The Color of Lies
The Color of Lies  -     By: CJ Lyons
Buy Item $8.49 Retail: $10.99 Save 23% ($2.50)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW76533X
Zondervan / 2019 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart
Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
eBook $7.99 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

The Color of Lies

Zondervan / 2019 / Paperback

Buy 48 or more for $8.07 each.
In Stock
Stock No: WW76533X


  • Other Formats (4)
  • Others Also Purchased (1)
Other Formats (4)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. $9.49
    In Stock
    $9.49
    Retail: $17.99
    Add To Cart
    +
    $9.49
  2. $7.99
    In Stock
    $7.99
    Add To Cart
    +
    0
    $7.99
  3. $8.49
    In Stock
    $8.49
    Retail: $10.99
    Add To Cart
    +
    $8.49
  4. $6.79
    In Stock
    $6.79
    Retail: $10.99
    Add To Cart
    +
    $6.79
Others Also Purchased (1)

Product Description

High school senior Ella Cleary has always been good at reading people. Her family has a rare medical condition called synesthesia that scrambles the senses---her Gram Helen sees every sound, and her uncle Joe can literally taste words. Ella's own synesthesia manifests itself as the ability to see colors that reveal people's true emotions, until she meets a guy she just can't read.

Alec is a mystery to Ella, a handsome, enigmatic young journalist who makes her feel normal for the first time in her life. That is, until he reveals the real reason why he sought her out-he wants to learn the truth behind her parents' deaths, the parents that Ella had always been told died in a fire. Alec turns Ella's world upside down when he tells her their deaths were definitely not an accident. After learning her entire life has been a lie, Ella doesn't know who she can trust or even who she really is. With her adoptive family keeping secrets and the evidence mixing fact and fiction, the only way for Ella to learn the truth about her past is to find a killer. Softcover edition.

Product Information

Title: The Color of Lies
By: CJ Lyons
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 336
Vendor: Zondervan
Publication Date: 2019
Dimensions: 8.40 X 5.50 (inches)
Weight: 9 ounces
ISBN: 0310765331
ISBN-13: 9780310765332
Ages: 13-18
Stock No: WW76533X

Publisher's Description

A gripping young adult suspense novel drenched in color, mystery, and lies. New York Times and USA Today bestselling author CJ Lyons grabs you and won’t let go, keeping you guessing until the very last page of The Color of Lies.

When you can see emotions in color, motives become black and white. Even murder.

Ella Cleary has always had an eye for the truth. She has synesthesia, which means she is able to read people via the waves of colors that surround them. Her unique gift has led her to trust very few people outside her family since her parents died in a fire. So when a handsome young journalist appears with no colors surrounding him at all, her senses go on high alert.

But while Alec is a mystery, Ella feels a connection to him she can’t ignore. Something about him feels familiar, and she is able to talk with him in ways she can’t with anyone else. Then just as feelings develop between them, Alec drops a bombshell: he believes her parents’ deaths were no accident. And she may be in more danger than she’s ever realized.

Soon Ella doesn’t know who she can trust or even who she really is. As family secrets begin to unravel and fact and fiction collide, it becomes clear that the only way for Ella to learn the truth about her past is to find a killer.

The Color of Lies:

  • YA suspense with themes of mystery, romance, and friendship
  • By New York Times and USA Today bestselling thriller writer CJ Lyons, whose adult suspense novels have sold over 2 million copies in print and digital
  • Features a protagonist with synesthesia, which can allow people to see sounds, taste words, or feel sensations on their skin associated with certain scents
  • Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Karen M. McManus, and Jennifer Brown

Author Bio

Pediatric ER doctor turned New York Times bestselling thriller writer CJ Lyons has been a storyteller all her life—something that landed her in many time-outs as a kid. She writes her Thrillers with Heart for the same reason that she became a doctor: because she believes we each have the power to change our world. 

 

In the ER she witnessed many acts of courage by her patients and their families, learning that heroes truly are born every day. When not writing, she can be found walking the beaches near her Lowcountry home, listening to the voices in her head and plotting new and devious ways to create mayhem for her characters. 

 

To learn more about her Thrillers with Heart go to www.CJLyons.net

Editorial Reviews

The Color of Lies by CJ Lyons is an intriguing exploration of the world of a family of synesthetes, and one young woman in particular. Ella Cleary, like most of her family on her mother's side, has a form of synesthesia. This is a unique condition where two or more of the senses become cross-wired. It manifests differently for each of them. Ella picks up emotion as color. When Alec Ravanell approaches Ella for help with a project, she encounters a person not affected by her particular gift. Without seeing his colors, she feels like she's trying to parse a foreign language. Alec does need Ella's help, but not in the way she thinks. He doesn't need a graphic designer, but an interview with Ella herself regarding her parents' deaths. Ella was told it was an accident, but Alec claims it was murder. It throws her world into turmoil. Which story is correct? And why can't she sense Alec? Adding to her inner conflict is worry over being unable to sense him, and wanting to be around him because it's what she imagines being normal is like. I really enjoyed this read. The mystery part was exciting, but what fascinated me most was the exploration of synesthesia and how the characters would function differently given their unique manifestation of it. I feel the author researched this in-depth or she knows several synesthetes. The writing drew me in. Chapters sometimes switched perspectives, but each chapter is prefaced with the name of the person it follows, so there is no confusion. I loved the two main characters. I empathized with Ella being torn between family expectations for college and following her dream. I loved how awkward Ella and Alec are around one another at first. Not only did I enjoy reading about Ella's interactions with her world, but I wanted to know all about the mystery as well.
'A tight and engaging mystery with well-defined characters make this excellent choice for libraries serving teens.' -- SLJ/star review

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×
Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.