Once on This Island
Buy Item $5.49 Retail: $6.99 Save 21% ($1.50)
In Stock
Stock No: WW406199
HarperCollins / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart


Wishlist

Once on This Island

HarperCollins / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW406199


Product Description

War has started between England and the United States. Young Mary O'Shea is left all alone to tend to the farm and watch over her sister Angelique when her father is called off to fight in the mainland. With courage and quick cleverness they are able to outsmart British soldiers, tolerate 2 harsh winters, and are able to keep the farm in one piece.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 192
Vendor: HarperCollins
Dimensions: 7 X 5 (inches)
ISBN: 0064406199
ISBN-13: 9780064406192
Ages: 9-13

Related Products

  1. Hannah
    Hannah
    Gloria Whelan
    Random House / 2005 / Trade Paperback
    $3.99 Retail: $4.99 Save 20% ($1.00)
  2. A Time to Keep Silent
    A Time to Keep Silent
    Gloria Whelan
    Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. / Trade Paperback
    $7.20 Retail: $8.00 Save 10% ($0.80)

Publisher's Description

From the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird comes a gripping historical novel about a young girl during the British-American War of 1812.

When war erupts between England and America, it brings change and uncertainty, even to Michigan's remote Mackinac Island.  For young Mary O'Shea, the hardest change is the departure of her father, who leaves Mackinac to join the American Army. With her sister and brother, Mary must tend the farm, deal with the hardships of British occupation, and hope for the safe return of their father.

With her trademark lyricism, spare prose, and strong young heroine, award-winning author Gloria Whelan has once again taken a chapter from history and transformed it into gripping, accessible historical fiction that is perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

Author Bio

Gloria Whelan is the bestselling author of many novels for young readers, including Homeless Bird, winner of the National Book Award; Fruitlands: Louisa May Alcott Made Perfect; Angel on the Square; Burying the Sun; Once on This Island, winner of the Great Lakes Book Award; and Return to the Island. She lives in the woods of northern Michigan.

Product Reviews

5 Stars Out Of 5
5 out of 5
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
out Of 5
( out of 5)
Value:
out Of 5
( out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
out Of 5
( out of 5)
0%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-1 of 1
Page 1 of 1
  1. Debbie
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    September 7, 2008
    Debbie
    I am a homeschool mom. I highly recommend this book. This book brings the War of 1812 to life as the reader sees how the war effects the characters from different points of view - British soldiers, American soldiers,Indians, families / common people. While boys may enjoy it, I think it is an excellent choice for girls that need or want to cover this time period but aren't into all the "blood and guts" that boy tend to be into.Things that some may concern some:Lies: Mary lies to British to prevent aiding them. Her brother lies about where he is going. Both girls lie to protect their brother from being captured by the British.Dancing: It is only mentioned that Marys older sister goes to dances at the fort. Threats: p 146 the thieves who have been locked up in the barn yell a threat to Mary and her sister Let us out or well crush every bone in your body! Well boil you in oil! Well tear you apart! (this is the only kind of comment like this in the book)If you like this, I recommend these as well:Tolivers Secret The Cabin Faced West This book has sequels: (I Havent read these)Farewell to the IslandReturn to the Island
Displaying items 1-1 of 1
Page 1 of 1

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.