Heroes, Gods and Monsters of the Greek Myths
Buy Item $3.99 Retail: $6.99 Save 43% ($3.00)
In Stock
Stock No: WW59202
Random House / 2005 / Paperback
Quantity:

Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart


Wishlist

Heroes, Gods and Monsters of the Greek Myths

Random House / 2005 / Paperback

In Stock
Stock No: WW59202


Big Summer Blowout
Refine by

Product Description

Rewritten with all the poetry of the original intact, Heroes, Gods, and Monsters of the Greek Myths relays the myths of the past with delicacy, yet still keeps the core of the stories. Integrating notes that relate to our modern-day words-we call spiders Arachnids because of Arachne, we call female horses mares because of the moon-this short book will give readers an understanding of the stories so much of western civilization, literature, and culture rest upon. 210 pages, softcover, with glossary.

Please Note A few of the pen-and-ink sketched illustrations depict nudity.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 224
Vendor: Random House
Publication Date: 2005
Dimensions: 6.88 X 4.19 (inches)
ISBN: 0553259202
ISBN-13: 9780553259209
UPC: 076783006508
Ages: 12-16

Related Products

  1. Tales of Troy and Greece
    Tales of Troy and Greece
    Andrew Lang
    Wordsworth Editions / Trade Paperback
    $3.29 Retail: $4.99 Save 34% ($1.70)
  2. Persephone
    Persephone
    Sally Pomme Clayton
    Eerdmans Books for Young Readers / 2009 / Hardcover
    $16.20 Retail: $18.00 Save 10% ($1.80)
  3. Mythology
    Mythology
    Lady Evans Hestia
    Candlewick Press / 2007 / Hardcover
    $22.49 Retail: $24.99 Save 10% ($2.50)

Publisher's Description

For fans of D'Aulaires' Book of Greek Myths and readers who enjoyed Homer's The Iliad and The Odyssey comes a collection by a master storyteller that evokes the golden age of mythical Greece.
   The earth breeds giants and ogres of indescribable horror--the heavens hold omnipotent gods and goddesses, abounding in courage, strength and wisdom.
   Zeus, the almighty king of the gods, who cannot resist feminine beauty -- mortal or divine, and his jealous and vengeful wife, Hera.
   Perseus, fearless mortal warrior, who takes on an impossible challenge: slaying the monstrous Medusa, whose glance turns men to stone.
   The Minotaur, half-man and half-bull, the horrible fruit of a queen's unspeakable desire, who annually destroys the young victims sacrificed to his terrifying power.
   A fantastic world of spells and curses, magic and mystery, forces that create and destroy at will.

Author Bio

Bernard Evslin was a novelist, playwright, film writer and director. He had several plays produced, both on and off Broadway, among them The Geranium Hat. He has authored over seventy titles, including novels and short stories.

Product Reviews

4 Stars Out Of 5
4 out of 5
(0)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
out Of 5
( out of 5)
Value:
out Of 5
( out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
out Of 5
( out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-1 of 1
Page 1 of 1
  1. Schmal
    Windsor, PA
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Great Gift for my Nephew
    January 17, 2011
    Schmal
    Windsor, PA
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    This was a great Christmas gift for my nephew. He wanted a book about the Greek gods. He liked that it had the origin of words list in the back. He is 10 years old.
Displaying items 1-1 of 1
Page 1 of 1

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.