The Debutante's Code
Stock No: WW5447136
The Debutante's Code   -     By: Erica Vetsch

The Debutante's Code

Kregel Publications / 2021 / Paperback

Buy 36 or more for $12.34 each.
In Stock
Stock No: WW5447136

Buy 36 or more for $12.34 each.

Buy Item Our Price$12.99 Retail: $16.99 Save 24% ($4.00)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW5447136
Kregel Publications / 2021 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart

or checkout with

Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart

or checkout with

Wishlist

In This Series (2)
Select this Item Product Title/Author Availability Price Quantity
$12.99
In Stock
Our Price$12.99
Retail: $16.99
Add To Cart
$12.99
$12.99
In Stock
Our Price$12.99
Retail: $16.99
Add To Cart
$12.99

Product Description

Jane Austen meets Sherlock Holmes in this new Regency mystery series
Newly returned from finishing school, Lady Juliette Thorndike is ready to debut in London society. Due to her years away, she hasn't spent much time with her parents, and sees them only as the flighty, dilettante couple the other nobles love.But when they disappear, she discovers she never really knew them at all. They've been living double lives as government spies--and they're only the latest in a long history of espionage that is the family's legacy.
Now Lady Juliette is determined to continue their work. Mentored by her uncle, she plunges into the dangerous world of spies. From the glittering ballrooms of London to the fox hunts, regattas, and soirees of country high society, she must chase down hidden clues, solve the mysterious code her parents left behind, and stay out of danger. All the while, she has to keep her endeavors a secret from her best friend and her suitors--not to mention the nosy, irritatingly handsome Bow Street runner, who suspects her of a daring theft.
Can Lady Juliette outwit her enemies and complete her parents' last mission?
Best-selling author Erica Vetsch is back with a rollicking, exciting new series destined to be a hit with Regency readers who enjoy a touch of mystery in their love stories. Fans of Julie Klassen, Sarah Ladd, and Anne Perry will love the wit, action, and romance.

Product Information

Title: The Debutante's Code
By: Erica Vetsch
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 320
Vendor: Kregel Publications
Publication Date: 2021
Dimensions: 8.5 X 5.5 (inches)
Weight: 11 ounces
ISBN: 0825447135
ISBN-13: 9780825447136
Series: Thorndike & Swann Regency Mysteries
Stock No: WW5447136

Publisher's Description

Jane Austen meets Sherlock Holmes in this new Regency mystery series

Newly returned from finishing school, Lady Juliette Thorndike is ready to debut in London society. Due to her years away, she hasn't spent much time with her parents, and sees them only as the flighty, dilettante couple the other nobles love. But when they disappear, she discovers she never really knew them at all. They've been living double lives as government spies--and they're only the latest in a long history of espionage that is the family's legacy.

Now Lady Juliette is determined to continue their work. Mentored by her uncle, she plunges into the dangerous world of spy craft. From the glittering ballrooms of London to the fox hunts, regattas, and soirees of country high society, she must chase down hidden clues, solve the mysterious code her parents left behind, and stay out of danger. All the while, she has to keep her endeavors a secret from her best friend and her suitors--not to mention nosy, irritatingly handsome Bow Street runner Daniel Swann, who suspects her of a daring theft.

Can Lady Juliette outwit her enemies and complete her parents' last mission? Or will it lead her to a terrible end?

Best-selling author Erica Vetsch is back with a rollicking, exciting new series destined to be a hit with Regency readers who enjoy a touch of mystery in their love stories. Fans of Julie Klassen, Sarah Ladd, and Anne Perry will love the wit, action, and romance.

Author Bio

Erica Vetsch is a New York Times best-selling author and ACFW Carol Award winner, and has been a Romantic Times top pick for her previous books. She loves Jesus, history, romance, and watching sports. This transplanted Kansan now makes her home in Rochester, Minnesota. Learn more about Erica at www.ericavetsch.com.

