I'm Bored  -     By: Michael Ian Black
    Illustrated By: Debbie Ridpath Ohi
Buy Item InStock16.19$16.19 Retail: $17.99 Save 10% ($1.80) Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist

I'm Bored

Illustrated By: Debbie Ridpath Ohi
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers / 2012 / Hardcover

$16.19 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $17.99
|
Save 10% ($1.80)
In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW414037

Cyber Week Sale
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA.
* This product is not available for expedited shipping.

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 40
Vendor: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: 2012
Dimensions: 11.00 X 8.50 (inches)
ISBN: 1442414030
ISBN-13: 9781442414037
Ages: 3-8

Publisher's Description

There is NOTHING boring about being a kid, but one little girl is going to have to prove it in this anything-but-boring picture book from comedian Michael Ian Black.

Just when a little girl thinks she couldn’t possibly be more bored, she stumbles upon a potato who turns the tables on her by declaring that children are boring. But this girl isn’t going to let a vegetable tell her what’s what, so she sets out to show the unimpressed potato all the amazing things kids can do. Too bad the potato is anything but interested….
This tongue-in-cheek twist on a familiar topic is sure to entertain anyone who’s ever been bored—or had to hear about someone else being bored—and is filled with comedian Michael Ian Black’s trademark dry wit, accompanied by charismatic illustrations from newcomer Debbie Ridpath Ohi.

Author Bio

Michael Ian Black is a writer, comedian, and actor who has created and starred in many television series, including Michael and Michael Have Issues, Stella, and The State. Michael regularly tours the country as a stand-up comedian and is the bestselling author of the book My Custom Van (and 50 Other Mind-Blowing Essays That Will Blow Your Mind All Over Your Face) and the children’s books Chicken Cheeks, The Purple Kangaroo, A Pig Parade Is a Terrible Idea, and I’m Bored. Michael lives in Connecticut with his wife and two children.

Debbie Ridpath Ohi
is the illustrator of I'm Bored, a picture book by Michael Ian Black. Her other published works include short nonfiction, fiction, poetry, and a nonfiction book for writers. She lives in Toronto, Canada. For more info, please visit DebbieOhi.com, and follow her on Twitter @inkyelbows.

Editorial Reviews

* "Black (A Pig Parade Is a Terrible Idea) keeps this simple concept funny all the way through its final, LOL zinger. Debut illustrator Ohi’s minimalist, scraggly digital drawings are anything but boring, and speak volumes about irritation, desperation, and disdain."--Publishers Weekly, starred review
"Genuinely funny moments.... [The girl] demonstrates cartwheels, ninja kicks and imagination games—lion taming; dragons and swords; forcing the potato to walk a pirate-ship plank—all of which Ohi sketches in pale blue."--Kirkus Reviews
"Ohi’s captivating, digitally created illustrations are full of wit and charm.... Quirky and fun to read aloud, this book is a sure antidote for cases of ennui."
A Notable Children's Book Of 2012
"[Michael Ian] Black, a comedian, has become a fine children's book storyteller.... Readers will not be bored."
"Beautifully written by Michael Ian Black and gorgeously illustrated by Debbie Ridpath Ohi... It has the courage to go unfashionably old-school and suggest that our imagination, not our gadgets, is the only cure [for boredom].... Both the writing and the illustrations are fearless."
"Fans of Mo Willems’ Elephant and Piggie series will delight in the latest book by American comedian Michael Ian Black, illustrated by Toronto graphic artist Debbie Ridpath Ohi. Echoing Willems, Black’s story is constructed around the dialogue of an unlikely couple, in this case a small girl and a potato. The text is perfectly complemented by Ohi’s quirky minimalist drawings."
"Sometimes a picture book gets it just right. And by 'it,' I mean clever concept, smart execution and all-around child-friendly vibe. It’s rare for one of those picture books to have been written by a so-called celebrity author—someone who made a name for him or herself in Hollywood and then decided to write children’s books—but Michael Ian Black has proven to be the exception to the rule."
"Black...tells his story in sprightly fashion. The illustrator Debbie Ridpath Ohi convincingly draws a child full of life, a potato full of — well, potatotude, and computer drawings that look just like good old-fashioned linocuts. Her smart cartoony artwork matches Black’s perfect comic timing, making for a fun ride that should leave you amused, perhaps pensive, and no longer bored."

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search