It Started with Goodbye
Buy Item $8.99 Retail: $12.99 Save 31% ($4.00)
In Stock
Stock No: WW758662
Blink / 2017 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
eBook $7.99 View Details
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

It Started with Goodbye

Blink / 2017 / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW758662


  • Other Formats (2)
Other Formats (2)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $7.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $7.99
  2. In Stock
    $8.99
    Retail: $12.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.99

Product Description

It Started with Goodbye, by Christina June

Tatum Elsea is 16 years old and was falsely accused of a crime. On house arrest at her step mother's house, she fills her free time with community service during the day and hides doing her graphic design business at night.  She discovers she is not the only one keeping secrets in the house.  With the help of her step grandmother is she ready to start fresh and make amends with her family and friends?

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 272
Vendor: Blink
Publication Date: 2017
Dimensions: 8.4 X 5.5 (inches)
ISBN: 0310758661
ISBN-13: 9780310758662
Ages: 13-17

Related Products

  1. The Inventor
    The Inventor
    Ronnie Lee Graham
    WestBow Press / 2016 / Hardcover
    $38.20
  2. The Things We Knew
    The Things We Knew
    Catherine J. West
    Thomas Nelson / 2016 / Trade Paperback
    $8.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 44% ($7.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 40 Reviews
  3. Sister Dear
    Sister Dear
    Laura McNeill
    Thomas Nelson / 2016 / Trade Paperback
    $8.49 Retail: $15.99 Save 47% ($7.50)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 37 Reviews
  4. Never Said
    Never Said
    Carol Lynch Williams
    Zondervan / 2016 / Trade Paperback
    $4.99 Retail: $8.99 Save 44% ($4.00)
    3 Stars Out Of 5 7 Reviews

Publisher's Description

Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is bracing for the worst summer of her life. After being falsely accused of a crime, she’s stuck under stepmother-imposed house arrest and her BFF’s gone ghost. Tatum fills her newfound free time with community service by day and working at her covert graphic design business at night, which includes trading emails with a cute cello-playing client. If Tatum is reading his emails right, her virtual Prince Charming is funny, smart, and talented—and he seems to think the same about her. Too bad he’s spending his summer across the ocean in Ireland…not that Tatum would be allowed to go on a date anyway.

But over the course of the summer, Tatum will learn that sometimes going after what you want means breaking all the rules. And when Tatum discovers she’s not the only one in the house keeping secrets, she finds she has the chance to make amends with her family and friends. Equipped with a new perspective, and assisted by her feisty step-abuela-slash-fairy-godmother, Tatum is ready to start fresh and maybe even get her happy ending along the way. A modern play on the Cinderella story arc, Christina June’s IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and Jennifer E. Smith.

Author Bio

hristina June writes young adult contemporary fiction when she’s not writing college recommendation letters during her day job as a school counselor. She loves the little moments in life that help someone discover who they’re meant to become—whether it’s her students or her characters. Christina is a voracious reader, loves to travel, eats too many cupcakes, and hopes to one day be bicoastal—the east coast of the US and the east coast of Scotland. She lives just outside Washington, D.C., with her husband and daughter.

Editorial Reviews

Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is bracing for the worst summer of her life. After being falsely accused of a crime, she's stuck under stepmother-imposed house arrest and her BFF's gone ghost. Tatum fills her newfound free time with community service by day and working at her covert graphic design business at night (which includes trading emails with a cute cello-playing client). When Tatum discovers she's not the only one in the house keeping secrets, she finds she has the chance to make amends with her family and friends. Equipped with a new perspective, and assisted by her feisty step-abuela/fairy-godmother, Tatum is ready to start fresh and maybe even get her happy ending along the way. A modern play on a Cinderella them, 'It Started with Goodbye' shows us that sometimes going after what you want means breaking the rules. An unfailingly entertaining and thoroughly engaging read from cover to cover, 'It Started with Goodbye' is highly recommended for personal reading lists, as well as high school and community library YA Fiction collections. It should be noted that 'It Started with Goodbye' is also available in a Kindle format ($7.99).
“You won’t be able to put this book down. This heartfelt read totally sucked me in.”
“Tatum’s complex and realistic relationships with her friends, family, and a potential love interest will have you savoring every chapter while heavily anticipating the next. It Started with Goodbye is an adorable and clever contemporary that will enthrall you with its fairytale-esque charm.”
“Honest, fun, and entirely compelling, this is a story about how being in the wrong place at the wrong time can lead to a whole lot of right. Tatum is a character you’ll relate to, cheer for, and want to befriend.”
“[A] fun, contemporary take on the Cinderella tale that explores what it takes to be yourself while finding your place in life, love, and your family. June’s characters are vividly drawn, complex people that you’ll want to root for, and Tatum’s story will strike a chord for anyone who’s felt like they were misunderstood.”
“A sweet and satisfying portrait of family, friendship, and discovering your own path. Tatum’s journey from fear and disappointment to honesty and freedom to be herself is one that will resonate with many readers.”
After being falsely accused of a crime, Tatum is faced with a summer of community service. To make matters worse, her best friend is not speaking to her, and she is being kept under her stepmother’s watchful eye. Looking for a way to be herself again after this tailspin, Tatum secretly starts a graphic design business. With a new friendship blossoming at her community service project, a flirty e-mail correspondence with a client, and a supportive stepgrandmother, Tatum’s summer begins to turn around. In this modern take on Cinderella, Tatum embarks on a summer of learning, during which she tries to figure out who she is and to understand different points of view, leading to a changed perception of her family. While a few references feel dated and some of the supporting cast underdeveloped, Tatum’s journey of understanding and self-reflection is relatable and appealing. Steer readers who enjoy the updated fairy tale angle toward this book and follow with Ashley Poston’s Geekarella (2017). A nice addition where contemporary fiction is popular.--- Sarah Bean Thompson
“An unfailingly entertaining and thoroughly engaging read from cover to cover … highly recommended.”
“Christina June’s contemporary retelling of Cinderella is a delightful debut that addresses family, friendship, trust, and going for what you really want. A lovely story that’s full of heart.” Lauren Gibaldi, author of The Night We Said Yes
“With an adorably charming heroine and a swoon-worthy love interest, Christina June has created true YA perfection.” Heather Van Fleet, author of the Reckless Hearts series

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.