Canary in the Coal Mine: A Forgotten Rural Community, a Hidden Epidemic, and a Lone Doctor Battling for the Life, Health, and Soul of the People
Stock No: WW6446480
Canary in the Coal Mine: A Forgotten Rural Community, a Hidden Epidemic, and a Lone Doctor Battling for the Life, Health, and Soul of the People  -     By: William M.D. Cooke, Laura Ungar
Buy Item Our Price$18.49 Retail: $25.99 Save 29% ($7.50)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW6446480
Tyndale Momentum / 2021 / Hardcover
Quantity:

Add To Cart
Paypal Buy Now
Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart

Paypal Buy Now
Wishlist

Canary in the Coal Mine: A Forgotten Rural Community, a Hidden Epidemic, and a Lone Doctor Battling for the Life, Health, and Soul of the People

Tyndale Momentum / 2021 / Hardcover

In Stock
Stock No: WW6446480


Product Description

As an idealistic young family physician, Cooke had no idea what he'd face in the small rural community of Austin, Indiana. He soon found himself at the crossroads of two unprecedented disasters: a national opioid epidemic and the worst HIV outbreak ever to hit small-town America. You'll be inspired by his courageous fight for his adopted community! 272 pages, hardcover from Tyndale.

Product Information

Title: Canary in the Coal Mine: A Forgotten Rural Community, a Hidden Epidemic, and a Lone Doctor Battling for the Life, Health, and Soul of the People
By: William M.D. Cooke, Laura Ungar
Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 272
Vendor: Tyndale Momentum
Publication Date: 2021
Weight: 1 pound 1 ounce
ISBN: 1496446488
ISBN-13: 9781496446480
Stock No: WW6446480

Publisher's Description

One doctor’s courageous fight to save a small town from a silent epidemic that threatened the community’s future—and exposed a national health crisis.
When Dr. Will Cooke, an idealistic young physician just out of medical training, set up practice in the small rural community of Austin, Indiana, he had no idea that much of the town was being torn apart by poverty, addiction, and life-threatening illnesses. But he soon found himself at the crossroads of two unprecedented health-care disasters: a national opioid epidemic and the worst drug-fueled HIV outbreak ever seen in rural America.

Confronted with Austin’s hidden secrets, Dr. Cooke decided he had to do something about them. In taking up the fight for Austin’s people, however, he would have to battle some unanticipated foes: prejudice, political resistance, an entrenched bureaucracy—and the dark despair that threatened to overwhelm his own soul. : Canary in the Coal Mine is a gripping account of the transformation of a man and his adopted community, a compelling and ultimately hopeful read in the vein of Hillbilly Elegy, Dreamland, and Educated.

Ask a Question

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review