The Delusion
Buy Item $10.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 31% ($5.00)
In Stock
Stock No: WW422378
Tyndale House / 2017 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
eBook $9.89 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

The Delusion

Tyndale House / 2017 / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW422378


  • Other Formats (3)
  • Others Also Purchased (1)
Other Formats (3)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $13.99
    Retail: $22.99
    Add To Cart
    $13.99
  2. This product will be released on 02/22/19.
    $9.89
    Retail: $15.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $9.89
  3. In Stock
    $10.99
    Retail: $15.99
    Add To Cart
    $10.99
Others Also Purchased (1)

Product Description

Even though the suicide rate at Owens school has increased, he has remained level-headed, until a near death experience brings on hallucinations. Now he sees Creepers who are preying on his girlfriend and classmates. They are oblivious to these evil forces and he feels it is his duty to warn everyone and save the people he loves, whether they believe him or not.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 304
Vendor: Tyndale House
Publication Date: 2017
ISBN: 1496422376
ISBN-13: 9781496422378

Related Products

  1. The Man He Never Was
    The Man He Never Was
    James L. Rubart
    Thomas Nelson / 2018 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 31% ($5.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 20 Reviews
  2. Manacle: Some Bonds Cannot Be Broken
    Manacle: Some Bonds Cannot Be Broken
    Chris Aslan
    Lion Fiction / 2018 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 27% ($4.00)
  3. Into the Void #2
    Into the Void #2
    Joshua A. Johnston
    Enclave / 2018 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 25% ($4.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
  4. All Things Bright and Strange
    All Things Bright and Strange
    James Markert
    Thomas Nelson / 2018 / Trade Paperback
    $8.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 44% ($7.00)
    3.5 Stars Out Of 5 13 Reviews

Publisher's Description

2018 Christy Award winner!
By March of Owen Edmonds’s senior year, eleven students at Masonville High School have committed suicide. Amid the media frenzy and chaos, Owen tries to remain levelheaded—until he endures his own near-death experience and wakes to a distressing new reality.

The people around him suddenly appear to be shackled and enslaved.

Owen frantically seeks a cure for what he thinks are crazed hallucinations, but his delusions become even more sinister. An army of hideous, towering beings, unseen by anyone but Owen, are preying on his girlfriend and classmates, provoking them to self-destruction.

Owen eventually arrives at a mind-bending conclusion: he’s not imagining the evil—everyone else is blind to its reality. He must warn and rescue those he loves . . . but this proves to be no simple mission. Will he be able to convince anyone to believe him before it’s too late?

Owen’s heart-pounding journey through truth and delusion will force him to reconsider everything he believes. He both longs for and fears the answers to questions that are quickly becoming too dangerous to ignore.

Editorial Reviews

Grade 7 and up–On the surface, Owen is a typical high school student at a small-town school in Texas. He runs track, has a pretty girlfriend, and is set on starting college in a few months. Yes, it’s a little strange that he inherited a chunk of land from grandparents he never met, but it’s not that strange—not like the fact that 11 students at Masonville High have committed suicide in a single school year. Things get stranger still after Owen drinks from an old well in the woods on his property. He wakes up seeing chains and shackles wrapped around the people of Masonville, but they seem oblivious to their bindings. Hateful words like die, suffer, and rage are graffitied throughout the town, but only Owen sees them. And then there are the Creepers—hideous, demonlike creatures that Owen starts to see everywhere, playing with the emotions of the shackled. A war between good and evil is taking place in Masonville and Owen is the only one who can see the truth. This is Christian fiction with a horror twist. Only followers of Christ are somewhat immune to the Creepers, and Owen struggles with the idea that God may be real in spite of all the bad things happening around him. This isn’t an easy, instant conversion tale. The ending is slightly over the top, but sets readers up for a second book. VERDICT Recommended for libraries where teen Christian Fiction is in demand.
Gallier, a popular speaker and advocate for Christian values, captures the unseen world of sin through the eyes of high school student Owen in her debut novel. Small-town Masonville High only recently opened but has been plagued by suicides—12 and counting. The community is on edge, and on the day of the 12th suicide, Owen wanders into the woods and meets an old man pulling water from a seemingly ancient well. After drinking the well water with the man, Owen begins to see chains and chokers around the necks of many of his classmates, and even his own mother. But he also witnesses others who have no chains and seem to glow with light. His determination to understand the nature of these visions and help those whom he sees being plagued by “Creepers” brings him through a labyrinth of emotions and discoveries about himself, others, and how sinful behavior (lying, stealing, cheating) can pollute a community. In Owen, Gallier has nicely captured the mixture of naïveté and overwhelming self-awareness typical of high school students. Gallier’s impressive debut will make readers reconsider social boundaries and the negative power of judging oneself and others.
A small town is the center of a fierce spiritual battle in this debut novel. In fact, Masonville, Texas, is a veritable horror show: The local high school is plagued by an out-of-control suicide epidemic.

