Penny and Her Marble
Illustrated By: Kevin Henkes
Penny and Her Marble  -     By: Kevin Henkes
    Illustrated By: Kevin Henkes
Buy Item $4.49 Retail: $4.99 Save 10% ($0.50)
In Stock
Stock No: WW082053
HarperCollins / 2013 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

Penny and Her Marble

Illustrated By: Kevin Henkes
HarperCollins / 2013 / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW082053


Product Close-up
This product is not available for expedited shipping.
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA.
  • Other Formats (2)
  • Others Also Purchased (1)
Other Formats (2)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $11.69
    Retail: $12.99
    Add To Cart
    $11.69
  2. In Stock
    $4.49
    Retail: $4.99
    Add To Cart
    $4.49
Others Also Purchased (1)

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 48
Vendor: HarperCollins
Publication Date: 2013
ISBN: 0062082051
ISBN-13: 9780062082053
Ages: 4-6
Series: I Can Read!

Related Products

  1. Lilly's Big Day
    Lilly's Big Day
    Kevin Henkes
    HarperCollins / 2014 / Trade Paperback
    $3.49 Retail: $6.99 Save 50% ($3.50)

Publisher's Description

In the third easy-to-read book about Penny the mouse, written by Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes, Penny finds a beautiful marble on her neighbor's lawn and must decide whether or not to keep it. With age-appropriate vocabulary, compelling characters, and a memorable storyline, Penny and her Marble is just right for beginning readers and was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children's author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss.

Kevin Henkes is known for his mouse characters, including Lilly, Owen, Chrysanthemum, Wemberly, and now Penny! In Penny and her Marble, the third book in the Penny series, Penny finds a marble on Mrs. Goodwin's yard and takes it home. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

Author Bio

Kevin Henkes has been praised both as a writer and as an illustrator. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten’s First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors—one for Olive’s Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller—and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include Egg, Old Bear, A Good Day, Chrysanthemum, and the beloved Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin. www.kevinhenkes.com

Kevin Henkes has been praised both as a writer and as an illustrator. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten’s First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors—one for Olive’s Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller—and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include Egg, Old Bear, A Good Day, Chrysanthemum, and the beloved Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin. www.kevinhenkes.com

Editorial Reviews

“Perfect for beginning readers. A treasure.”
“Henkes continues to plumb the emotional world of childhood as few author/illustrators can. . . . Another gem.”
“Impeccable. . . . Respect for the beginning reader’s emerging skills beautifully matches Henkes’s respect for Penny .”
“Splendid . . . Henkes so completely understands the minds of small children. . . . His vivacious panels always seem to burst with springtime. It’s hard to imagine anything ever going too wrong in one of his sensitive, generous portrayals. Everything here ends just right.”
“Henkes ups the emotional stakes in his third book starring Penny.”
“Henkes conveys shades of emotions that are common to human experience, yet hard to express in words. It’s particularly impressive that he can do so in a book for beginning readers. . . . This small-scale, yet immensely satisfying drama is a fine addition to the Penny series.”
Praise for Penny and Her Song: “Henkes strikes all the right notes. . . . Language, art, characterization, and plot are all executed, like Penny’s song, beautifully.”
“The text . . . is perfect for new readers, and Henkes’s familiar artwork has its share of warm moments. This early reader captures the way families make memories at unexpected moments. Welcome Penny to the cast.”
“Much as he did in Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, Henkes presents an irrepressible heroine who struggles to compromise.”
“Carefully sequenced panels, expressive lines and gentle pastels lead the reader to the story’s joyous resolution.”

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.