Editorial Reviews

“From its delicious title to an intriguing plot involving spies and secret codes in 19th-century England, The Debutante’s Code kicks off Erica Vetch’s new Thorndike & Swann Regency Mysteries with action, humor, and the promise of romance.” -- Julie Klassen, author of Shadows of Swanford Abbey

“Intrigue abounds in this thrilling tale of a debutante turned spy. Amidst the whirl of stolen art pieces and murder, heroine Juliette Thorndike takes on a dangerous role to break a code before the villains discover it . . . and before the swoon-worthy Officer Daniel Swann figures out she’s involved. Author Erica Vetsch once again pens a winner in The Debutante’s Code . . . a must-read for Regency and mystery lovers!” -- Michelle Griep, Christy Awardwinning author of Once Upon a Dickens Christmas

"Carefully crafted Regency mystery . . . part of an inherently fascinating new series that combines mystery and suspense with elements of Regency era elegance, decadence, adventure, and romance." -- Midwest Book Review

“Erica Vetsch has done it again, bringing the reader an exciting Regency historical romance, but this time with the twist of a delicious mystery. The Debutante’s Code is completely entertaining, with the promise of more delights to come in the rest of the Thorndike & Swann series.” -- Jan Drexler, award-winning author of Softly Blows the Bugle

“A mystery within a mystery within a mystery. Inventive!” -- Regina Scott, award-winning author

“A compelling, enchanting work of art filled with wit, danger, and clever plot twists, The Debutante’s Code kept me turning pages well into the night. A cast of richly sculpted characters, an expertly woven tapestry of mystery and intrigue, and beautifully drawn spiritual truths set against the glittering backdrop of Regency England combine to make Erica Vetsch’s latest creation a true masterpiece.” -- Amanda Wen, author of Roots of Wood and Stone

“I am a big Regency romance fan and I love what Erica Vetsch brings to this genre. The suspense on top of the lords and ladies is just excellent fun. And this one, The Debutante’s Code, is the best so far. Absolutely impossible to put down once I started.” -- Mary Connealy, best-selling author of the High Sierra Sweethearts series

“Reminiscent of Jane Austen and Arthur Conan Doyle, with a tip of the hat to Georgette Heyer, The Debutante’s Code abounds with all the elements of an unputdownable spy story—stolen art, secret codes, characters who are not all they first appear—and plenty of twists to keep readers turning pages late into the night. Erica Vetsch delivers a fast-paced and utterly riveting read set against the elegance and intrigue of Regency high society, destined to captivate longtime fans and capture the hearts of new readers. I’m eagerly anticipating Lady Juliette Thorndike and Daniel Swann’s next adventure.” -- Amanda Barratt, author of My Dearest Dietrich and The White Rose Resists

The Debutante’s Code is a delightful and fast-paced visit to the undercover world of espionage in Regency England. Vetsch offers all that we love about her writing in this twisting story: historical details, compelling characters, and an intriguing plot. This is the first in a fascinating new series, and I did not want it to end! I’m thrilled to know we will continue this journey with Lady Juliette Thorndike and Detective Daniel Swann in the next installment.” -- Gabrielle Meyer, author of When the Day Comes

The Debutante’s Code is alive with Erica Vetsch’s hallmark romance and impeccable research, and some of my favorite catnip to boot! A strong and whip-smart heroine, Juliette Thorndike, already stands out in a society of fox hunts and regattas, but when she learns of a fascinating family secret, she is determined to live out the espionage and adventure in her blood. Thrown together with the dashing Daniel Swann, Juliette is cast into a world of The Bow Street Runners, mysterious clues, and danger—all brilliantly spun in Vetsch’s strong Regency-authentic voice. The Sanditon and Bridgerton–loving crowd will fall hard for this delightful heroine and dashing hero and the ease with which they appropriate the London ton on their pursuit of growing attraction and twisting and turning adventure. I look forward to many more installments in this exciting new series. Erica Vetsch is at the top of her game!” -- Rachel McMillan, author of The London Restoration and The Mozart Code

"Vetsch kicks off her Thorndike and Swann Regency Mysteries with a propulsive tale about a family of spies. . . [Juliette and Daniel’s] slow-burning romance comes together naturally as they navigate the glamorous world of debutantes. Fans of Jen Turano will delight in this pleasing mystery and eagerly await the second installment." -- Publishers Weekly

Ask a Question

Author/Artist Review