Motorhome Prophecies
Stock No: WW004387
Motorhome Prophecies  -     By: Carrie Sheffield

Motorhome Prophecies

Center Street / 2024 / Hardcover

In Stock
Stock No: WW004387

Buy Item Our Price$20.90 Retail: $29.00 Save 28% ($8.10)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW004387
Center Street / 2024 / Hardcover
Quantity:

Add To Cart

or checkout with

Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart

or checkout with

Wishlist

Product Information

Title: Motorhome Prophecies
By: Carrie Sheffield
Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 336
Vendor: Center Street
Publication Date: 2024
Dimensions: 9.00 X 6.00 X 1.00 (inches)
Weight: 1 pound 4 ounces
ISBN: 1546004386
ISBN-13: 9781546004387
Stock No: WW004387

Publisher's Description

In the vein of Educated and Hillbilly Elegy comes a young woman’s memoir chronicling her harrowing journey from despair to salvation that showcases the depths and resilience of the human spirit and empowers readers on their own paths toward healing, forgiveness, and redemption.
 
Carrie Sheffield grew up fifth of eight children with a violent, mentally ill, street-musician father who believed he was a modern-day Mormon prophet destined to become U.S. president someday. She and her seven siblings were often forced to live as vagabonds, remaining on the move across the country. They frequently subsisted in sheds, tents, and, most notably, motorhomes. They often lived a dysfunctional drifter existence, camping out in their motorhome in Walmart parking lots. Carrie attended 17 public schools and homeschool, all while performing classical music on the streets and passing out fire-and-brimstone religious pamphlets—at times while child custody workers loomed. 
 
Carrie’s father was eventually excommunicated from the official LDS Church, and she was the first of her siblings to escape the toxic brainwashing of his fundamentalist creed. Declared legally estranged from her parents, Carrie struggled with her mental health during college and for most of her adult life. But she eventually seized control of her life, transcended her troubled past, and overcame her toxic inner voice (and a near death experience)—thanks to the power of forgiveness, cultivated through her conversion to Christianity. She evolved from a scared and abused motorhome-dwelling girl to a Harvard-educated professional with a passion for empowering others to reject the cycles of poverty, depression, and self-hatred.
 
Motorhome Prophecies is the story of Carrie’s unbelievable, yet in many ways, very American journey. It resonates with those trapped in difficult situations and awes all who are enchanted by the depths and resilience of the human spirit.

Author Bio

Carrie Sheffield is a columnist and broadcaster in Washington DC. She earned a full-tuition Harvard scholarship, managed billions of dollars in risk at Wall Street firms, and competed in a Miss USA system beauty pageant. A journalist and former White House correspondent, she challenged the Muslim Brotherhood in Egypt and testified as an economic expert before the US Congress.

Carrie achieved all this while overcoming a life of extreme poverty and psychological, spiritual, and sexual abuse. A recovered agnostic, Carrie eventually found peace and anchoring in Christianity.

Carrie shares insights on networks like CNN, MSNBC, Fox News, CBS News, CNBC, BBC, and more. From ABC’s Good Morning America to HBO’s Real Time with Bill Maher, PBS, and C-SPAN, she uses her dynamic voice to resonate with audiences of millions.

A traveling enthusiast, Carrie visited every continent—including Antarctica—before age 30. She ran the Marine Corps Marathon and won the National Press Club 5K three times. Named a "Most Inspiring New Yorker" by the popular connection app Bumble, Carrie is passionate about instilling resilience and joy in others.

Editorial Reviews

"Carrie Sheffield's story is both poignant and inspiring, a moving testament to the grace of God and the discovery of belovedness in the midst of so much hurt that threatens to consume us. Her journey takes its own unique turns, but it is also a story of depth and feeling that will resonate with many. Mark my words: you will be blessed as you follow Carrie along the Way of Love that Jesus shows us all."—The Most Reverend Michael B. Curry, Presiding Bishop of the Episcopal Church and author of Love is the Way: Holding onto Hope in Troubling Times and Crazy Christians
"Carrie Sheffield's journey in Motorhome Prophecies proves to us that with God's help, nobody is too far removed from their capacity to rejuvenate and thrive. Carrie's spiritual transformation from exploited, angry skeptic to a full embrace of God's transformative, healing power is a powerful witness to the world. May you learn and grow encouraged and energized by Carrie's story to fulfill God's healing desires in your own life."—Dr. Deepak Chopra, M.D., Bestselling Author, TIME Magazine "Top 100 heroes and icons of the century"
"Beautifully written and achingly honest, Motorhome Prophecies is the heartwrenching story of Carrie Sheffield's journey from abuse and darkness to hope and redemption. Funny, whip smart, at-times gasp-inducing, this inspiring book is a testament to the most American idea of all: the circumstances of your birth need not dictate the outcome of your life."—Amy Chua, Yale Law Professor and Author of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother and The Golden Gate
"The story of Motorhome Prophecies is a universal one: Jesus heals. Carrie Sheffield's horrific abuse at the hands of people who should have protected her shows the brokenness of humanity. But Carrie's story also illustrates our capacity for redemption and renewal by walking with God and trusting in His justice and sovereign grace. Carrie illustrates the heart of God: leading by loving our neighbors who believe differently than us. It’s a posture we can apply to business, politics, and society overall."—Dr. David Brat, Vice Provost for Engagement and Public Relations at Liberty University; former U.S. Congressman
"This project is a balm of Gilead for many who have experienced a bittersweet relationship with Mormon culture, a well meaning attempt to build a community around the centrality of faith but often misguided in practice. Carrie Sheffield with her new found relationship with the person of Jesus Christ manages to bring the right balance of grace and truth in sharing her spiritual journey. A must read!"—Pastor A.R. Bernard, Bestselling Author and Founder of Christian Cultural Center, largest Evangelical church in New York City

Ask a Question

Author/Artist Review