Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3   -     By: Mary E. DeMuth
Buy Item InStock9.99$9.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 33% ($5.00) Add To Cart

Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $7.99 eBook Details

Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3

Zondervan / 2010 / Paperback

$9.99 (CBD Price)
Retail: $14.99
Save 33% ($5.00)
In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW278382

Current Promotions
  • Other Formats (3)
Other Formats (3)
  1. In Stock
    Add To Cart
  2. In Stock
    Retail: $14.99
    Add To Cart
  3. In Stock
    Add To Cart

Product Description

Ouisie Pepper is haunted by a terrible secret: she knows who killed Daisy Chance. And she refuses to tell. As her children inch closer to identifying the murderer, Ouisie has to make a decision. Will she tell the truth to protect Jed and Sissy? Or will the anger she fears silence them all?

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 352
Vendor: Zondervan
Publication Date: 2010
Dimensions: 8.50 X 5.50 (inches)
ISBN: 0310278384
ISBN-13: 9780310278382
Series: Defiance Texas Trilogy

Related Products

  1. A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
    A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
    Mary E. DeMuth
    Zondervan / 2009 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 33% ($5.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 31 Reviews
  2. Daisy Chain, Defiance, Texas Series #1
    Daisy Chain, Defiance, Texas Series #1
    Mary E. DeMuth
    Zondervan / 2008 / Trade Paperback
    $9.49 Retail: $14.99 Save 37% ($5.50)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 46 Reviews

Publisher's Description

In a town she personifies, Ouisie Pepper wrestles with her own defiance. Desperate to become the wife and mother her husband Hap demands, Ouisie pours over a simple book about womanhood, constantly falling short, but determined to improve. Through all that self-improvement, Ouisie carries a terrible secret: she knows who killed Daisy Chance. As her children inch closer to uncovering the killer’s identity and Hap’s rages roar louder and become increasingly violent, Ouisie has to make a decision. Will she protect her children by telling her secret? Or will Hap’s violence silence them all? Set on the backdrop of Defiance, Texas, Ouisie’s journey typifies the choices we all face—whether to tell the truth about secrets and fight for the truth or bury them forever and live with the violent consequences.

Author Bio

Mary DeMuth is the author of several southern novels, including A Slow Burn, Life in Defiance, and the Christy award finalists, Watching the Tree Limbs and Daisy Chain.  She’s also written four parenting books and a memoir, Thin Places. She’s passionate about the written word, teaching, and mentoring writers. Mary lives in Texas with her husband, Patrick, and their three children.

Product Reviews

4.8 Stars Out Of 5
4.8 out of 5
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Displaying items 1-5 of 19
Page 1 of 4 1234 Next
  1. Bronx, NY
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    I couldn't wait!
    February 14, 2011
    Grace Emanuel
    Bronx, NY
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    "Life in Defiance" does not disappoint. The previous trilogy parts left the reader hungry for the next and the third satisfies the desire for closure. It's amazing how Ouisie Pepper lives in defiance while living in Defiance. Well done!
  2. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    August 8, 2010
    Barbara Crawford
    I really enjoyed this third book in the series. I do like the way she writes. It was a cliff-hanger all the way. By the way, I met a real live Hap Pepper at least part of his personality! He was truly awful!
  3. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    July 26, 2010
    Sharon A Lavy
    I read all three books of the Defiance Texas Trilogy as they were released. I know the story is too long to be one book, but it was hard to wait for the next installment so to speak. New readers will not have this same situation as all three are available now.I have read mystery/suspense from a young age. And I have a knack of suspision and figuring out "who done it." But this series had me puzzled throughout. Mary DeMuth is a gripping story teller and by the end of the story the loose ends are tied up and the ending was satisfying.
  4. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    June 16, 2010
    Delia Latham
    The whole town of Defiance, Texas would like to know what Ouisie Pepper knows. But Ouisie is good at keeping her mouth shut. Shes done it her whole life, especially as the battered wife of Defiances minister, Hap Pepper.Her best friend, Emory Chance, once had an affair with Ouisies preacher husband. Without Emory and the bottle hidden in Ouisies bedroom, life would be unbearable for the reverends wife. Emory is one of only a few who know about Haps violent tendencies. One of the few Ouisie trusts with that knowledge. Ouisies children know. Theyve witnessed it, been on the receiving end of it. Sissy has a lisp and is growing old before shes grown. Jed, already bitter after the death of his friend Daisy, grows angrier and more belligerent as his mother refuses to protect herself or her children from Hap. But Ouisie guards her husband's reputation because, as an imperfect wife, surely his fits of temper are her fault.Life is spinning out of control. Shes on a collision course with disaster, and too afraid to take the reins and stop the headlong rush. Will she find courage before her world crashes in around herbefore her children are forever destroyed by life and Hap's cruelty?Life in Defiance is the third and final book in the Defiance, Texas trilogy. Mary DeMuth is a master at capturing human emotion and pouring it onto a written page. My heart bled as Ouisie suffered under Haps heavy hand and heartless comments. My heart cried for Jed and Sissy as they cringed beneath their fathers temper and their mothers inability to fight back. I longed to comfort Emory, who lived with not only her daughters murder, but her own failure as a mother prior to Daisys death. No one creates emotion like DeMuth. Absolutely unforgettable.
  5. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    June 14, 2010
    LaJoyce Shrom
    Mary DeMuth's masterful artistry of words have made their presence known in the conclusion of this trilogy once again.This story of a family has suspense mounting many times as Mary's words depict a family left out to dry as Ouisie Pepper endures the unmerciful tyrant of a husband and father that dares to call himself a preacher. Her description of the verbal and physical abuse can make a reader cry in sympathy for the victim and have revenge etched in their brain for the perpetrator.The story is set in a era of your imagination that would make a reader see what goes on behind closed doors and affects a whole town that could either bring a healing or a death.The killer of Daisy Chain must be realized in this third book and the end cannot be read until the whole is completed.LaJoyce Shrom, authorLearning About LifeRevealed Secret
Displaying items 1-5 of 19
Page 1 of 4 1234 Next

Ask Christianbook


Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search