It Started with Goodbye - eBook
It Started with Goodbye - eBook  -     By: Christina June
Buy Item $7.99
This product will be released on 04/25/18
Email me when this product is available.
Stock No: WW86287EB
Blink / 2017 / ePub
Preorder

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
Preorder

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

It Started with Goodbye - eBook

Blink / 2017 / ePub

This product will be released on 04/25/18
Email me when this product is available.
Stock No: WW86287EB


Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

* This product is available for purchase only in certain countries.
  • Other Formats (2)
Other Formats (2)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. This product will be released on 04/25/18.
    $7.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $7.99
  2. In Stock
    $8.99
    Retail: $12.99
    Add To Cart
    $8.99

Product Description

It Started with Goodbye, by Christina June

Tatum Elsea is 16 years old and was falsely accused of a crime. On house arrest at her step mother's house, she fills her free time with community service during the day and hides doing her graphic design business at night.  She discovers she is not the only one keeping secrets in the house.  With the help of her step grandmother is she ready to start fresh and make amends with her family and friends?

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: Blink
Publication Date: 2017
ISBN: 9780310758631
ISBN-13: 9780310758631
UPC: 025986758639
Ages: 13-17

Publisher's Description

Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is settling in for the worst summer on record. After she’s unfairly implicated in one of her best friend’s ideas gone awry, Tatum’s stepmother places her under virtual house arrest. But to Tatum’s surprise, her summer doesn’t turn out to be all bad. And things really begin to look up when she starts her own graphic design business and meets a cello-playing client, Seamus. If Tatum is reading his emails right, Seamus is funny, smart, and talented—and he seems to think the same about her. Too bad he's spending his summer across the ocean in Ireland…not that Tatum would be allowed to go on a date anyway.

But over the course of the summer, Tatum will learn that sometimes going after what you want means breaking the rules. In the process, she’ll discover things about her friends, her family, and herself that she never could have guessed. And when Seamus turns out to be closer than she thought, she might just get a perfect kiss in the bargain.

A modern play on the Cinderella story arc, Christina June’s It Started with Good-bye will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and Jennifer E. Smith.

 

Author Bio

hristina June writes young adult contemporary fiction when she’s not writing college recommendation letters during her day job as a school counselor. She loves the little moments in life that help someone discover who they’re meant to become—whether it’s her students or her characters. Christina is a voracious reader, loves to travel, eats too many cupcakes, and hopes to one day be bicoastal—the east coast of the US and the east coast of Scotland. She lives just outside Washington, D.C., with her husband and daughter.

Editorial Reviews

“Tatum’s complex and realistic relationships with her friends, family, and a potential love interest will have you savoring every chapter while heavily anticipating the next. It Started with Goodbye is an adorable and clever contemporary that will enthrall you with its fairytale-esque charm.” Ami Allen-Vath, author of Liars and Losers Like Us
“With an adorably charming heroine and a swoon-worthy love interest, Christina June has created true YA perfection.” Heather Van Fleet, author of the Reckless Hearts series
“A sweet and satisfying portrait of family, friendship, and discovering your own path. Tatum’s journey from fear and disappointment to honesty and freedom to be herself is one that will resonate with many readers.” Ashley Herring Blake, author of Suffer Love
“A heartfelt and refreshing take on a classic fairytale, with a modern Cinderella that you will root for. Tatum is a complex and realistically drawn protagonist, and the slow-burn romance with her Prince Charming had me grinning and yearning for more.” Caroline Tung Richmond, author of The Only Thing to Fear and The Darkest Hour
“Bold, empowering, and all-around fun. A perfect summer story.” Anna Michels, author of 26 Kisses
“You won’t be able to put this book down. This heartfelt read totally sucked me in.” Miranda Kenneally, bestselling author of Catching Jordan
“[A] fun, contemporary take on the Cinderella tale that explores what it takes to be yourself while finding your place in life, love, and your family. June’s characters are vividly drawn, complex people that you’ll want to root for, and Tatum’s story will strike a chord for anyone who’s felt like they were misunderstood.” Lisa Maxwell, author of Unhooked, Sweet Unrest, and Gathering Deep
After being falsely accused of a crime, Tatum is faced with a summer of community service. To make matters worse, her best friend is not speaking to her, and she is being kept under her stepmother’s watchful eye. Looking for a way to be herself again after this tailspin, Tatum secretly starts a graphic design business. With a new friendship blossoming at her community service project, a flirty e-mail correspondence with a client, and a supportive stepgrandmother, Tatum’s summer begins to turn around. In this modern take on Cinderella, Tatum embarks on a summer of learning, during which she tries to figure out who she is and to understand different points of view, leading to a changed perception of her family. While a few references feel dated and some of the supporting cast underdeveloped, Tatum’s journey of understanding and self-reflection is relatable and appealing. Steer readers who enjoy the updated fairy tale angle toward this book and follow with Ashley Poston’s Geekarella (2017). A nice addition where contemporary fiction is popular.--- Sarah Bean Thompson
“An unfailingly entertaining and thoroughly engaging read from cover to cover … highly recommended.” Midwest Book Review
“Honest, fun, and entirely compelling, this is a story about how being in the wrong place at the wrong time can lead to a whole lot of right. Tatum is a character you’ll relate to, cheer for, and want to befriend.” Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, author of Firsts
“Christina June’s contemporary retelling of Cinderella is a delightful debut that addresses family, friendship, trust, and going for what you really want. A lovely story that’s full of heart.” Lauren Gibaldi, author of The Night We Said Yes

