Spaceman (Adapted for Young Readers): The True Story of a Young Boy's Journey to Becoming an Astronaut
Stock No: WW3120866
Spaceman (Adapted for Young Readers): The True Story of a Young Boy's Journey to Becoming an Astronaut  -     By: Mike Massimino

Spaceman (Adapted for Young Readers): The True Story of a Young Boy's Journey to Becoming an Astronaut

Delacorte Books for Young Readers / 2020 / Hardcover

In Stock
Stock No: WW3120866

Buy Item Our Price$9.49 Retail: $17.99 Save 47% ($8.50)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW3120866
Delacorte Books for Young Readers / 2020 / Hardcover
Quantity:

Add To Cart
Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

Other Formats (2)
Select this Item Product Title/Author Availability Price Quantity
$9.49
In Stock
Our Price$9.49
Retail: $17.99
Add To Cart
$9.49
$7.19
In Stock
Our Price$7.19
Retail: $7.99
Add To Cart
$7.19
Others Also Purchased (1)

Product Information

Title: Spaceman (Adapted for Young Readers): The True Story of a Young Boy's Journey to Becoming an Astronaut
By: Mike Massimino
Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 288
Vendor: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: 2020
Dimensions: 8 1/4 X 5 1/2 (inches)
Weight: 14 ounces
ISBN: 0593120868
ISBN-13: 9780593120866
Ages: 9-12
Stock No: WW3120866
  1. The Astronaut With a Song for the Stars
    Julia Finley Mosca
    Innovation Press / 2019 / Hardcover
    Our Price$13.49 Retail Price$17.99 Save 25% ($4.50)
  2. DK Readers, Level 2: Astronaut: Living in Space
    Deborah Lock
    DK / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    Our Price$4.99
  3. Reaching for the Stars: The Inspiring Story of a Migrant Farmworker Turned Astronaut - eBookThis product is an eBook
  4. Astronaut Handbook
    Meghan McCarthy
    Random House / 2008 / Hardcover
    Our Price$17.99

Publisher's Description

An astronaut who completed spacewalks on two Hubble missions tells his inspiring story in this middle grade adaptation of his bestselling adult memoir, Spaceman: An Astronaut's Unlikely Journey to Unlock the Secrets of the Universe. Fans of The Right Stuff and Apollo 13 will be thrilled by this astronaut's real life adventure.

From the time he was seven-years-old and saw Apollo 11 land on the moon, Mike Massimino dreamed of becoming an astronaut. Long Island is a long way from space. Kids like him, growing up in working-class families, seldom left the neighborhood. But with the encouragement of teachers and mentors, Mike ventured down on a path that took him to Columbia University and to MIT. It wasn't easy. There were academic setbacks and disappointments aplenty--and NASA turned him down three times. Still, Mike never gave up. He rose to each challenge and forged ahead, inching closer to realizing his boyhood dream. His love of science and space, along with his indomitable spirit and sense of teamwork eventually got him assigned to two missions to fix the Hubble Space Telescope--as a spacewalker.

Spaceman takes readers on Mike's unlikely ride from Earth to space, showing the breathtaking wonder of science and technology along the way.

"Mike Massimino is a spaceman through and through. In this edition for young people, he tells us how hard work can take you out of this world. He believes in teamwork, and he never gives up. Prepare to be inspired." --BILL NYE, SCIENCE GUY and CEO, THE PLANETARY SOCIETY

Author Bio

MIKE MASSIMINO served as a NASA astronaut from 1996 to 2014. A veteran of two space flights to the Hubble Space Telescope, Mike and his crews set team records for spacewalking time, and he became the first person to tweet from space. He has played himself on the CBS sitcom The Big Bang Theory, was featured in the IMAX film Hubble 3D, and has appeared frequently in television documentaries and on late-night talk shows and news programs. A graduate of Columbia University and MIT, Mike lives in New York City, where he is a professor at Columbia and an advisor at the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum. Visit him online at MikeMassimino.com and follow @Astro_Mike on Twitter and @astromikemassimino on Instagram.

Editorial Reviews

"Mike Massimino is a spaceman through and through. In this edition for young people, he tells us how hard work can take you out of this world. He believes in teamwork, and he never gives up. Prepare to be inspired." --BILL NYE, Science Guy and CEO, The Planetary Society

"A grand, inspiring, sometimes hilarious ride." –Kirkus Reviews

"From his childhood days peering up at the sky to his struggles to find his life’s calling, Massimino’s story will inspire many kids." –School Library Journal

"An inspirational guide for young people on their own life journeys." –Booklist

Ask a Question

Author/Artist Review