The Signet Classic Book of Mark Twain's Short Stories - eBook  -     Edited By: Justin Kaplan
    By: Mark Twain
Buy Item InStock1.99$1.99 Add To Cart

Add To Wishlist

The Signet Classic Book of Mark Twain's Short Stories - eBook

Edited By: Justin Kaplan
Signet / 2006 / ePub

$1.99 (CBD Price)
In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW46875EB

New Cyber Deals
* This product is available for purchase only in the USA.

Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: Signet
Publication Date: 2006
ISBN: 9781101099933
ISBN-13: 9781101099933

Publisher's Description

For nearly two decades before Mark Twain published his finest novel, Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, he was refining his craft and winning tremendous popularity with his short stories and sketches. This richly entertaining and comprehensive collection presents sixty-five of the very best of Mark Twain’s short pieces, from the classic frontier sketch "The Notorious Jumping Frog of Calaveras County" to the richly imaginative fable "Extract from Captain Stormfield’s Visit to Heaven." Compiled by Pulitzer Prize–winning Twain scholar and biographer, Justin Kaplan, this collection represents some of Mark Twain’s wittiest and most insightful writing.

From the Paperback edition.

Author Bio

Mark Twain was born Samuel Langhorne Clemens in Florida, Missouri, in 1835, and died in Redding, Connecticut in 1910. Although he left school at twelve when his father died, he was eventually awarded honorary degrees from Yale University, the University of Missouri, and Oxford University. His career encompassed such varied occupations as printer, Mississippi riverboat pilot, journalist, travel writer, and publisher. He made fortunes from his writing, but toward the end of his life he went bankrupt and undertook a round-the-world lecture tour in order to pay off his creditors. He lives in American letters as one of our greatest humorists and novelists, the writer whom William Dean Howells called "the Lincoln of our literature."
Justin Kaplan is the author of Mr. Clemens and Mark Twain, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award; Mark Twain and His World; Lincoln Steffens; and Walt Whitman: A Life. In 1985, he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters. His final book was When the Astors Owned New York. He died in 2014.
Debbie Macomber’s first book was published by Silhouette in 1982, and today she has more than seventy million books in print. Among her many New York Times bestselling titles are A Good Yarn, The Shop on Blossom Street, 44 Cranberry Point, a Quill Book Award winner, and Mr. Miracle.

From the Paperback edition.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook


Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search