Island War
Island War  -     By: Patricia Reilly Giff
Buy Item $5.99 Retail: $7.99 Save 25% ($2.00)
This product will be released on 01/07/20
Email me when this product is available.
Quantity:
Stock No: WW3445400
Holiday House / 2020 / Paperback
Quantity:

Preorder

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Preorder

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

Island War

Holiday House / 2020 / Paperback

Buy 24 or more for $5.69 each.
This product will be released on 01/07/20
Email me when this product is available.
Stock No: WW3445400


Product Information

Title: Island War
By: Patricia Reilly Giff
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 208
Vendor: Holiday House
Publication Date: 2020
Dimensions: 8 1/4 X 5 1/2 (inches)
Weight: 2 pounds
ISBN: 0823445402
ISBN-13: 9780823445400
Stock No: WW3445400

Publisher's Description

Two young Americans must evade capture by Axis soldiers--and outlast the brutal Alaskan winter--in this thrilling historical novel which shines a light on a little-known facet of World War II.

Fourteen-year-old Matt never wanted to come to the remote Aleutian Islands--he was dragged here by his father for reasons he can't understand. Eleven-year-old Izzy, on the other hand, loves it--the wild weather, the strange birds, all the new people she's meeting. The two have little in common, except their hometown--they certainly aren't friends.

But when Japanese soldiers land on the island, Izzy and Matt are the only ones who escape being shipped off to a prison camp. The two kids must put their differences aside and work together if they're going to survive. With a long, harsh winter ahead of them, they'll need to dodge Axis soldiers and withstand Allied bombing raids--and keep the village dog from giving them away to the enemy, too.

Told in alternating point-of-view chapters, Island War is set amidst the Japanese occupation of the remote Aleutian Islands--the only foreign invasion of the United States that took place during World War II. Fans of Hatchet and Julie of the Wolves will be riveted by two-time Newbery Honoree Patricia Reilly Giff's thrilling story of survival, resilience, and the power of cooperation.

Author Bio

Patricia Reilly Giff received two Newbery Honor Awards for her novels Lily's Crossing and Pictures of Hollis Woods. Some of her other middle grade novels include Genevieve's War, winner of the Christopher Award; Nory Ryan's Song, an ALA Notable Book; and Eleven. Her Kids of the Polk Street School series remain a popular chapter book mainstay. She has a doctorate in reading and spent twenty years teaching in New York City public schools, and now lives in Connecticut.

Editorial Reviews

"Illustrates the hardships of war and the importance of self-reliance. Fans of historical fiction will be pleased."—School Library Journal

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.