My Grandfather's House: A Genealogy of Doubt and Faith  -     By: Robert Clark
Buy Item InStock19.80$19.80 Retail: $22.00 Save 10% ($2.20) Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist

My Grandfather's House: A Genealogy of Doubt and Faith

Picador USA / 2000 / Paperback

$19.80 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $22.00
|
Save 10% ($2.20)
In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW243142

Cyber Week Sale
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA.
* This product is not available for expedited shipping.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 304
Vendor: Picador USA
Publication Date: 2000
Dimensions: 8.28 X 5.53 X 0.84 (inches)
ISBN: 0312243146
ISBN-13: 9780312243142

Publisher's Description

Finalist, Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Biography

In the tradition of Augustine's Confessions, Robert Clark tells the story of his return to the Catholic Church through the prism of the religious history of his ancestors. Intertwining their experiences as Catholics in late-medieval England, as Puritan settlers in 17th Century New England, and as 19th Century New England transcendentalists with his childhood in an Episcopalian boarding school and later conversion to Roman Catholicism, Clark presents not only a memoir but a testament of faith.

Author Bio

Robert Clark is the author of the novels In the Deep Midwinter and Mr. White's Confession, as well as River of the West, a cultural history of the Columbia River, and The Solace of Food, a biography of James Beard. He is also the recipient of the Edgar Award for Best Mystery. A native of St. Paul, Minneapolis, he lives in Seattle with his wife and two children.

Editorial Reviews

For those not sure what to make of the God question, Clark has given us a rock-solid place . . . to start. Though we might find a different resolution from his, his search parallels our own: how to gain peace, where to find faith, and what to pass on to our children, who will face the same age-old questions in the new millennium.
In this rare work of personal narrative that truly achieves historical significance, Robert Clark's family becomes our own. A fascinating work of history as well as a moving, and often hilarious, account of his own religious struggles, My Grandfather's House immediately presents itself as one of the rare American autobiographies that will endure.
This is an odd platypus of a book, a dreamlike hybrid stitched together from half a dozen literary species including autobiography, intellectual and social history, literary criticism and Sunday school sermon. Like a platypus, it is gawky and beautiful, cuddly and off-putting and curiously compelling.
Elegantly written and historically informative, My Grandfather's House is a fascinating, passionate, and inspiring spiritual autobiography.
An imaginative spiritual autobiography . . . The book is a true 'genealogy' in the sense that Clark traces many diverse religious manifestations through five centuries of his own family history.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search