1. The Candidate
    The Candidate
    Lis Wiehl, Sebastian Stuart
    Thomas Nelson / 2016 / Hardcover
    $9.99 Retail: $26.99 Save 63% ($17.00)
    3.5 Stars Out Of 5 18 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    Stock No: WW037680
3.7 Stars Out Of 5
3.7 out of 5
(5)
(7)
(2)
(3)
(1)
Quality:
2.9 out Of 5
(2.9 out of 5)
Value:
2.7 out Of 5
(2.7 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
2.8 out Of 5
(2.8 out of 5)
83%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 18
Page 1 of 4 1234 Next
  1. Norfolk, NE
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Much better than the first
    March 28, 2017
    Shai
    Norfolk, NE
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    The Candidate by Lis Weihl and Sebastian Stuart is book two in the Newsmakers Series. The story was fast-paced and intriguing. I must admit, I wasnt a huge fan of the first book in the series and was apprehensive about reading the second but it was very well done and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The present tense writing is a little strange for me and at times, distracting, but I found the story to be compelling and interesting.

    Erica Sparks is a brave woman unwilling to go down without a fight. Shes determined to figure out what makes the presidential candidate so strange. Digging deeper into the mans past, Erica finds herself entangled in Ancient Chinese brainwashing techniques and powers that stretch around the globe.

    The Candidate is a fascinating read and I would absolutely recommend it. I received this book from the Fiction Guild and Thomas Nelson Publishers and have provided my honest opinion of the book here.

  2. 2 Stars Out Of 5
    Wouldn't consider this Christian Fiction
    March 5, 2017
    Michelle K
    Quality: 0
    Value: 0
    Meets Expectations: 0
    I didn't enjoy the first book of this series and I don't know why I bothered reading this one. While the plot was interesting, it was difficult for me to get through. I didn't really care about most of the characters because of the fact that I'm fed up with both politicians and the media. The story is told using the third person present tense, which I found annoying to read. I was also disappointed to see the romance that began in the previous book didn't develop in this story.

    Plot: In the middle of a hot Presidential race, journalist Erica Sparks begins to grow suspicious that there's more to one of the candidates than what meets the eye. Something just seems off with his interview. When another potential candidate is brutally killed right in front of Erica, her curiosity won't let her stop digging for the truth. Erica's quest may put her in extreme danger, but if she stops, they win.

    Content: While this book is from a Christian publisher, I'd consider it more for the general market. There wasn't any mention of God and although the author doesn't go into too much detail, a couple of the female characters are apparently in a relationship.

    Recommendation: I can't say I'd recommend this book to anyone. If you enjoy political thrillers, this book does have a good storyline and some interesting twists. I will not be reading any more from this author.

    Rating: 2/5 stars

    I received a copy of this book from the Thomas Nelson Fiction Guild. This review is my honest opinion.
  3. Berea, Ky
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: male
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Book Review: The Candidate by Lis Wiehl
    January 4, 2017
    Josh Phelps
    Berea, Ky
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 4
    It has been no secret that I have loved every book that I have read by Lis Wiehl, so when The Candidate: A Newsmakers Novel came up I had to read it. This is the second book in her Newmakes series following the life of Erica Sparks, a cable new host. This book follows the elections and considering the election that we just went through, I must say I was intrigued to see how this one played out.

    This book follows the journey of a presidential race but when things take a wrong turn during the primaries, Erica has to figure out what is going on and how far would someone go to control the presidency. There is the lovable candidate that seems destined for the White House, but something is off, what is it? Through the many twists and turns I found myself enthralled with this novel where I couldnt put it down at times. There were a few things that were predictable however and that would be my biggest problem with this book.

    I recommend that you start with the first book in the series to learn the characters, otherwise you might find them a bit shallow. Overall this is a good read and I would recommend it to anyone who likes mysteries.

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. The opinions here are my own.
  4. Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    newsmakers series
    December 26, 2016
    beckie
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 0
    Value: 0
    Meets Expectations: 0
    This review was written for The Candidate - eBook.
    "The Candidate" by Lis Wiehl is the second in the Newsmakers series that came out this fall. Erica Sparks is the top news reporter for fictional station GNN. She's a single mother with a "past" and has a knack for solving the unsolvable and reporting it to the masses. In this novel, the Ortiz's are running for president, yes that was plural. Mike Ortiz is the man officially running for office and his wife Celeste is running the show. Nothing gets by her or in her way. When a bomb goes off killing the competition, Sparks smells something fishy and is off to investigate. Putting herself and child in danger while she is at it.

    Though I probably like this series the least of Wiehl's books, it is still a really good book. I haven't read the first in the series and I highly recommend it. At times the reader may not be able to follow "The Candidate" unless you read the first, but it isn't entirely mandatory. There are lots of twist and turns and it is a lot of fun to try to figure it out before Sparks does. I received this book in exchange for an honest review from www.booklookbloggers.com
  5. Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    A Timely Political Thriller
    December 26, 2016
    Semmie
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    ** Isolation. Sensory deprivation. Fear. Indoctrination. Love. **

    Lis Wiehl continues the story of top-ranked TV newscaster Erica Sparks in The Candidate, a timely novel with its presidential election theme.

    As Erica begins covering the life of democratic nominee Sen. Mike Ortiz, she beings to suspect that not all is as it seems. Sensing a strange relationship between Ortiz and his wife, Celeste, Erica begins to dig into his American hero story of being captured by and then escaping from an al-Qaeda hostage and torture situation.

    As she digs deeper into the situation, and tries to figure out why Ortiz at times almost seems brainwashed, more and more dangerous and fatal situations occur to those close to Erica. She must decide how far she, herself, is willing to go to get to the root of the story.

    The Candidate is a fast-paced political thriller filled with intriguing characters, bombings, espionage, murder and treason. Wiehl, with support from fellow author Sebastian Stuart, does a great job of moving the storyline along, and keeping readers guessing as to how each event is connected and who is responsible. Fans of Vince Flynn, Joel C. Rosenberg, David Baldacci or even Mary Higgins Clark will enjoy this book.

    The novel also does delve into some issues we all struggle with, like insecurity, trust, determination and sacrifice.

    Wiehls latest novel could definitely be read as a standalone, although it does refer to plot lines in the first book so Id recommend reading it too. I will say I actually liked The Candidate better than the series first installment. Sometimes the sequel can be better!

    Five stars out of five.

    Thomas Nelson provided this complimentary copy for my honest, unbiased review.
Displaying items 1-5 of 18
Page 1 of 4 1234 Next