Product Reviews

4.7 Stars Out Of 5
4.7 out of 5
(2)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Value:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-3 of 3
Page 1 of 1
  1. Laura Hilton
    Horseshoe Bend, AR
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    It Started with Goodbye
    October 3, 2017
    Laura Hilton
    Horseshoe Bend, AR
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    This review was written for It Started with Goodbye.
    IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE is really fun. It is about this teenager who got busted for being a getaway driver for her friend and her creepy boyfriend, but she didn't even know about the crime. It is a really really good book.

    Written in first person, IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE immediately puts me in the main characters point of view. I really identified with her and felt how scared she must've been and how bored she was under house arrest.

    This is a great book for teens and tweens. Recommended.

    This is not a Christian book, but it was a clean read.

    I was given a copy free. All opinions are my own.
  2. Frosty
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Love this book!
    May 14, 2017
    Frosty
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This review was written for It Started with Goodbye.
    I haven't read many young adult novels recently that I've enjoyed as much as It Started with Goodbye. Tatum's story, much like Cinderella's, is about a misunderstood teen who's been wronged. Her stepmother is not so much wicked as she is stern, and her father is out of the country for much of the book. Tatum's stepsister has her own issues while Tatum's BFF is avoiding contact. These characters all make a great cast in a delightful story. Have I mentioned that I loved Abuela and "Prince Charming?" If you like fairytales with a modern twist, like I do, you'll love this book. Christina June writes entertaining dialogue. The teens in this book aren't perfect, but they tell a good story through the scope of friendship and family. Whether you are or you have a teenager looking for an entertaining book or you're older like me and like a good story. Pick up a copy of It Started with Goodbye. Well written, I give it a 5+. P.S. I found myself smiling through much of the story, which = pure delight. I received this book free from Zondervan.
  3. Suzie
    Nashville, TN
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Pop Culture meets Cinderella
    April 17, 2017
    Suzie
    Nashville, TN
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    This review was written for It Started with Goodbye.
    A wonderful book filled with a wonderful message.

    Tatum tries. She tries to make her dad and stepmother proud, she tries to be a good fried, and she tries to like her stepsister despite their frosty relationship.

    When Tatum gets in trouble for being in the wrong place at the wrong time, shes done trying. Her dad doesnt trust her anymore, her stepsister seems to dislike her even more, and her best friend wont talk to her. But her summer of stepmother-imposed house arrest just might be the best thing thats ever happened to Tatum.

    This character is so well written. Readers are taken along on her journey of growth as she meets new friends, opens her mind to step into the shoes of the other person, and learns to forgive.

    The Cinderella story arc, though its there, is subtle. Beautifully written, I finished this one in a day and am looking forward to what author Christina June has in store next for her readers.

    Disclosure statement:

    I receive complimentary book via the author, publisher, or blogging programs, including NetGalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255.
Displaying items 1-3 of 3
Page 1 of 1

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×
Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.