Five Cries of Grief: One Family's Journey to Healing   -     By: Merton P. Strommen, Irene Strommen
Buy Item InStock14.24$14.24 Add To Cart

Add To Wishlist

Five Cries of Grief: One Family's Journey to Healing

Fortress Press / 1996 / Paperback

$14.24 (CBD Price)
In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW29878

New Cyber Deals
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA.
* This product is not available for expedited shipping.

Product Description

On August 12, 1986 twenty five year old David Strommen was struck and killed by a bolt of lightning. The tradedy sent his parent reeling with grief. Out of that grief came a journey toward healing; a journey that is chronicled in this extraordinry book. The Strommens encountered five cries of grief: The cry of pain from the awareness of their devastating loss; the cry of longing, from missing their son; the cry for supportive love, from the extreme sense of vulnerability they experienced; the cry for understanding, as they tried to attribute meaning to a meaningless loss; and the cry for significance, as they strove to see some good result from this tragedy. As they wrote accounts of their journey, they recognized that the grief of a father may differ significantly from that of a mother. Their stories, voiced in alternating chapters launch a journey that can provide strength, insight, and renewal for all who experience the heartbreak of a loved one's death.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 128
Vendor: Fortress Press
Publication Date: 1996
Dimensions: 8.50 X 5.50 (inches)
ISBN: 0806629878
ISBN-13: 9780806629872

Related Products

  1. From Grief to Glory: A Personal Journey from Darkness Into Light
    From Grief to Glory: A Personal Journey from Darkness Into Light
    Francine Loiacono-Bouwense
    Xulon Press / 2001 / Trade Paperback
    $13.49 Retail: $14.99 Save 10% ($1.50)

Publisher's Description

Beginning with a dramatic story of the death of a young adult son, this book presents a new apradigm for the grief process. An alternative to Kubler-Ross, this text is structured around five cries of grief--the cry of pain, the cry of longing, the cry for supportive love, the cry for understanding, and the cry for significance.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook


Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search