The Little House Books: The Library of America Collection
The Little House Books: The Library of America Collection  -     By: Laura Ingalls Wilder
Buy Item $42.49 Retail: $75.00 Save 43% ($32.51)
In Stock
Stock No: WW531626
Library of America / 2012 / Hardcover

Add To Cart

Add To Wishlist

Add To Cart


The Little House Books: The Library of America Collection

Library of America / 2012 / Hardcover

In Stock
Stock No: WW531626

  • In This Series (1)
In This Series (1)

Product Description

All eight novels in this beloved children's classic series (along with the later novella The First Four Years) have been elegantly edited and packaged. This is now the definitive edition for all serious readers. Catch glimpses of both the good and bad times on the prairie---from plagues by grasshoppers to simple Christmas celebrations. 1750 pages total, two boxed-set hardcovers.

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 1600
Vendor: Library of America
Publication Date: 2012
Dimensions: 7.88 X 4.88 X 4.50 (inches)
ISBN: 159853162X
ISBN-13: 9781598531626
Series: Library of America

Publisher's Description

Originally published from 1932 to 1943, Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House books are classics of children’s literature, beloved by millions. But readers who last enjoyed them as children may be astonished at the quiet poetry of Wilder’s prose and the force and poignancy of her portrait of the lives of American pioneers. Now The Library of America and editor Caroline Fraser present a definitive boxed set that affirms Wilder’s place in the American canon, reintroducing these enduring works to readers young and old. Here, for the first time in two collectible hardcover volumes, are all eight Little House novels—brilliant narratives of the early life of Laura Ingalls and her family as they grow up with the country in the woods, on the plains, and finally in the small towns of the advancing American frontier—plus the posthumous novella The First Four Years, which recounts the early years of the author’s marriage to Almanzo Wilder. As a special feature, four rare autobiographical pieces address the need for historical accuracy in children’s literature, reveal real life events not included in the novels, and answer the inevitable question: what happened next?



Little House in the Big Woods

Farmer Boy 

Little House on the Prairie

On the Banks of Plum Creek

Library of America volume #229


By the Shores of Silver Lake

The Long Winter 

Little Town on the Prairie

These Happy Golden Years

The First Four Years

Library of America volume #230

Each volume features deluxe three-part bindings, a newly-researched chronology of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s life and career, and helpful notes. The volumes are also available separately with standard Library of America series bindings and jackets.

Author Bio

Caroline Fraser, editor, is the author most recently of Rewilding the World: Dispatches from the Conservation Revolution. She has written for The New Yorker, where she was formerly on the editorial staff, The Atlantic, Outside Magazine, Allure, and The Los Angeles Times Book Review, among other publications. Her essays and reviews also appear in The New York Review of Books. She lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review


Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.