1. Scattered Petals, Texas Dreams Series #2 - eBookeBOOK
    Scattered Petals, Texas Dreams Series #2 - eBook
    Amanda Cabot
    Revell / 2010 / ePub
    $4.89 Retail: $6.99 Save 30% ($2.10)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 25 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    Stock No: WW4292EB
4.6 Stars Out Of 5
4.6 out of 5
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Displaying items 16-20 of 25
Page 4 of 5 Previous 12345 Next
  1. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    March 26, 2010
    Diane A. Brown - The Reader's Cove
    This review was written for Scattered Petals, Texas Dreams Series #2.
    Happiness..Perspective or ProvidenceAmanda Cabot delivers another enthralling tale set on the 1856 Texas frontier. The characters, beset by emotional and physical struggles are pulled in multiple directions. The descriptive writing is excellent and easily visualized. The story line is twisted, fascinating to see unfold. Priscilla Morton longed for adventure. When she convinces her parents to make a cross country journey to attend a wedding, she is filled with excitement. When the destination is finally reached, the consequences leave her devastated, distraught, and determined to never marry.Her dreams destroyed her emotions in turmoil, and her trust shattered it appears all hope is lost. Will she find peace? Will her faith sustain her? Only time will tell.Scattered Petals is a harsh reminder of the old west and a glimpse at second chances.
  2. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    March 25, 2010
    Andrea Schultz
    This review was written for Scattered Petals, Texas Dreams Series #2.
    The main character in this book, set in 1856 (five years before the U.S. Civil War), is Priscilla Morton. Born in Boston, she and her parents are headed out to Texas to attend the wedding of her brother-in-law, Clay Canfield, who had been married to her sister Patience, whod died the year before. On the way there, their stagecoach was robbed by three brothers, and her parents were tragically murdered. Priscilla was brutalized by one of the men; handsome Texas Ranger Lawrence Wood came upon the scene, rescued her, and took her to Clays ranch on his hardy steed. Priscilla immediately takes to Clays fiance, Sarah, and her little sister Thea. It was quite a comfort to her after her unfortunate loss. Lack of forgiveness for self is a prominent theme in this book. Priscilla is angry at herself for strongly encouraging her parents to take on the adventure of venturing out to Texas for Clays wedding; what an unexpected outcome. Another character in the book who struggles with this same thing is Zach Webster, who works with Clay on the ranch. Zach has learned how to forgive others; it takes him a long time to forgive himself.Ultimately, there is a lot of healing and love that takes place in this book. All of the characters accepted the forgiveness that comes from God.This book is the second in the Texas Dreams series; Paper Roses is the first book. This book stands on its own; there is not necessary to read Paper Roses first. In fact, Amanda states on her website: My pet peeves include books where I feel like an outsider because I havent read them in the order they were written, so Ive made sure youll enjoy the second and third stories even if you havent read Paper Roses. I do agree and appreciate that sentiment!Amanda lives in Cheyenne, Wyoming with her husband.This book was provided to me by Revell for review purposes.
  3. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    March 22, 2010
    Margaret Chind
    This review was written for Scattered Petals, Texas Dreams Series #2.
    What a beautiful cover this book has, and an appropriate one at that with beauty and sadness of expression. Scattered Petals is the sequel and second book in a trilogy starting with Paper Roses, yet could easily be appreciated on it's own merit as a stand alone. Bringing together two very different yet painful pasts God uses different characters to allow healing and hope for a future. This story gives a great deal of visual insight into the mind of a madman as well as a hint of depression and pain. Through out the pages healing is found in ways unexpected and love and happiness is entirely possible.This is a truly heart rending novel and every page fills you with the good and bad of life, all encompassing the will of God through out and especially in the end. I do recommend it. I look forward for the end of the trilogy in the spring of 2011 as well as other titles from author Amanda Cabot to come.
  4. 3 Stars Out Of 5
    March 20, 2010
    This review was written for Scattered Petals, Texas Dreams Series #2.
    Very well written love story. Amanda Cabot did an excellent job of bringing to life the characters in this book. One can not help but feel the stomach-churning pain of young Prischilla Morton, or the agony of the weight of unforgiveness that has bound Zach Webster. There are so many twist and turns that the reader is on an emotional roller coaster. However, throughout the book is the thread that Gods hand is always there. He never leaves nor forsakes his precious children. Although our circumstances may shatter our hopes and dreams or our own sins may imprison us in the unforgiveness of ourselves the God of redemption stands ready to make things right. He takes that which is shattered and restores it , that which is bound and sets it free, that which is broken and mends it. His thoughts are of peace and a certain end even when we can not see it. Through a journey of discovery these two see that God has a desired end and it is good all things truly do happen for a reason to bring us around to Gods certain end.Thank you Revell a division of Baker Publishing House for providing a free review copy of this book.
  5. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    March 19, 2010
    Edwina Cowgill
    This review was written for Scattered Petals, Texas Dreams Series #2.
    History comes alive in Scattered Petals, Amanda Cabots second book in the Texas Dreams series. It is apparent that Ms. Cabot did extensive research to make this historical romance period-related. And she succeeded. You are transposed to the year 1856 and you can visualize the beautiful hill country of Texas. You are there on the ranches and in the small towns.Characters come alive in Scattered Petals. There is such a great depth of emotion, tragedy and pain, but also happiness and joy that you come to know these people as well as you know your own family.Faith comes alive in Scattered Petals. Through the tragedy and pain comes questions and doubt. But faith in God overcomes all. Isnt that a lesson we need to learn, sometimes?I was so into the story line and characters, I truly hated to see the end of the book! I plan to order Paper Roses, the first book of the Texas Dream Series, and Ill be sure to watch for the third book of the series.
Displaying items 16-20 of 25
Page 4 of 5 Previous 12345 Next