1. Living Lies, #1
    Living Lies, #1
    Natalie Walters
    Revell / 2019 / Trade Paperback
    $7.49 Retail: $14.99 Save 50% ($7.50)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 61 Reviews
4.6 Stars Out Of 5
4.6 out of 5
(42)
(15)
(4)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.8 out Of 5
(4.8 out of 5)
Value:
4.8 out Of 5
(4.8 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.8 out Of 5
(4.8 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 61
Page 1 of 13 12345 Next |Last
  1. Indiana
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    So many twists
    July 10, 2019
    Cara Putman
    Indiana
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Meets Expectations: 5
    In Living Lies, the author transports readers to small town Georgia where things aren't as they seem. When a teenager is found murdered, the question becomes why and who. The chain of events launched by the discovery of the body threatens to put Lane Kent's precarious world in danger. Her battle with depression has almost taken her life, and now she'll do anything to convince everyone else she is fine. Charlie Lynch has arrived in town just in time to be assigned to the murder, but finds himself intrigued by Lane and her young son. What ensues is a spiraling story of intrigue and romance well worth the read.
  2. IL
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: Female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Purposeful and inspiring!
    June 18, 2019
    BethErin
    IL
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: Female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Authentic characters and an important message of mental health awareness and compassion are just the tip of the iceberg in this solid debut novel! Walters nails the small town dynamics and family drama in this instantly engaging law enforcement romantic suspense.

    Charlie Lynch is a small town girl's dream come true. He's every kind of hero all wrapped up in one, brave enough to serve our country and follow what he believes is God's will for his life. chivalrous and patient, loyal, devoted, and great with kids and pets. I think we can all agree that Charlie is a hands-down, no doubt about it, keeper.

    Lane Kent needs a Charlie in her life, a friend, a protector, a man willing to listen and encourage. Her inner turmoil and rocky family relationships make meaningful friendships worth more than gold. Fiction needs more heroines like Lane, the gift of her perspective and experiences encourages us to mature in empathy.

    Winsome secondary characters like Ms. Byrdie, five-year-old Noah, and even Bane the Terror Terrier round out the story with warmth, humor, and sentimental moments. I highly recommend this purposeful, inspiring, and action-packed story! Fans of Dani Pettrey and Lynette Eason will especially enjoy the style and pacing of Living Lies.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and was under no obligation to post a review. The opinions expressed are my own.
  3. 3 Stars Out Of 5
    meh
    June 17, 2019
    jyoung
    Quality: 3
    Value: 3
    Meets Expectations: 3
    Let's start from the cover. We all know we shouldn't judge a book by it's cover but look at that cover! It's so captivating. I love the misty green look. It makes me want to find out what's inside. The start of the book is great. I want to know more. I'm drawn in to the mystery. But then sadly, I quickly began to loose interest. I did love the inclusion of depression. This is a little talked about topic in Christian fiction but it is a huge problem in the lives of many Christians. We don't talk about it enough. I'm glad the author chose to include it in her story. But, I don't want that to define a person the entire story. I felt like Lane was more than her depression but I didn't know much else. I wanted a deeper understanding of this character. I was left wanting. And there was something about her name. It would get lost in the story and I would forget that it was her name. I would find myself thinking, "Wait? Who is this Lane person?" I became more easily distracted. The details were nicely written but kind of irrelevant. I found they detracted from the central story. I had a hard time floating from page to page. I had to go back and reread quite a bit. Charlie's character was really likable. I feel like his character had more depth. Unfortunately that wasn't enough for me. I couldn't sink into this story and get carried away. I was disappointed by that because typically this genre is one where I can sit down and not get up til the book is done. This was not the case for this book, sad to say. I'm interested to read future books by this author. This just wasn't one for me. I gave it 3 stars.

    I received a copy of this book from Revell. I was in no way required to write a positive review. All thoughts are my own.
  4. Davenport,Iowa
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    love the suspense and secrets
    June 17, 2019
    Thereadmaster
    Davenport,Iowa
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This was the first book I have ever read by this author and it will not be my last. I loved all the suspense in the story. There were many twists and turns. I am looking forward to many more stories by this author. The characters have many secrets and it is fun learning each one. I received a copy of this book from Revell for a fair and honest opinion that I gave of my own free will.
  5. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    Wonderful story!
    June 17, 2019
    arkmom
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Lane Kent moved back to her hometown of Walton, Georgia with her five year old son following the death of her military husband. She suffers from depression and guilt. Lane suffers in silence, as she learns many others do, as well.

    Lane meets Charlie, the new deputy sheriff when he finds her on the wrong side of the guard rails of a bridge. Who is this woman, he wonders, and was she about to jump?

    Lane discovers the dead body of a teenage girl and the investigation is on! Lane sees more and more of Charlie. Lane's son, Noah, likes Charlie. Lane won't allow herself to have a relationship, as she feels she is to blame for her husband's death. Her and her illness. To add to the stress in her life is the fact that her father is a politician, and the family must keep up the act and public front of a wonderful family, when all she feels is criticism and disappointment from her parents. Then, there's the threat her father holds over her head.

    Wonderful gripping story!

    I was given an ecopy of this to read by the publisher, Revell and Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
Displaying items 1-5 of 61
Page 1 of 13 12345 Next |Last