1. The Defiance, hardcover, #3
    Add To Wishlist
    Laura Gallier
    Wander / 2020 / Hardcover
    Our Price$19.99 Retail Price$24.99 Save 20% ($5.00)
    5 out of 5 stars for The Defiance, hardcover, #3. View reviews of this product. 2 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    Stock No: WW433971
5 Stars Out Of 5
5 out of 5
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
Value:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-2 of 2
Page 1 of 1
  1. Faye
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: Female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Action Packed and Thrilling
    December 27, 2020
    Faye
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: Female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    The fight continues.

    Owen and Ray Anne have dealt Molek a small defeat, but he is gathering his strength again and the whole world is at stake.

    A great addition to the series, and this is definitely a series you will want to read in order as the plot draws heavily on past events and knowledge. The third in the series, and I'm not sure if more books are forthcoming or not, but if there are, I will read them. I love how the author continues to ramp it up and take each book up a notch, raising the stakes. I think that the author does a fantastic job of showing the struggles and doubts that we face even after becoming Christians, in a way that is realistic and all too true.

    I liked where this book went with the characters, and how far they have come over the overall arc of the story. Owen is focused on fighting the righteous fight, but he still struggles with distractions and strife. I liked his drive to help others, he is a hero you want to cheer for, and his flaws are all too familiar, which only makes him more compelling.

    Overall, an action packed read, compelling, with high stakes and with danger that will chill your spine with its reality. A fantastic speculative thriller, I didn't want to put it down. In some ways this book brings everything full circle, but in other ways it only opens more questions. A satisfying read, I can't wait to see what it next!

    I received a complimentary copy of this book. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.
  2. Semmie
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    The Spiritual Battle Continues
    October 22, 2020
    Semmie
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This review was written for The Defiance, softcover, #3.
    ** "There are no coincidences in spirt-realm operations on either side of the kingdom equation, light or dark." **

    ** "That's what evil does -- pinpoints our soul's deepest wound, then brutalizes it with lies." **

    Wow, just wow. That's all I can say about "The Defiance" by Laura Gallier, a story of supernatural battle on the grandest level.

    As the spiritual battle for Masonville, Texas, and the entire world continues, Owen and Ray Anne, who are both spirit-world sensors who can see hideous creatures and situations as well as heavenly beings, continue to fight the evil forces attacking their town. As the Lord of Death Molek continues to gain strength after being banished, and the seven evil Cosmic Rulers gain strength, Owen and Ray Anne race to stop another horrific event, all while being attacked on very personal levels.

    Once again, Gallier delivers an incredible supernatural novel telling the story of the very real battle of good and evil that exists in our world. She does an amazing job revealing how that good and evil could be personified, as well as the hold evil can have on us all.

    This story will totally creep you out, but yet move you to decide whose side are you on. It's filled with unthinkable darkness and sorrow, yet offers a very real hope as Owen and Ray Anne battle evil's darkest forces.

    "The Defiance" also reminds us of other themes, like to react with faith and not doubt; "stay focused on Scripture, especially the red-letter text"; evil deserves no mercy; faith is liberating; dealing with neglect and abandonment; if we call out to God, He will always answer; and if we come together to fight for good, we are an incredible power ("Seek out and band together with those chosen by God and destined to believe your account and join you in the mission. Together, the handful of you can turn this town around and overturn evil.")

    This story reminds us that God's forces -- forces for good -- are always fighting for us. "Hand-to-hand combat had it's place between Watchmen and Creepers, but apparently there were other ways to inflict damage on the kingdom of darkness. The way I now saw it, (the evil forces) had recently unleashed heightened, cosmic evil on Masonville, but heaven wasn't just sitting idly by, tolerating it. God's forces were ramping up the fight too."

    Fans of Frank Peretti or Robert Liparulo's Dreamhouse Kings series will love "The Defiance." This is definitely not a standalone novel, as I highly recommend you read the first two novels in the series to understand the plot line.

    Five stars out of five.

    Wander, an imprint of Tyndale House Publishers, provided this complimentary copy through NetGalley for my honest, unbiased review.
Displaying items 1-2 of 2
Page 1 of 1