Current Promotions  
  1. Still Life
    Still Life
    Dani Pettrey
    Bethany House / 2017 / Hardcover
    $32.49
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 60 Reviews
4.7 Stars Out Of 5
4.7 out of 5
(42)
(15)
(3)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.1 out Of 5
(4.1 out of 5)
Value:
4.2 out Of 5
(4.2 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.1 out Of 5
(4.1 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 56-60 of 60
Page 12 of 12 First| Previous 89101112
  1. Middleburg, FL
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Reviews From A Man's Perspective
    January 19, 2017
    Rick
    Middleburg, FL
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This review was written for Still Life #2.
    The Holidays with family are behind us and now I get to spend time with another group of people that Ive come to enjoy. Sit back (actually hold on) as Dani Pettrey brings us another explosive story from the Chesapeake Valor series.

    Avery is running. Running from a great job for fear of getting too close to Parker. Running from a scandal but not far enough to leave her dreams behind. Now she finds a photograph of her only friend and it doesnt appear that her friend is alive. Needing assistance to track down her friend, Avery reaches out to Parker as the only person she can trust. The trail to find Skylar is one of dips and curves, red herrings and surprises. Declan and Griffin join the hunt, can they find her in time? No sense in waiting, go BUY THIS BOOK!

    Is this a "Guys Book"? Most certainly. Anytime you have a group of macho guys, youll going to have a great book to read. Car chases and never ending clues always bring me joy when I read a book. The hint of romance in this book should remind us guys that there is a softer side to life, too. Its all about the balance.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  2. California
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    An amazing read
    January 18, 2017
    Sarah O
    California
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This review was written for Still Life #2.
    Avery has moved on from working for Parker, she knew she could not stay knowing she could never ever be part of Parker's life without being with him. When her best friend goes missing and it seems no one will listen she reaches out to Parker she knows he will help, or at least she hopes he will.

    Parker know one thing is for certain he has to get Avery back in his life, but he wonders if he is being fair to Jenna's honor. Can he find love again? When she reaches out to help find her friend he knows he needs his friends help to find whats going on. Will they be able to get to the bottom to all of this or will more end up missing or dead?

    My favorite crime fighting team is BACK!!!! This story is very different from the first book in the first book you have one murder and a few possible killers and a reason why, it this book you have two cases that the team is working together to figure out. One of the stories is a little dark and a little twisted (this being the main story). The second one seems a little cut in dry but it also seems like they are missing something in both cases. Seriously could not get enough of this book, it was on the edge of your seat and I needed to know what happened. I also felt at one point I thought I knew what was going to happen and nope the author through a wrench into it and oh wow. The storyline was so amazingly written and so remarkable I can not wait to read more. You really can not go wrong with series. If you have never read anything by Dani Pettrey she is easily compared to Dee Henderson or Terri Blackstock.
  3. Nashville, TN
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    For Fans of "Criminal Minds" and Fans of Realistic Suspense
    January 14, 2017
    Suzie
    Nashville, TN
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This review was written for Still Life #2.
    One reason I love Dani Pettreys books is that she doesnt leave readers wondering whats going on with the supporting characters. While each book if primarily focused on the relationship between one hero and heroine, readers get points of view from a few othersboth from previous books in her series or we get glimpses into the characters who will have a starring role in upcoming books.

    Still Life is no exception to this. We met most of the gang in Cold Shot (while each book is stand alone, I highly recommend reading the Chesapeake Valor series in order to get a better understanding of the friendships, history, and relationships of everyone). A group of friends who work in different areas of law enforcement, each doing their part to put the bad guys away.

    Readers met Parker Mitchell, a criminal investigator, and his crime scene photographer, Avery Tate. Jump forward several month and Avery is living with her decision to leave Parkers employ. But when her best friend misses an important appearance and she cant be found, Avery turns to the people she trusts most to find answersParker and friends.

    As the group delves into an investigation with more twists and turns than a roller coaster, theyre determined to find Averys friend. With more possible suspects thrown at them as they go along and definitely more than one crime committed, untangling the truth is a task that will take all of their resources. Add to that another threat that pulls Declan away (hopefully well read more about this in the third book in the seriesdue out in October), and this one is a page-turner that makes it hard to step away from until the final page.

    Disclosure statement:

    I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including Netgalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

  4. Clover, SC
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Fantastic!
    January 6, 2017
    Susan
    Clover, SC
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This review was written for Still Life #2.
    From Dani Pettrey's very first book, I knew this was an author I wanted to follow and my opinion has only been reinforced with each new book she writes. This is the second in her 'Chesapeake Valor' series and it's just tremendous.

    Avery Tate has been blacklisted in the photography business over a controversial shot when she answered an ad for a crime scene photographer. Crime scene analyst Parker Mitchell hired her and it was a turning point in her life. Six months ago, however, her strong feelings for Parker caused her to leave his employ to sort our her heart. Now, Avery is facing the world that rejected her to attend a gallery opening of a photography exhibit and to support her best friend, who has modeled for the show. But...the only image of her friend is a chilling photo of her as if dead...and the photographer insists he didn't take the shot. And now, her friend is missing. She immediately calls Parker for help. She, Parker and his friends in law enforcement dig into the mystery and find themselves face to face with a relentless and deadly threat.

    There is more than one crime going on in this story, a fact which makes this ride even more thrilling. We meet other members of the team that we saw in the last book, which I just loved. I also am trying to guess which member will be the focus of the next book!

    Dani Pettrey knows what she's doing. Her characters are very well developed, the entire cast of them, and the reader feels a huge part of the story. She has even created secondary characters that, sometimes, the reader just can't stand. She's good at what she does, let me tell you.

    Pettrey deftly weaves layer up on layer of suspense, careening down the path rapidly to a conclusion that is both satisfying and thrilling, with a culprit you never would guess. Her spiritual message is powerful as well. The reader can glean deep truths from her books.

    I thoroughly enjoyed every single minute and now I look forward to what Dani Pettrey has for her readers next.

    * I was given a preview copy of this book. My review is honest and my opinions my own.
  5. Harrison, AR
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Creepy suspense
    December 14, 2016
    Debbie from ChristFocus
    Harrison, AR
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This review was written for Still Life #2.
    "Still Life" is a Christian romantic suspense novel. It's the second book in a series. It can be read as a stand-alone novel, but there are two ongoing cases that continue to be investigated throughout the series and much of the background for these cases was in the first novel. This book had two cases, and one was related to an ongoing case.

    The characters were complex and dealt with realistic struggles. Avery struggled with her unsavory past, especially as she was the one who got her best friend started in a life of crime. Parker struggled with the idea that loving another woman would dishonor the memory of his first love (who was murdered years ago).

    The suspense came from not knowing if Avery's friend was still alive, then from danger to Avery. One of their suspects was a sick-minded fellow who photographed women in a way that made them look as if they're dead. Though not gory, I'll have a hard time getting his creepy work out of my mind.

    The characters prayed to God to help them with the case and to help let go of guilt over the past. There was no sex or bad language. Overall, I'd recommend this novel.

    I received an ebook review copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.
Displaying items 56-60 of 60
Page 12 of 12 First| Previous 89101112