The Dark Tower
Buy Item $8.79 Retail: $13.99 Save 37% ($5.20)
In Stock
Stock No: WW643537
HarperOne / 2017 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $8.99 eBook Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart


Wishlist

The Dark Tower

HarperOne / 2017 / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW643537


  • Other Formats (2)
Other Formats (2)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $8.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $8.99
  2. In Stock
    $8.79
    Retail: $13.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.79

Product Description

This signature book is a repackaged edition of the futuristic collection of short stories by C.S. Lewis published after his death. The works include his longtime fascination with reality and spirituality. Many pieces are unfinished yet provide great wisdom about the nature of reality.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 240
Vendor: HarperOne
Publication Date: 2017
Dimensions: 7.17 X 4.71 (inches)
ISBN: 0062643533
ISBN-13: 9780062643537

Related Products

  1. Interfinity #2
    Interfinity #2
    Bryan Davis
    Scrub Jay Journeys / 2017 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $12.99 Save 23% ($3.00)
  2. Till We Have Faces
    Till We Have Faces
    C.S. Lewis
    HarperOne / 2017 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 38% ($6.00)
  3. Recruits
    Recruits
    Thomas Locke
    Revell / 2017 / Trade Paperback
    $7.99 Retail: $12.99 Save 38% ($5.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 7 Reviews
  4. Fatal Convergence #3
    Fatal Convergence #3
    Bryan Davis
    Scrub Jay Journeys / 2017 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $12.99 Save 23% ($3.00)

Publisher's Description

A repackaged edition of the revered author’s definitive collection of short fiction, which explores enduring spiritual and science fiction themes such as space, time, reality, fantasy, God, and the fate of humankind.

From C.S. Lewis—the great British writer, scholar, lay theologian, broadcaster, Christian apologist, and author of Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, The Great Divorce, The Chronicles of Narnia, and many other beloved classics—comes a collection of his dazzling short fiction.

This collection of futuristic fiction includes a breathtaking science fiction story written early in his career in which Cambridge intellectuals witness the breach of space-time through a chronoscope—a telescope that looks not just into another world, but into another time.

As powerful, inventive, and profound as his theological and philosophical works, The Dark Tower reveals another side of Lewis’s creative mind and his longtime fascination with reality and spirituality. It is ideal reading for fans of J. R. R. Tolkien, Lewis’s longtime friend and colleague.

Author Bio

Clive Staples Lewis (1898-1963) was one of the intellectual giants of the twentieth century and arguably one of the most influential writers of his day. He was a Fellow and Tutor in English Literature at Oxford University until 1954, when he was unanimously elected to the Chair of Medieval and Renaissance Literature at Cambridge University, a position he held until his retirement. He wrote more than thirty books, allowing him to reach a vast audience, and his works continue to attract thousands of new readers every year. His most distinguished and popular accomplishments include Out of the Silent Planet, The Great Divorce, The Screwtape Letters, and the universally acknowledged classics The Chronicles of Narnia. To date, the Narnia books have sold over 100 million copies and have been transformed into three major motion pictures.

Clive Staples Lewis (1898-1963) fue uno de los intelectuales más importantes del siglo veinte y podría decirse que fue el escritor cristiano más influyente de su tiempo. Fue profesor particular de literatura inglesa y miembro de la junta de gobierno en la Universidad Oxford hasta 1954, cuando fue nombrado profesor de literatura medieval y renacentista en la Universidad Cambridge, cargo que desempeñó hasta que se jubiló. Sus contribuciones a la crítica literaria, literatura infantil, literatura fantástica y teología popular le trajeron fama y aclamación a nivel internacional. C. S. Lewis escribió más de treinta libros, lo cual le permitió alcanzar una enorme audiencia, y sus obras aún atraen a miles de nuevos lectores cada año. Sus más distinguidas y populares obras incluyen Las Crónicas de Narnia, Los Cuatro Amores, Cartas del Diablo a Su Sobrino y Mero Cristianismo.

Product Reviews

3.5 Stars Out Of 5
3.5 out of 5
(0)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4 out Of 5
(4 out of 5)
Value:
3 out Of 5
(3 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
2 out Of 5
(2 out of 5)
0%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-2 of 2
Page 1 of 1
  1. Joel@
    3 Stars Out Of 5
    Some doubts about Lewis' Authorship of The Dark Tower
    April 3, 2017
    Joel@
    Quality: 4
    Value: 3
    Meets Expectations: 2
    Though incomplete, the Dark Tower is a fascinating story snippet that fits in nicely with the Lewis space trilogy. But there's plenty of controversy as to whether this is REALY Lewis's work. Kathryn Lindskoog and several other leading Lewis scholars claim that it is not. (just do a search for "C. S. Lewis really write The Dark Tower" and you'll find links and references to papers, etc.).
  2. Anthony Shuler
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    May 30, 2009
    Anthony Shuler
    This review was written for The Dark Tower and Other Stories.
    This book contains several short fictions and two books that Lewis never finished. Most of the short fictions were great with one exception which was vile and unchristian. Of the two books unfinished: one was quite boring and the other, The Dark Tower, was superb and I wish Lewis would have finished it. It would have certainly been one of the greatest books he ever wrote.
Displaying items 1-2 of 2
Page 1 of 1

Ask Christianbook

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.