The Dog That Talked to God
Stock No: WW742561
The Dog That Talked to God   -     By: JP Kraus

The Dog That Talked to God

Abingdon Press / 2012 / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW742561

Buy Item Our Price$11.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 25% ($4.00)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW742561
Abingdon Press / 2012 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart
Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
eBook Our Price$8.99 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

  • Other Formats (2)
  • Others Also Purchased (1)
  • By This Author (6)
Other Formats (2)
  1. Select this Item Product Title/Author Availability Price Quantity
  2. $8.99
    In Stock
    Our Price$8.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $8.99
  3. $11.99
    In Stock
    Our Price$11.99
    Retail: $15.99
    Add To Cart
    $11.99
Others Also Purchased (1)
By This Author (6)

Product Description

What would you do if you discovered that your Schnauzer could talk? Recently widowed Mary Fassier decides to listen! But when Rufus starts sharing messages from God, she's not sure if she should follow the dog's advice. Would it be right to walk away from everything she knows and loves? A wonderfully quirky, tail-wagging read!

Product Information

Title: The Dog That Talked to God
By: JP Kraus
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 288
Vendor: Abingdon Press
Publication Date: 2012
Dimensions: 8.50 X 5.50 (inches)
Weight: 11 ounces
ISBN: 1426742568
ISBN-13: 9781426742569
Stock No: WW742561

Related Products

  1. Foundlings
    Add To Wishlist
    Matthew Harding
    Zoe and Sozo Publishing / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$14.94
    5 out of 5 stars for Foundlings. View reviews of this product. 8 Reviews
  2. Dragon Keepers Chronicles, Vols 1-5
    Add To Wishlist
    Donita K. Paul
    Penguin Random House / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$56.49 Retail Price$81.97 Save 31% ($25.48)
    5 out of 5 stars for Dragon Keepers Chronicles, Vols 1-5. View reviews of this product. 4 Reviews
  3. The Harbinger: The Ancient Mystery that Holds the Secret of America's Future
    Add To Wishlist
  4. Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1
    Add To Wishlist
    Shannon Dittemore
    Thomas Nelson / 2012 / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$7.49 Retail Price$9.99 Save 25% ($2.50)
    4.5 out of 5 stars for Angel Eyes, The Angel Eyes #1. View reviews of this product. 26 Reviews

Publisher's Description

Recently widowed Mary Fassler buys a Miniature Schnauzer, Rufus, and her world is turned sideways in the midst of her grief. It seems that Rufus speaks. And not just to her. He also talks to God. When Rufus begins sharing advice that could result in major changes, Mary gets the feeling the pooch might not be steering her in the right direction. Or, is she just afraid to take the leap and discover something she desperately needs? Only Rufus...and God...knows. "Jim Kraus has written a funny, heartfelt novel in the tradition of Garth Stein and John Grogan. For a long time dogs have been man's best friend. It only made sense one would finally come along to save our souls." - Rob Stennett author, Homemade Haunting and The Almost True Story Of Ryan Fisher "I loved this story. Quirky and unusual, this unique tale wove a spell around me and drew me in. It wasn't what I expected at all, and when I turned the last page, it left me wanting more." - Ane Mulligan, Sr. Editor of Novel Rocket "The Dog That Talked to God is a moving and powerful read, inspirational long after the last page has been turned." - New York Journal of Books

Author Bio

Jim Kraus grew up in Western Pennsylvania and is a graduate of the University of Pittsburgh. He attended the Paris-American Academy in 1971 and has spent the last twenty years as a vice-president of a major Christian publishing house. He has written more than 20 books and novels (many with his wife, Terri) including the best-selling The Dog That Talked to God (Abingdon Press, 2012). His book, The Silence, was named as one of the top five releases in 2004 by the Christian Book Review website. He is also an award-winning photographer. He and his wife and 14-year-old son live outside of Chicago with a sweet miniature schnauzer and an ill-tempered Siberian cat.

Publisher's Weekly

Stuck in her grief, 43-year-old widowed writer Mary Fassler adopts a miniature schnauzer for diversion and company. The novelist, who specializes in Amish stories, is in for a surprise when her dog, Rufus, speaks to her as they are out on a winter night’s walk, asking her if she thinks he’s fat. Even more surprising, Rufus goes on to tell her that he talks to God once a week. Rufus becomes her walking companion and adviser, his doggy logic both naïve and insightful. When a man finally enters Mary’s life, things grow complicated. This charming novel sets a slow pace in the first part, undoubtedly to convey the emotionally and spiritually frozen life Mary leads. But it’s a bit of a plod. The faith elements—Mary is angry with God over the Job-like mess in her life—are organic, though a Christian man she meets late in the book is somewhat artificial. Mary’s slow healing from loss, however, is credibly rendered. Judge this book by its cover, which features a sagacious seated schnauzer, and be charmed. (Mar.) 2012 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review