Sarah, Plain and Tall, Hardcover
Stock No: WW241012
Sarah, Plain and Tall, Hardcover   -     By: Patricia MacLachlan

Sarah, Plain and Tall, Hardcover

HarperCollins / 1985 / Hardcover

Buy 60 or more for $11.87 each.
In Stock
Stock No: WW241012

Buy Item Our Price$12.49 Retail: $16.99 Save 26% ($4.50)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW241012
HarperCollins / 1985 / Hardcover
Quantity:

Add To Cart

or checkout with

Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart

or checkout with

Wishlist

Other Formats (1)
Select this Item Product Title/Author Availability Price Quantity
Our Price
Retail:
Others Also Purchased (1)

Product Description

Caleb doesn't remember Mama, who died a day after he was born. But his older sister, Anna, says papa and Mama sang "every-single-day." Now papa doesn't sing at all. Papa places an ad in the newspaper for a wife and he receives an answer from a woman named Sarah, who lives in Maine. Caleb wants to know if Sarah snores. Anna wants to know if Sarah can braid hair and make stew and - most important of all- if she sings. Sarah writes, "I will come by train. I will wear a yellow bonnet. I am plain and tall." And so Caleb, Anna, and Papa wait. Sarah comes in the spring with her cat, whom she calls Seal because she is gray like the seals that swim in the sea near her home. Everyone hopes she will stay. But Sarah misses the sea, her brother, and the "three old aunts who all squawk together like crows at dawn." When Sarah takes the wagon to town alone, Caleb and Anna worry. What happens tells much about happiness and hope, and what it is that makes a family. Recommended for ages 8 to 12. The 1986 Newbery Medal winner.

Product Information

Title: Sarah, Plain and Tall, Hardcover
By: Patricia MacLachlan
Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 58
Vendor: HarperCollins
Publication Date: 1985
Dimensions: 8.33 X 5.65 X 0.46 (inches)
Weight: 8 ounces
ISBN: 0060241012
ISBN-13: 9780060241018
Ages: 8-12
Stock No: WW241012

Publisher's Description

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language, and it's a strong choice for independent reading. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss, and love. 

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.

Author Bio

Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless novels for young readers, including Newbery Medal winner Sarah, Plain and Tall; Word After Word After Word; Kindred Souls; The Truth of Me; The Poet’s Dog; and My Father’s Words. She is also the author of countless beloved picture books, a number of which she cowrote with her daughter, Emily. She lives in Williamsburg, Massachusetts.

Ask a Question

Author/Artist Review