Small Walt
Small Walt  -     By: Elizabeth Verdick
Buy Item $16.19 Retail: $17.99 Save 10% ($1.80)
In Stock
Stock No: WW1448451
Paula Wiseman Books / 2017 / Hardcover
Quantity:

Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

Small Walt

Paula Wiseman Books / 2017 / Hardcover

In Stock
Stock No: WW1448451


Product Close-up
This product is not available for expedited shipping.
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA.
  • Companion Products (1)
  • Others Also Purchased (1)
Companion Products (1)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. Children Books
  2. This product will be released on 10/30/18.
    $16.19
    Retail: $17.99
    Add To Cart
    $16.19
Others Also Purchased (1)

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 40
Vendor: Paula Wiseman Books
Publication Date: 2017
Dimensions: 9.00 X 9.00 X 0.50 (inches)
ISBN: 1481448455
ISBN-13: 9781481448451
Ages: 4-8

Publisher's Description

"It’s a perfect book for revving up small helpers to pitch in with the shoveling."—The Wall Street Journal

"Charming and endearing." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"The grit of The Little Engine that Could, the nostalgic illustrations of Katy and the Big Snow, and a touch of modernity from an accomplished author and illustrator, combine to become Small Walt." —School Library Journal

A tiny snowplow determined to prove his worth battles a blizzard in this supremely charming story in the tradition of Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel and The Little Engine that Could.

My name is Walt,
I plow and I salt.
They say I’m small,
but I’ll show them all.


Small Walt and his driver, Gus, take on a blizzard! All the bigger snowplows doubt that Walt has what it takes to plow the roads in the storm, but Walt is determined to prove them wrong.

Brimming with onomatopoeia and Walt’s affirming chants, this sweet picture book shows that when it comes to strength, size doesn’t matter. Bestselling illustrator Marc Rosenthal’s wintry scenes make this book the perfect cozy read-aloud.

Author Bio

Elizabeth Verdick has written more than thirty books for toddlers to teens. She collaborated with Marc Rosenthal on Small Walt, which Kirkus Reviews called "reminiscent of Virginia Burton’s classics" in a starred review, and its sequel, Small Walt and Mo the Tow. She is a graduate of the Hamline University MFA and lives in Woodbury, Minnesota. Learn more at elizabethverdick.com. Marc Rosenthal is the New York Times bestselling illustrator of many books for children, including Small Walt by Elizabeth Verdick; I Must Have BoboI’ll Save You Bobo, and Bobo the Sailor Man, all by Eileen Rosenthal; The Straight Line Wonder by Mem Fox; and Phooey, which he wrote. Marc’s illustrations can be seen regularly in The New Yorker, Time, Forbes, Fortune, The Atlantic, The New York TimesThe Boston Globe, The Washington Post, and others. Visit him online at Marc-Rosenthal.com.

Editorial Reviews

The smallest in a fleet of snowplows always gets picked last in a snowstorm, but he and his driver, Gus, show that teamwork and perseverance pay off. Artwork reminiscent of Virginia Burton's classics begins with a double-page spread of eight snowplows—eyes and eyebrows on their windshields—facing out in front of a tall fence. . . . Charming and endearing: "ChuggaMmmm-hmmm!"
After a blizzard hits, it looks as though Walt, "the smallest snowplow in the fleet," will be left behind in the parking lot, unable to keep up with bigger plows. Then along comes Gus, a worker who knows that Walt is up for the job. Verdick (Peep Leap) assumes a chummy tone in her concise narration and keeps the storytelling taut. There’s just enough vehicular geekiness for aficionados: Gus goes through a four-point checklist to make sure that Walt is in good working order, and there are sound effects throughout. But what gives the story its verve is Rosenthal’s digitally colored pencil artwork, which has a matter-of-fact open-heartedness and a compelling sense of place that recalls the stories of Virginia Lee Burton. Yes, Walt wins the respect of the big machines, but what feels more important is the relationship between snowplow and driver. When the story concludes with Gus tying his blue scarf around Walt’s rearview mirror, declaring "A blue ribbon for my buddy," readers will know their bond is the real thing.

 
After a blizzard hits, it looks as though Walt, "the smallest snowplow in the fleet," will be left behind in the parking lot, unable to keep up with bigger plows. Then along comes Gus, a worker who knows that Walt is up for the job. Verdick (Peep Leap) assumes a chummy tone in her concise narration and keeps the storytelling taut. There’s just enough vehicular geekiness for aficionados: Gus goes through a four-point checklist to make sure that Walt is in good working order, and there are sound effects throughout. But what gives the story its verve is Rosenthal’s digitally colored pencil artwork, which has a matter-of-fact open-heartedness and a compelling sense of place that recalls the stories of Virginia Lee Burton. Yes, Walt wins the respect of the big machines, but what feels more important is the relationship between snowplow and driver. When the story concludes with Gus tying his blue scarf around Walt’s rearview mirror, declaring "A blue ribbon for my buddy," readers will know their bond is the real thing.

 
The grit of the Little Engine that Could, the nostalgic illustrations of Katy and the Big Snow, and a touch of modernity from an accomplished author and illustrator, combine to become Small Walt. . . . The timeless messages that little people can do big things, one should never give up, and teamwork works best are pervasive throughout. . . . A warm and fuzzy dose of positive thinking perfect for seasonal storytimes and snow days.
Yes, picture books featuring personified trucks abound, but libraries should make room for this one, too. It’s really the story of a little guy who gets a tough job done, and little children will root for him all the way.
Older-than-dirt adult readers will be reminded of Katy the snowplow from Virginia Lee Burton’s Katy and the Big Snow, and indeed Rosenthal’s art channels Burton in its coziness. . . . This will make a fine bedtime story for a snowy night, reassuring listeners that heroes of all stripes are out there keeping the community safe.

 
A heroic snowplow braves a blizzard in SMALL WALT, a picture book about persistence that brings to mind the Little Engine That Could. In Elizabeth Verdick’s lively telling and Marc Rosenthal’s subtly retro pictures, Walt is a mall red snowplow in a row of powerful yellow monsters. As snow falls from the night sky, Walt is the last to get a driver, but he cheers up when the man check hims over and runs him through his paces. Soon Walt is churning through the snow: "My name is Walt. / I plow and I salt. / They say I’m small, / but I’ll show them all." It’s a perfect book for revving up small helpers to pitch in with the shoveling.

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.