John Ploughmans Talks
Buy Item $9.99 Retail: $12.99 Save 23% ($3.00)
In Stock
Stock No: WW746335
Whitaker House / 2012 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist
eBook $8.99 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart


Wishlist

John Ploughmans Talks

Whitaker House / 2012 / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW746335


  • Other Formats (2)
Other Formats (2)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $8.99
    Retail: $12.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $8.99
  2. In Stock
    $9.99
    Retail: $12.99
    Add To Cart
    $9.99

Product Description

In John Ploughman's Talks, Spurgeon assumes the persona of a simple ploughman to dispense advice and address serious moral issues in the language of the common man. Spurgeon's homespun humor and rustic illustrations reflect on a variety of issues, such as idleness, grumbling, appearance, patience, gossiping, debt, spending, family, hope, and much more. Paperback.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 132
Vendor: Whitaker House
Publication Date: 2012
Dimensions: 8.50 X 5.50 (inches)
ISBN: 1603746331
ISBN-13: 9781603746335

Related Products

  1. The Complete John Ploughman: Combined Edition of John  John Ploughman's Talk and John Ploughman's Pictures
    The Complete John Ploughman: Combined Edition of John John Ploughman's Talk and John Ploughman's Pictures
    Charles H. Spurgeon
    Christian Heritage / 2007 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $13.99 Save 21% ($3.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 2 Reviews
  2. Spurgeon's Practical Wisdom {or Plain Advice for Plain People}
    Spurgeon's Practical Wisdom {or Plain Advice for Plain People}
    Charles H. Spurgeon
    Banner of Truth / Hardcover
    $21.99 Retail: $28.00 Save 21% ($6.01)
  3. Morning and Evening, NIV edition, flexisoft leather light tan
    Morning and Evening, NIV edition, flexisoft leather light tan
    Charles H. Spurgeon
    Hendrickson Publishers / 2010 / Imitation Leather
    $12.99 Retail: $24.95 Save 48% ($11.96)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 35 Reviews
  4. Morning and Evening - KJV
    Morning and Evening - KJV
    Charles H. Spurgeon
    Hendrickson Publishers / 1997 / Hardcover
    $9.99 Retail: $18.95 Save 47% ($8.96)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 98 Reviews

Publisher's Description

Everyday advice based on biblical faithCharles Spurgeon's success as a legendary preacher and author was generated from his intense love and concern for "working people." In John Ploughman's Talks, Spurgeon assumes the persona of a simple ploughman to dispense advice and address serious moral issues in the language of the common man. Spurgeon's homespun humor and rustic illustrations reflect on a variety of issues, such as idleness, grumbling, appearance, patience, gossiping, debt, spending, family, hope, and much more. In Spurgeon's words, "That I have written in a semi-humorous vein needs no apology, since thereby sound moral teaching has gained a hearing?.There is no particular virtue in being seriously unreadable." In the tradition of John Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress, Spurgeon's tale is destined to be enjoyed for generations by people of all ages and backgrounds.

Author Bio

Charles Haddon Spurgeon (1834-1892), the "Prince of Preachers," preached his first sermon at age sixteen and became a pastor at age eighteen. Spurgeon drew large crowds and built the Metropolitan Tabernacle in London in 1861 to accommodate them. He published over two thousand sermons; his inspiring and challenging messages comprise the largest collection of work by a single author. Spurgeon preached to an estimated ten million people during his lifetime, including notables such as the prime minister of England, members of the royal family, and Florence Nightingale. He appealed constantly to his hearers to move on in the Christian faith, to allow the Lord to minister to them individually, and to be used of God to win the lost to Christ. In addition to his powerful preaching, Spurgeon founded and supported charitable outreaches, including educational institutions. His pastors' college, which is still in existence today, taught nearly nine hundred students in Spurgeon's time. He also founded the famous Stockwell Orphanage.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.