Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family
Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes  Everyone Feel Like Family  -     By: Christy Jordan
Buy Item $26.99 Retail: $29.99 Save 10% ($3.00)
In Stock
Stock No: WW991017
William Morrow & Company / 2010 / Hardcover
Quantity:

Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart


Wishlist

Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family

William Morrow & Company / 2010 / Hardcover

In Stock
Stock No: WW991017


Product Close-up
This product is not available for expedited shipping.
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA.

Product Description

My name is Christy Jordan and I like to feed people.

I come from a long line of Southern cooks who taught me home cooking is best, life is good, and there is always something to be grateful for. I created Southern Plate so that I could share the recipes and stories that have been passed down through my family for more than nine generations.

You won't find fancy food or new-fangled recipes in this cookbook-just easy, no-fuss Southern favorites such as Chicken and Dumplings, Homemade Banana Pudding, Aunt Looney's Macaroni Salad, Fried Green Tomatoes, and Daddy's Rise-and-Shine Biscuits. (I want to make one thing as clear as possible: How your mama made it is the right way! I'm going to bring it to you how my mama made it, which is the only right way for me.)

These stories and recipes come from my heart. They are a gift from my ancestors, but the ability to have them heard is a gift from you. Take a seat at the Southern Plate table; you're with family now.

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 272
Vendor: William Morrow & Company
Publication Date: 2010
Dimensions: 9.3 X 7.6 X 1.0 (inches)
ISBN: 0061991015
ISBN-13: 9780061991011

Publisher's Description

“The recipes in Southern Plate made my mouth water!...This wonderful cookbook made me feel like I was reading something of my own.”
—Paula Deen, author of Paula Deen’s Savannah Style

 

“I’ve been testing these recipes in my own kitchen and every single one turns out to be better than anything my grandmother ever made.”
—Dorothea Benton Frank, author of Return to Sullivans Island and Lowcountry Summer

 

Christy Jordan, the creator of SouthernPlate.com, serves up a collection of delicious recipes for “classic comfort foods that makes everyone feel like family.” Featuring scrumptious dishes passed down for generations through Jordan’s family, Southern Plate highlights the very best in southern cooking—for fans of Paula Deen and Ree Drummond’s The Pioneer Woman Cooks.

Author Bio

Christy Jordan's unique way of sharing classic Southern dishes, along with her heartfelt stories, has drawn more than 43 million visitors to Southern Plate since it started in 2008. Jordan is the mother of two and lives with her husband in north Alabama, where her family has resided for more than nine generations.

Editorial Reviews

“The recipes in Southern Plate made my mouth water! I have never heard of any other school serving peanut butter balls, except for mine—and that was forty-five years ago! This wonderful cookbook made me feel like I was reading something of my own.”
“I’ve been testing these recipes in my own kitchen and every single one turns out to be better than anything my Grandmother ever made. Don’t just buy this terrific book, use it!”
“Alabama native Christy Jordan brings Southern hospitality to the next level—it’s no wonder she has such a huge following. I could practically smell the blackberry cobbler baking in the kitchen while thumbing through the pages of this delightful cookbook. Make room at your table Paula Deen, here comes Christy Jordan.”

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.