The Great Shift: Encountering God in Biblical Times
The Great Shift: Encountering God in Biblical Times  -     By: James L. Kugel
Buy Item $21.99 Retail: $30.00 Save 27% ($8.01)
In Stock
Stock No: WW520554
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt / 2017 / Hardcover
Quantity:

Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

The Great Shift: Encountering God in Biblical Times

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt / 2017 / Hardcover

Buy 24 or more for $20.89 each.
In Stock
Stock No: WW520554


Product Description

"Kugel takes the texts literally when Abraham and Moses hear the voice of God or have visions of the divine, arguing they 'must have felt they were telling the truth.' He examines the Hebrew Bible's changing theologies, views of free will, and development of the concept of the soul. An impressive synthesis,"---Publishers Weekly. 560 pages, hardcover. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Vendor: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication Date: 2017
ISBN: 0544520556
ISBN-13: 9780544520554

Publisher's Description

A world-renowned scholar brings a lifetime of study to reveal how a pivotal transformation in spiritual experience during the Biblical Era made us who we are today

Why does the Bible depict a world in which humans, with surprising regularity, encounter the divine—wrestling an angel, addressing a burning bush, issuing forth prophecy without any choice in the matter? These stories spoke very differently to their original audience than they do to us, and they reflect a radically distinct understanding of reality and the human mind. Yet over the course of the thousand-year Biblical Era, encounters with God changed dramatically. As James L. Kugel argues, this transition allows us to glimpse a massive shift in human experience—the emergence of the modern, Western sense of self.

In this landmark work, Kugel fuses revelatory close readings of ancient texts with modern scholarship from a range of fields, including neuroscience, anthropology, psychology, and archaeology, to explain the origins of belief, worship, and the sense of self, and the changing nature of God through history. In the tradition of books like The Swerve and The Better Angels of Our Nature,The Great Shift tells the story of a revolution in human consciousness and the enchantment of everyday life. This book will make believers and seekers think differently not just about the Bible, but about the entire history of the human imagination.

Author Bio

JAMES L. KUGEL is Starr Professor of Hebrew Literature at Harvard University (emeritus). Kugel is a specialist in the Hebrew Bible and the Dead Sea Scrolls. He is the author of thirteen books, including The Bible As It Was, which won the Grawemeyer Prize in Religion in 2001, and How to Read the Bible, which was awarded the National Jewish Book Award for the best book of 2007. He lives in Tel Aviv, Israel.

Editorial Reviews

"Fascinating."—The New York Times

"A magnificent job of bringing important ideas from the academy to a broad readership...Kugel gives readers a sense of history’s convoluted texture, its ironies, and thus its beauty."—The Jewish Review of Books

"The Great Shift is a carefully crafted literary work that is both an indictment of modernity and a hope that tightly closed modern people can regain the unique "semipermeable" qualities that defined spiritual lives of long ago."—Reform Judaism

"Biblical scholarship has reached considerable agreement for most scholars in the last 75 years, and The Great Shift is the culmination of its maturity. Readers of all stripes who want to make sense of God’s Word will find this landmark book written with great erudition, clarity and, dare I say it, a humor that seems to be God’s peeking through." —Michael D. Langan, NBC-2.com

"Lively, inviting account . . . the author is at home in every era from that of the ancient texts to our own, and he makes for an excellent guide. Biblical exegesis at its best: a brilliant and sensitive reading of ancient texts, all with an eye to making them meaningful to our time by making sense of what they meant in their own." —Kirkus Reviews, STARRED

"Provocative . . . likely to interest both believers and nonbelievers with some familiarity with the Old Testament." —Booklist

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.