Young People's Literature CBA Winner

  1. 2024 Christian Book Award® Winner

2024 Winner

It's the 10th century BC and Jonathan's on his way to an assembly of all Israel, where God will choose a king! He hopes it'll be someone from their tribe---but Jonathan's in for a shock. Morgan's dramatic retelling follows the intertwined stories of Saul, Jonathan, David, and Michal from 1 and 2 Samuel. 288 pages, softcover from The Good Book.

Finalists

A house full of paintings, a missing sister, and a family secret send a boy and his cousin into a world where art is the key in this fantasy adventure perfect for fans of The Wingfeather Saga and Pages & Co.


After an experience he’d rather forget, Vincent is determined to be done with art. So when he and his little sister, Lili, spend spring break with their art conservator great-uncle, Vincent’s plan is to stay glued to his phone.
That is, until Lili disappears into one of the world’s most famous paintings and Vincent learns his parents have been hiding something from him: Their family is the last of The Restorationists, a secret society with the power to travel through paintings—and a duty to protect them from evil forces.
With Lili’s safety on the line, leaving art behind is no longer an option. Vincent must team up with his know-it-all second-cousin Georgia, wrestle with why his parents lied to him, and confront both his past and a future he never wanted. Young readers are invited into a captivating universe where paintings become a portal—and adventure and danger lurk beyond every canvas. 304 pages. Ages 8-12

In Her Story, Her Strength: 50 God-Empowered Women of the Bible, Sarah Parker Rubio offers an inspiring collection of stories about 50 women of the Bible for young girls ages 8-12. She uses biblical retellings and beautiful illustrations to empower tween girls to live and love like God does, showing them their worth, identity, and place in the world and church. 

When 11-year-old Sierra's military mom returns from overseas, her PTSD battles send them into homelessness. When they land in a shelter, Sierra struggles with being the brand-new poor kid at school, uncertainties about her mom's emotional health, and redefining what home means. With the love of the couple who run the shelter, can she find hope? 224 pages, softcover from B&H.

Send your kids on a 90-day journey to the moon! In these insightful devotions, Lusko uses biblical teaching and eye-opening surprises about outer space to help children handle issues like loneliness, peer pressure, and negative emotions; see how our universe fits together; and learn from courageous people, including Buzz Aldrin, Neil Armstrong, and Katherine Johnson. 192 pages, hardcover from Nelson.

The Treasure: Ancient Story Ever New of Jesus and His Church by Marty Machowski, Follow the adventures of Mira and Theos who discover a sea captain's personal journal which offers clues to a hidden treasure. In order to solve the riddle of the treasure, they must study two ancient scrolls, the Gospel of Like and the Book of Acts. Readers will journey with the siblings as they solve their puzzle and discover the captain's treasure-Christ! Hardcover, 256 pages. Recommended for ages 8 to 12 years old.