It Takes a Village Idiot: A Memoir of Life After the City  -     By: Jim Mullen
Buy Item InStock15.26$15.26 Retail: $16.95 Save 10% ($1.69) Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist

It Takes a Village Idiot: A Memoir of Life After the City

Simon & Schuster / 2002 / Paperback

$15.26 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $16.95
|
Save 10% ($1.69)
In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW218795

Black Friday Again
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA.
* This product is not available for expedited shipping.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 224
Vendor: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: 2002
Dimensions: 8.53 X 5.49 X 0.55 (inches)
ISBN: 0743218795
ISBN-13: 9780743218795

Publisher's Description

Finalist for the 2001 Thurber Prize for American Humor a Rocky Mountain News (Denver) Best Book of the Year
Millions of people dream of abandoning the city routine for a simple country life. Jim Mullen was not one of them. He loved his Manhattan existence: parties, openings, movie screenings. He could walk to hundreds of restaurants, waste entire afternoons at the Film Forum, people-watch from his window. Then, one day, calamity.
His wife quits smoking and buys a weekend house in the Catskill Mountains of upstate New York -- in a tiny town diametrically opposed to Manhattan in every way. Slowly, however, the man who once boasted, "Life is just a cab away," begins to warm to the place -- manure and compost and strangers who wave and all -- and to embrace the kind of life that once gave him the shakes.

Author Bio

Jim Mullen writes the "Hot Sheet" column for Entertainment Weekly and has also written for The New York Times, New York magazine, and The Village Voice.

Editorial Reviews

The Dallas Morning News Whether you spend your summer sipping lemonade on a porch swing or gripping a cuppa Joe on the subway, take this book along....Lighthearted and poignant.
Scott C. Yates Rocky Mountain News (Denver) A terrific blend of self-deprecating humor and trenchant observations about the funny side of life on both sides of the great urban-rural divide. Fans of Steve Martin or Dave Barry will love it.
Jonathan Yardley The Washington Post Book World Mullen is even funnier here [than in his Entertainment Weekly column].

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search