1. Serving Up Love 4-in-1: A Harvey House Brides Collection
    Add To Wishlist
    Serving Up Love 4-in-1: A Harvey House Brides Collection
    Tracie Peterson, Karen Witemeyer, Regina Jennings, Jen Turano
    Bethany House / 2019 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 38% ($6.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 18 Reviews
4.6 Stars Out Of 5
4.6 out of 5
(11)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.9 out Of 5
(4.9 out of 5)
Value:
4.8 out Of 5
(4.8 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 18
Page 1 of 4 1234 Next
  1. Nashville, TN
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Fantastic Novella Collection That Will Be Re-Read Many Times
    November 18, 2019
    Suzie
    Nashville, TN
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    Humor, romance, and a whole lot of Harvey House history pack the pages of Serving Up Love. The novellas in this collection are from four of my favorite authors and I thoroughly enjoyed each one.



    From New Mexico to Texas to Kansas to the Grand Canyon, the women who worked for Fred Harvey along the railroad took pride in their positions. I knew very little about Harvey Houses so the history in each of these stories was fresh.

    Fans of Karen Witemeyer and Jen Turano will recognize the women in More Than a Pretty Face and A Grand Encounter. And here's hoping Regina Jennings has plans for Calista, who makes an appearance in Intrigue a La Mode, will be starring in a future book. Tracie Peterson not only introduces the Harvey House traditions but gives readers a small history of the now defunct New Mexico town.

    This collection was an absolute delight to read and one I'm sure I will be sitting down with again and again.

    Disclosure statement:

    I receive complimentary books from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including NetGalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
  2. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    Charming novella collection
    November 18, 2019
    Pooh Bear
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    Serving Up Love is a delightful collection of novellas by some of my favorite authors. I've read books by all of these authors before and loved them, so I was quite sure I'd enjoy these stories. I wasn't disappointed. Although the stories were short, they were full of action, history, romance, with a dash of inspiration. The characters were colorful and endearing, and I was fascinated by the historical tidbits I picked up about the Harvey House Girls and the part they played in the history of the United States. I'd heard of the Harvey Houses before, but wasn't very familiar with them, the people they employed, or the services they offered to train travelers.

    The authors did a great job of making the collection feel cohesive, yet unique. I'd recommend it to those who enjoy historical fiction novellas. I'm looking forward to more books from these excellent authors.

    I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy from Bethany House. All opinions are my own.
  3. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    .
    November 17, 2019
    JenGalaxy4 Christian Book Reviews
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 3
    A Flood of Love by Tracie Peterson

    This was the first time I'd read anything by Tracie Peterson and I'm so glad I did! I was impressed by her rich, historical details. A Flood of Love features an adorably precocious kid, lots of action and a lovely second-chance romance! I felt this story was a bit rushed, especially in the middle, but I was happy with the sweet ending!

    More Than a Pretty Face by Karen Witemeyer

    I was one of Rosalind's biggest fans when I first met her in More Than Words Can Say and I'm so happy to see how her story turned out! Caleb was a stand-up guy and I enjoyed watching their relationship grow! Caleb and Rosalind's somewhat nerdy personalities were so adorable! This novella shares that mistakes from the past can be overcome with grace and love. Very enjoyable!!

    Intrigue a la Mode by Regina Jennings

    A mystery, a busboy in disguise and a sweet romance? Yes, please! I really enjoyed this charming story! The characters were vivid and the plot perfectly paced. Willow and Graham were a joy to root for! Also, I would love for Willow's cousin Calista to have her own story! I won't say why because of spoilers, but I would love to follow her around a little bit more!

    A Grand Encounter by Jen Turano

    Jen's signature style shines through and is just as clever in short form as a full-length novel! You can always count on her stories to have the best pep talks, supportive (and often meddling!) examples of strong male friendships, and the best "save the day" rescue scenes! This story was so much fun! Jack and Myrtle were a delightfully awkward pair! I think you'll enjoy them, too!

    This book was a lot of fun! I found all of the details about the history of the Harvey House brand quite interesting! I'm super happy to recommend this collection to fans of these talented authors or for anyone looking to try their work for the first time! All four stories are excellent works of Christian historical fiction and will be enjoyed for years to come!

