pride and Prejudice Feel
    March 20, 2017
    Melissa
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    First, isn't the cover just beautiful? That alone made me want to read this book.

    So, I will be honest, it took me a couple of chapters before I liked this book. The first chapters didn't grab my mind and I was sure I wasn't going to enjoy this story. But I kept reading and I am glad I did.

    I really did enjoy this story very much. The cast of characters are all unique and the town in which it is set becomes very clear and endearing.

    It almost has a Pride and Prejudice kind of feel to it. Both Lavinia and Nicholas are so stubborn. Just when one begins to soften then something happens to make them not be able to stand each other.

    The give and take to this book was timed perfectly to push the reader forward and into the lives of these characters. I will be anxious to read the read of this series.

    A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher. All opinions are my own.
Displaying items 16-20 of 46
Page 4 of 10 First| Previous 23456 Next |Last