4.8 Stars Out Of 5
4.8 out of 5
(17)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.4 out Of 5
(4.4 out of 5)
Value:
4.4 out Of 5
(4.4 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 20
Page 1 of 4 1234 Next
  1. The 'Christian-Flash'
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    MAGNIFICENT 'english/latin' edition of THE HOLY BIBLE: Douay-Rheims Version [English language text]; Clementine Vulgate Version [Latin language text].
    August 9, 2020
    The 'Christian-Flash'
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Greetings:

    And a superscription also was written over him in letters of Greek, and Latin, and Hebrew, THIS IS THE KING OF THE JEWS. (Luke 23:38 [King James Version].)

    In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. (John 1:1 [King James Version].)

    I find and interpret these two verses as 'key' to understanding the Christian Scriptures as truly being 'the Holy Word of God'.

    In my Bible collection for the Hebrew language (in the Protestant tradition as to what 'constitutes' the canon of Holy Scripture), I have the 'Hebrew language only text' edition published by THE BIBLE SOCIETY IN ISRAEL [ISBN 0-564-00009-4 (Old Testament section) and ISBN 0-564-02225-4 (New Testament Section)].

    In my Bible collection for the Greek language (in the Eastern Orthodox tradition as to what 'constitutes' the canon of Holy Scripture), I have for the Old Testament the English-Greek 'side-by-side' edition of THE SEPTUAGINT WITH APOCRYPHA [ISBN 978-0-913573-44-0 (HENDRICKSON BIBLE PUBLISHERS)]. For the New Testament I have produced at TYNDALE HOUSE & CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS the 'Greek language only text' edition of 'The GREEK NEW TESTAMENT' [ISBN-13: 978-1-4335-5856-6 and/or ISBN-10: 1-4335-5856-4].

    AND NOW.....in my Bible collection for the Latin language (in the Roman Catholic tradition as to what 'constitutes' the canon of Holy Scripture), I have the English-Latin 'side-by-side' edition of THE HOLY BIBLE [Douay-Rheims Version] with the BIBLIA SACRA [Juxta Vulgatam Clementinam (Clementine Latin Vulgate)] as published by BARONIUS PRESS Ltd (ISBN 978-1-905574-44-5)].

    'Folks'.....fellow Christians....."verily verily I say unto thee," this English-Latin 'side-by-side' edition of the Bible is a 'publishing triumph'. In all honesty.....'in my opinion' this volume 'measures up' in every way, comparing favorably to the best 'high-end' Bibles offered by CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS for example!

    The 'page-signatures' are superbly 'smyth-sewn'. The 'gold-gilting' on the pages reflects light like 'burnished brass'!!! The 'texture' of the deep black 'French Morocco leather' which covers the 'hard-boards' is 'simply sumptuous'. The gold imprinting on the front cover and spine of the book is beautiful for sure! The font size is 'comfortable' on my eyes when I wear my 'prescription glasses' for reading. The deep black ink of the printing 'contrasts' very well with the 'off-white/ultra-smooth' Bible paper of the volume. Plus.....those two 'satin ribbon markers' (one 'coal black'.....the other one 'golden yellow') are also 'very nice'! And last.....but not least, I enthusiastically must mention the 'marbled burgundy-wine colored' end papers which enhance the design of this book as a 'finishing touch' for this gorgeous Bible. For all of you 'serious' Bible collectors 'out there'.....this one is a 'must have'.

    To reiterate and underscore what I said at the beginning of this review, ".....The soldiers also mocked him, coming up and offering him vinegar, and saying, "If you are the King of the Jews, save yourself!" There was also an inscription over him in letters of Greek and Latin and Hebrew, "This is the King of the Jews....." (Luke 23: 36-38 ['original' Revised Standard Version].)

    Blessings,

    The 'Christian-Flash'.

  2. Ignis
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    good bible
    June 5, 2019
    Ignis
    Quality: 5
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 5
    this copy of English-Latin bible is good and desirable. however, i would strongly suggest the publisher to produce a smaller and portable copy, with only Latin texts.
  3. zelie
    3 Stars Out Of 5
    Could be better.
    December 31, 2018
    zelie
    Quality: 2
    Value: 3
    Meets Expectations: 2
    It's a beautiful and lovely Bible and I'm very pleased with the contents on the pages, however I've found the binding and actual construction of the book itself to be a bit shoddy. It is definitely overpriced considering there's a few problems with the way that it was put together, I don't know if I just got a bad copy or what, but I am a little disappointed considering the price.
  4. computron
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Douay Rheims/The Latin Vulgate
    May 30, 2017
    computron
    Quality: 0
    Value: 0
    Meets Expectations: 0
    My favorite version of the Bible !!! Im working on my Latin. So having both versions side by side is a great tool for learning. And the historical significance of The Latin Vulgate adds the greatness of this Bible. i love the leather cover. seems very strong and sturdy. The way its laid out and the size of the print. I highly recommend this version of the Bible. Especially the historical aspect of it. I love history and especially Christian history. The early Church fathers and saints make for very interesting and inspiring read !!! Pax and May Iesus bless you and your family.
  5. Jose
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Beautiful Bible
    September 22, 2016
    Jose
    Quality: 5
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This a very beautiful Bible. A bit high on price, but worth it. I love collecting Bibles and this is definitely a very nice one to add.
Displaying items 1-5 of 20
Page 1 of 4 1234 Next