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from author Regina Jennings and Bethany House Publishers. A positive review was not required. All opinions expressed are completely my own.
  4. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    Wonderful collection about Harvey House girls
    November 17, 2019
    Andrea
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    A Flood of Love by Tracie Peterson

    Gretchen is back in San Marcial, not that she wanted to be. Filling in as housemother and waitress, she comforts herself with only being there a couple weeks. Meeting Katiann is delightful, but Dirk brings up things long since buried. Great story about the bustling railroad town, and I also enjoyed the historical snippet the author shared at the end of the story. This is set solely in San Marcial Texas.

    More Than a Pretty Face by Karen Witemeyer

    Rosalind has worked for Harvey House for 5 years and is looking to head west to California. Instead, she's been transferred to Santa Fe. Caleb is a lawyer with a mother who has someone of high class for him to marry. He's settled his sights lower than she'd like. A story that draws you in quickly, with Rosalind being seen in a previous series set, and a nice addition with Caleb, Callie, Hank and a few others. Engaging story that will leave you with a sigh at the end.

    Intrigue a la Mode by Regina Jennings

    Willow works hard to keep the expectations of Harvey House, and be able to send money to her family. Graham, decides it's time to play busboy to investigate some strange happenings on the railroad and find out why this Harvey House in Emporia is having troubles keeping employees. Smitten with Willow right away, along with him forgetting he can't talk his normal way keep him more in the spotlight than he wants. Great story, with these characters being rounded out by Etta Mae, Mrs. Skyes, Marlowe, Calista and Willow's family.

    A Grand Encounter by Jen Turano

    Myrtle left New York high society after a broken engagement and wound up in El Tovar Harvey House in Arizona. Jack has been dining there for months, and is rather taken with her. Thing is, he's never really talked to her. His brother tries to speed things along. In typical fashion for this author, we have chuckles coming up quickly as these two start getting to know each other. They are joined by delightful supporting characters in Walter, Ruthanne, Opal, as well as Myrtle's youngest sister and parents. Set primarily at El Tovar, we get a quick glimpse of Chicago and Newport as well.
  5. Age: 55-65
    Gender: Female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Serving Up Love: A Four-in-One Harvey House Brides Collection
    November 16, 2019
    Linda
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: Female
    Serving Up Love contains four stand alone novellas, written by four different authors, set in four separate Harvey Houses. Each story is about a Harvey Girl finding love.

    Tracie Peterson's "A Flood of Love" reunites Gretchen Gottsacker and Dirk Martinez in 1929 San Marcial, New Mexico. The night before he was going to propose, Dirk was called away on a family emergency, not having time to explain or even say goodbye. Gretchen left New Mexico heartbroken and became a Harvey Girl. Ten years later, Gretchen returns to fill in for the vacationing house mother and discovers Dirk is back too.

    I liked this classic love story and Katieann was a delightful addition. The historical facts about the town were very interesting but heartbreaking.

    Karen Witemeyer's "More Than a Pretty Face" attracts Rosalind Kemp and Caleb Durrington in 1902 Gainesville, Texas.

    This is the conclusion to the series, A Patchwork Family, and, since I have not read the prior one, I am going to come back to this story.

    Regina Jennings's "Intrigue a la Mode" brings together Willow Kentworth and Graham Buchanan in 1898 Emporia, Kansas. Willow becomes a Harvey Girl to help with her mother's doctor bills. Graham, son of the railroad owner, goes undercover as a busboy to investigate smuggling in the train cars. Thrown together because of their jobs, Willow ends up involved in Graham's plan.

    This prequel to the upcoming series, The Joplin Chronicles, was a sweet romance that also contained a mystery to solve. I am looking forward to learning more about this new venture.

    Jen Turano's "Grand Encounters" introduces Myrtle Schermerhorn and Jack Daggett in 1908 Grand Canyon, Arizona. After Myrtle's longtime suitor announces he is marrying someone else, she leaves her old life behind to become a Harvey Girl. Jack's business brings him to the Harvey House frequently. Instantly smitten, Jack begins sitting in Myrtle's section, trying to work up the courage to ask if he can court her.

    I liked the characters and humorous moments in this story; however, I felt the formality of it slowed down the reading. It also contained a lot of repetition.

    This book was well written and edited, making it a very enjoyable read. This was my first time reading about the Harvey Houses and the detailed descriptions were fascinating and informative. I would recommend it to all historical readers.

    I received a free copy of this book. I volunteered to read it and write a review.
Displaying items 1-5 of 18
Page 1 of 4 1234 Next