Friday the Rabbi Slept Late - eBook
Friday the Rabbi Slept Late - eBook  -     By: Harry Kemelman
Buy Item $6.05 Retail: $7.99 Save 24% ($1.94)
In Stock
Stock No: WW77698EB
Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller / 2015 / ePub
Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

Friday the Rabbi Slept Late - eBook

Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller / 2015 / ePub

In Stock
Stock No: WW77698EB


Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

* This product is available for purchase only in certain countries.
  • In This Series (9)
In This Series (9)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $6.05
    Retail: $7.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $6.05
  2. In Stock
    $6.05
    Retail: $7.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $6.05
  3. In Stock
    $6.05
    Retail: $7.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $6.05
  4. In Stock
    $6.05
    Retail: $7.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $6.05
  5. In Stock
    $8.69
    Retail: $10.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $8.69
  6. In Stock
    $6.05
    Retail: $7.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $6.05
  7. In Stock
    $6.05
    Retail: $7.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $6.05
  8. In Stock
    $8.89
    Retail: $11.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $8.89
  9. In Stock
    $6.05
    Retail: $7.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $6.05

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller
Publication Date: 2015
ISBN: 9781504016049
ISBN-13: 9781504016049
Series: Rabbi Small Mysteries

Publisher's Description

First in the New York Times–bestselling series and winner of the Edgar Award: A new rabbi in a small New England town investigates the murder of a nanny.

David Small is the new rabbi in the small Massachusetts town of Barnard’s Crossing. Although he’d rather spend his days engaged in Torah study and theological debate, the daily chores of synagogue life are all-consuming—that is, until the day a nanny’s body is found on the rain-soaked asphalt of the temple’s parking lot.
 
When the young woman’s purse is discovered in Rabbi Small’s car, he will have to use his scholarly skills and Talmudic wisdom—and collaborate with the Irish-Catholic police chief—to exonerate himself and find the real killer.

Blending this unorthodox sleuth’s quick intellect with thrilling action, Friday the Rabbi Slept Late is the exciting first installment of the beloved bestselling mystery series that offers a Jewish twist on the clerical mystery, a delightful discovery for fans of Father Brown and Father Dowling or readers of Faye Kellerman’s suspense novels set in the Orthodox community.
 

Author Bio

Harry Kemelman (1908–1996) was best known for his popular rabbinical mystery series featuring the amateur sleuth Rabbi David Small. Kemelman wrote twelve novels in the series, the first of which, Friday the Rabbi Slept Late, won the Edgar Award for Best First Novel. This book was also adapted as an NBC made-for-TV movie, and the Rabbi Small Mysteries were the inspiration for the NBC television show Lanigan’s Rabbi. Kemelman’s novels garnered praise for their unique combination of mystery and Judaism, and with Rabbi Small, the author created a protagonist who played a part-time detective with wit and charm. Kemelman also wrote a series of short stories about Nicky Welt, a college professor who used logic to solve crimes, which were published in a collection entitled The Nine Mile Walk.

Aside from being an award-winning novelist, Kemelman, originally from Boston, was also an English professor.

Editorial Reviews

"A master of detectival disputation . . . The most important debut of a detective in recent years." —The New York Times
 
"A first-rate mystery." —The New Yorker
 
"America’s finest living creator of the good old detective story!" —Chicago Tribune
 
"An excellent storyteller . . . Here is detective work at its best." —The Detroit News
 
"Ingenious . . . Highly recommended." —The New York Times on Thursday the Rabbi Walked Out
 
"Vintage Kemelman—clean prose, quiet wit, absorbing characters, and revealing conversations, with David’s discourses on Judaism as fascinating as ever." —Publishers Weekly on That Day the Rabbi Left Town

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Back
×
Back
×

Ask a Question

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.