Extra Yarn
Illustrated By: Jon Klassen
Stock No: WW953385
Extra Yarn   -     By: Mac Barnett
    Illustrated By: Jon Klassen

Extra Yarn

Illustrated By: Jon Klassen
Balzer + Bray / 2012 / Hardcover

In Stock
Stock No: WW953385

Buy Item Our Price$16.19 Retail: $17.99 Save 10% ($1.80)
In Stock
Quantity:
Stock No: WW953385
Balzer + Bray / 2012 / Hardcover
Quantity:

Add To Cart

or checkout with

Add To Wishlist
Quantity:


Add To Cart

or checkout with

Wishlist

Product Close-up
This product is not available for expedited shipping.
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA.

Product Description

When a little girl discovers a box filled with yarn, she knits a sweater for herself and her dog . . . but as the yarn doesn't seem to run out, she ends up making sweaters for all her friends, family, pets, animals---pretty much everything in town! When a rich archduke steals her special box, what will he discover inside?

Product Information

Title: Extra Yarn
By: Mac Barnett
Illustrated By: Jon Klassen
Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 36
Vendor: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: 2012
Dimensions: 9 X 10 (inches)
Weight: 15 ounces
ISBN: 0061953385
ISBN-13: 9780061953385
Ages: 4-8
Stock No: WW953385

Publisher's Description

From bestselling and award-winning author Mac Barnett and illustrator Jon Klassen comes Extra Yarn, a Caldecott Honor Book, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner, and a New York Times bestseller.

A young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community in this stunning picture book. With spare, gently humorous illustrations and a palette that moves from black-and-white to a range of color, this modern fairy tale has the feel of a new classic.

Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Peter Brown will love this book.

Author Bio

Mac Barnett is a New York Times bestselling author whose books have been translated into more than thirty languages. His picture books include two Caldecott Honor–winning collaborations with Jon Klassen: Sam & Dave Dig a Hole and Extra Yarn. Among his other popular books are I Love You Like a Pig, illustrated by Greg Pizzoli, and The Magic Word, illustrated by Elise Parsley. He lives in Oakland, California. You can visit him online at macbarnett.com.

Jon Klassen grew up in Niagara Falls, Canada, and now lives in Los Angeles, California. He is the New York Times bestselling author and illustrator of several books, including I Want My Hat Back and This Is Not My Hat, for which he won the Caldecott Medal. Two of his picture books have been named Caldecott Honor books: Sam and Dave Dig a Hole and Extra Yarn (winner of the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award), both by Mac Barnett. You can visit him online at www.burstofbeaden.com.

Editorial Reviews

“There’s nothing to say but—perfect.” — Lane Smith, New York Times bestselling author of It's a Book

“Understated illustrations and prose seamlessly construct an enchanting and mysterious tale.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Klassen’s deadpan, stylized illustrations impeccably complement Barnett’s quirky droll writing.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

“Klassen’s pacing, especially the mostly wordless sequence when the box floats back to Annabelle on a triangle of an iceberg, is impeccable. The final spread, all light and yarn-covered tree limbs, brings Barnett’s clever, quiet yarn full circle, to a little girl and a town, now colorful and happy.” — Horn Book (starred review)

“Reading like a droll fairy tale, this Barnett-Klassen collaboration is both seamless and magical. The spare, elegant text and art are also infused with plenty of deadpan humor. Quirky and wonderful, this story quietly celebrates a child’s ingenuity and her ability to change the world around her.” — Booklist (starred review)

Ask a Question

Author/Artist Review