Living with a negligent, alcoholic mother and surrounded by friends struggling with their own issues, high school senior Owen is just trying to survive until graduation when he gains the ability to see the literal demons surrounding his classmates. Suddenly, he can see the physical chains of sin weighing down his friends and the otherworldly ghouls that plot their demise. The only people unaffected by these apparitions are the Lights, those who have accepted Christ.

Desperate to figure out why he is having these visions, Owen befriends Ray Anne, an angelic Light who encourages him to turn to God. Owen and Ray Anne must work together to stop the Enemy from launching a massive attack on their school.

The Delusion tackles a myriad of weighty, hot-button issues—teen suicide, sexual abuse, mental illness, the occult, prescription drug abuse, and promiscuity—perhaps too many to successfully handle in one book. Still, older teens and young adults who enjoy the drama of books centered on spiritual warfare may enjoy this journey.
Laura Gallier takes readers into the chillingly realistic and mysterious world of spiritual warfare, angels and demons in her debut release, The Delusion. The first-person story, told by high-school senior Owen Edmonds who knows little about anything spiritual, will capture all audiences, young and old alike.

Owens move to Masonville High School halfway through his senior year, giving him the distinction of “new guy” at school. While that was bad enough, “...that wasn’t the worst of it.” Eight high school students had committed suicide since September and soon four more would follow garnering the high school and town the headline: “Masonville Suicide Saga.”

The suicides and move had made life more difficult for Owen who already had to cope with his mother’s drinking. Still, he had earned a place on the high school’s track team, met Jess, his soon-to-be-girlfriend and was surrounded by a group of great new friends even though they couldn’t understand why he never invited them home.

When Owen unexpectedly met a weird old man in the woods behind the school who promised to tell him what was causing the suicide epidemic if Own drank water drawn from an underground water source, he did. The water had tasted normal going down and then sudden pain “hijacked his gut with the worst stomachache ever and his head throbbed!” Overwhelmed with the pain, Owens’s last fear-laden thought was “I don’t want to be number thirteen!”

Soon Owen will see chains around his mother, friends, teachers and classmate’s necks with braids that protrude from the back of their heads labeled humiliation, shame, guilt and more. He will also see other dark beings like demoniacs he identifies as Creepers and angelic beings he’s convinced are Warrior angels. Yet Owen is the only one who sees these things.

Thus begins a darkly sinister narrative of demonic activity and supernatural illusions in a fictionalized account of good versus evil with human souls as the prize.

After reading a third of The Delusion, I thought the story very dark and wondered if teens should read it. Until the introduction of Ray Anne, who has no shackles, chains or cords, who instead emits “a brilliant, golden glow” and Owen sets out to learn her secret and the story changes.

This well-drawn story elaborates on and reveals how Satan entraps people with negative feelings, experiences and behaviors. Gallier writes from a biblical perspective about a thought-provoking spiritual realm with a complex and gripping tale that carries a powerful punch. Fans of Ted Dekker and Frank Peretti will enjoy this action-packed story.

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.